We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of best hotels in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“One of best hotels in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Through the years we've stayed at all the hotels near or at Foxwoods, and by far this Hilton is the most comfortable and newest all the way around. We booked almost two months in advance and we able to get a nightly rate of $100. Large lobby with comfortable small open bar area next to the restaurant. Room was new, modern, clean and efficiently designed. Great bed and pillows( must for me) , large soft towels and plenty of them...no skimping like in other chains. New swivel 40" TV, swivel to suit seating. Keurig with KCups in room, micro and small refrig. Safe. Hot shower , quiet, good heating system. Pleasant staff. One oddity in the room... Just one lounge chair and a desk chair...room could have used another chair or small seating area, since we had to sit on bed to watch TV ( lousy weather out so we were in room by 5:30 pm for evening.).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    206
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
149
445
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is somewhat new and so close to Foxwoods. The lobby is warm and inviting with a nice decor. There is a fireplace and piano as well as a bar off to the right as you enter. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. They have nice amenities in the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable. It was quiet in the evening which is a plus! Buffet breakfast cooked to order was 11.95 and well worth it. The wait staff couldn't be nicer. Front check In was a pleasant experience with no long lines. All and all I would highly recommend this hotel. It's a quick five minute shuttle to Foxwoods which runs every half an hour until 2:45 am. You can't beat that!

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me and my wife had an excellent time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was nice to see that they had a refrigerator. The only drawback was the signage to access the property directly when traveling on Route 2 westbound. You have to go up Watson Rd which comes up rather quickly. It's easy to miss...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our second time visiting the HGI in Preston. It is a great alternative to the expensive casino hotels. The staff is always welcoming and professional. The GM, Chad, is always in site of everything going on, friendly and professional. He works right along side his staff, even clearing tables, checking people in, and chatting with people in the lobby bar.
Breakfast was great, the shuttle service was right on schedule, rooms were very clean, and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel was very busy this weekend and though the staff did a fairly good job of keeping up, we were disappointing about a couple things. Our profile shows that we request additional pillows (my husband and I both have conditions that require a few more than usual), the request was recognized at check-in and housekeeping was to bring them right up. Though we hung around in the room resting for close to 2 hours before heading to the casino, there were no pillows delivered. We were assured they'd be left in our room. Upon returning from the casino, about 11:45pm, there were still no pillows. We called the front desk- they apologized and said they'd be delivered right away. At 12:45 we gave up, put the do not disturb sign on the door, and rolled up towels under our pillows. We mentioned the situation at checkout and were told they would let housekeeping know.
The one other thing was the carpet on the 4th floor hall. There was a mat running across the carpet that didn't quite fit correctly (it was too wide and gapped ) and a yellow caution sign was leaning against it. It looked like they were trying to cover something up, but people were stumbling over it all evening.
We visit Foxwoods often and usually stay at Marriotts to use our points. We're going to start accumulation Hilton points now so we can stay here more often.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location are the hotel, makes for a quick 5 minute or less shuttle to Foxwoods. Shuttle runs every half hour up to 230am. Room was clean. Bathroom floor was not install correctly and there was a one inch gap between it and the tub where dirt gets in. Bathtub are less then super clean. Although I did not spend much time in the room except to sleep. Staff was great. Excessive noise from the hallway, woke me up at 3am and then again at 8am.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvisibleSecretAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The staff at check in was very extremely friendly with bright smiles. We ordered room service and our food was ready in impeccable time and delivered by a friendly staff member. Breakfast in the morning was a delight, the hotel offers made to order omelets and pancakes all included in the breakfast price. It doesn't get any better than that! If you're looking to travel to Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, or the Mystic Aquarium this Hilton has the most comfortable beds and the best staff around. The king suite is spacious and open with two televisions, a fridge, microwave, coffee/tea k-cups (which were the best flavors!) and even a sink outside of the bathroom. All of these features made the stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Service at this Hilton Gardens Inn was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean, comfortable, and relatively quiet (the heater fan was a little loud). Though not really inexpensive, our Saturday night stay at this smoke free hotel was still $100.00 less than the least expensive room available at Foxwoods Resort and the free shuttle made this a super convenient choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
4.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Address: 5 Watson Rd, Preston, CT 06365-8828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing