We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that amazing”

Wiremill Saloon and Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
“Not that amazing”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We went on a Friday night at 6 pm and though comfortable with our two children we were very disappointed in the food. The best part of the meal was the friendly staff. The brisket was dry, the coke slaw had no flavor and the ribs were less than appitizing. The beer selection was slim and the children's meals nonexistent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

At best, the food is very ordinary. I have tasted the ribs, pulled pork and brisket. All were fairly bland and lacked any sort of smokey flavor. The BBQ sauce is easily surpassed in flavor most supermarket available bottled sauce. I would not return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury ct usa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Dry Rub east of Memphis”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you like your 'que dry rubbed you'll love this place as all wet sauces are a side option. Our ribs were done perfectly and were the meaty with no extra fat. The sides were excellent and plentiful and you'll have to make several trips just to sampl;e them all. Our next trip here will be for the brisket and we had their pulled pork at the Ridgefield 'que fest in May. All in all a most welcome addition to the Fairfield County resturant scene....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in CT”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant replaces Minny Vini's Deli in the Georgetown section of Redding, Connecticut. The BBQ is smoked on premises and the service is friendly and "homy". I had the BBQ half chicken for lunch and is was delicious and reasonable priced. They of course have brisket and pork, with a modest but delightful list of sides and a pretty good draft beer selection for the size of the bar. Worth the trip to where Rt107 and Rt57 meet in Georgetown. The Wire Mill BBQ has also done a great job in marketing with their imaginative exterior design.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joejanet1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for barbecue”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The pulled pork is outstanding. This small restaurant has a welcoming staff, very good food and reasonable prices. What more can one ask for.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltopman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiremill Saloon and Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Wiremill Saloon and Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing