We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant afternoon lunch spot.”

Bissell House Reastaurant and Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
boston,ma.
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon lunch spot.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The four of us were in Ridgefield to see the Keeler Tavern and the guide reccommended the Bissel House for lunch. It was a very hot day and the inside ac felt really good. I ordered the burger and fries and they must have given me a pound of fries! The burger was huge and cooked perfectly. I loved it. We ordered a local beer which was really good. The service was good, the food was good, and we left with full stomachs. I wouldn't hesitate to go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty spot. We thought it was going to rain so we opted to sit inside and were given a great table by the window in a very private alcove. Our waiter Tim was terrific. He suggested the Pinot noir which was a great choice for wine. He also offered my companion a half salad to start which was not on the menu. Our entrees were delicious. I had the pear salad with chicken and my companion had the crispy chicken. We both enjoyed them, and took half home. The only complaint was the crime brûlée was a bit gritty. We will definitely go again when up in ridgefield. Hopefully we get Tim as our waiter again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pleasant location and food. Fair prices. Misinformation provided in response to inquiry about food allergy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We frequent Bissell's often because we like the atmosphere, food and it is close to home. Unfortunately the past two times we have eaten there the service has not been up to par and in our most resent visit the food wasn't to or liking. We always thought they served the best hamburgers in town. My wife ordered hers medium rare. Our friend ordered hers rare and specified it to our waiter twice. My wife's burger arrived well done. Our friends wasn't rare at all. Also our meals arrived staggered. All at different times. The host was vey apologetic and charge for the 2 burgers.
We hope this was a onetime incident because we like Bissell 's and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t_dogRidgefield_CT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best location in town”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Interesting ambience. I have mostly gone there for lunch. Great when the weather is good and you seat utside and just see the world go by. Love, love their mussels. Like the combination of tastes. The lobster rolls are also delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaV24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bissell House Reastaurant and Bar also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing