We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernard's for brunch - GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bernard's

Bernard's
Reserve with OpenTable
Bernard's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 35
Transit: CT Branchville/NY Katonah
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bernard's for brunch - GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was looking for a place in the area to have bruch with my cousin. I did read several good reviews and thought it would be worth trying Bernard's out. The restuarant is set in a house and beautifully (and tastefully) decorated - which absolutely lends itself to that homey, relaxed, upscale-ish feel. My cousin had the Scallop Rosace Vegetable Slaw, Cherry Tomatoes, Avocado, & Carrots, Ginger Dressing to start. The scallop was perfectly cooked and the warmth of the scallop mixed with the coolness of the other ingredients was delicious. I had the Bernard’s Duck Egg Casserole, Potatoes, Mushrooms, Onions & Haricots Verts & Crispy Duck Leg Confit as my entree. How decadent is dipping chunks of the confit into the yolk of the duck egg...seriously? I would highly recommend this restaurant for brunch - and looking forward to going back for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“By far, the best and most elegant restaurant in Ridgefield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here and many other restaurants in Ridgefield, and neighboring communities and this has always been the best restaurant in a wide area. I was surprised not to see it listed as number one. It clearly is the best of them all!! We often go here for romantic dinners. The ambiance is tops with beautiful decor and a peaceful atmosphere without the loudness found in most other restaurants in the area. Food is wonderful, fresh and beautifully presented by attentive staff who watch from afar to allow you the feel of privacy. Bernard and Sarah are local to the community and you can see they bring care to their offerings. I could eat here every week. Well done!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMBAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've had several wonderful meals here. Great food and service. Menu is great and little extra service that they provide makes this a place to go to in Ridgefield CT area. Reasonably priced for the quality and service.

The only drawback we had was when the "I'm all that" types sit near you, drink a little and begin talking about what used to be and who their parents/grandparents were. Who cares? Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine Dining At Its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have enjoyed eating at Bernards for many years. The food and wine are always excellent, the staff is wonderful and the ambiance outstanding. We have experienced the Wine Bar, the main Dining Room and had the opportunity to book a private party here a few years ago. We've never been disappointed. We particularly enjoy the soups, the fresh fish and the "just picked from the garden" vegetables. We look forward to the seasonal menu changes and recommend Bernards to anyone who lives in the area and has yet to try the restaurant. Visit on the weekend and enjoy the piano accompaniment. Linger and enjoy...it's fine dining at its best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joefish925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Probably the best in town but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A place for a special occasion or during a visit from out of town guests. Townies rarely support this place except on special occasions but all know it is an exceptional place. Expensive. The bar upstairs is fun but don't expect top quality foods of the downstairs. Upscale bar food of fair quality and less expensive is the norm. Not worth the trip. Elegant dining and exceptional food downstairs has place this place on top in this picturesque New England town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donaldg753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernard's also viewed

 

Been to Bernard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing