We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luc's is great.”
Review of luc's cafe

luc's cafe
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
519 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Luc's is great.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Luc's is a fine French bistro that has all the classics. Onion soup, fois gras, mussels, fish, steak everything is excellent. There is a good wine selection too with fair prices. Service is professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    82
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
beam1
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic bistro , Parisian style”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Probably our 5th and best visit.
We had lunch and have decided that the evening chaos in this restaurant, just isn't for us. We prefer dining in restaurants that accept reservations. The crowds at this popular place make waiting for a table uncomfortable.
Lunch, which we had at 2pm, was a whole other scene...
We began with a lovely rough pâté serve with terrific bread, butter and spicy Dijon mustard,a small salad and some cornichon. Delish!!
Followed by a large portion of plump and tasty mussels...a specialty of the house. All enjoyed with a nice bottle of red wine.
2 double espresso, a creme brûlée and we were happy.
Dine here, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Ridgefield!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Can't go wrong with any dish. Our favorite is the mussels and fois gras.
Wonderful daily specials. great staff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A couple of 'buts'....”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Though we've lived in northern Westchester - a stone's throw from Ridgefield - for many, many years, for some reason Luc's never showed up on our dining radar until this weekend. Recommended by a colleague at work, we decided to try it with some friends who also live in the area and had never been there.
Incidentally, no one has mentioned this, so I will: if you are not a native, this is not an easy place to find. You drive down what is really an alley, which opens into a municipal parking lot, surrounded by various businesses and several restaurants. Luc's is sort of off to the side - NOT on Big Shop Lane - and not easily noticed on the first (or second) search. You need really specific directions (even the GPS failed in that regard).
Yes, the menu is truly "bistro" in style. Yes, the place is hugely popular, perhaps deservedly so. They serve the classic "moules" - both avec and sans frites (incidentally, the biggest, plumpest and juiciest mussels I've ever had anywhere). The fries were thin, hot, crispy and addictive. The assorted pate and smoked meat appetizer that 2 of us ordered was authentically French, and tasty. The endive salad was expensive, but it was HUGE, fresh, and marvelous, with just the right amount of Roquefort dressing. The profiteroles were crisp, the ice cream filling cold and creamy, and the chocolate sauce excellent.
However, two bistro "standards" were sub-par: the duck confit was very salty and the hangar steak, while huge, was rather tough and not that flavorful.
Also, the tables are simply jammed together, so that when cutting your meat you are likely to hit the back of the guy at the next table.
And, the chairs are the tiny, hard, bentwood "ice cream parlor" type that leave your derriere numb by the time you get up from a 2-hour meal (maybe done deliberately, so you aren't prone to linger, and they can serve more people?).
And, the ceilings are so low that the sound literally bounces back on your ears. Even though the four of us were sitting so close together (see chairs, above), we had to lean across our plates and practically scream at each other to be heard above the hysterical laughter from the table on our left and the political argument from the table on our right; and we had made an early (6:30) reservation.
If I could figure out a non-crowded time (doubtful), I might go again, but I'd stick with the mussels.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussbudget07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Luc's is simply the best in Ridgefield when it comes to French food. Ambience is typical country french, service is top notch and the food is consistently perfect. Probably the mussels are the most popular, as they should be. The steak and frites remind me of the time I lived in France. Great place to bring first time guests. They will not be disappointed. Herve, Ludo and the entire staff are there to make your experience the best ever!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennis204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed luc's cafe also viewed

 

Been to luc's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing