We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much fun!”

Dalice Elizabeth Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Preston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When family and friends get together there is a magical sense of camaraderie of family. Il Cantina Sociale di La Familglia is Our Society of Wine Producers & you are now a member of the family. Throughout your days of wine-making with us you will learn from second, third & fourth generation Italian-Americans the joys and traditions of wine making. From crushing and pressing to racking and bottling, you will be involved in each step resulting in your own barrel of Vino della Casa labeled, of course, with your name. During your time with us, in addition to working with the grapes, we invite you to experience the Italian way, as we know it. We will share with you our new family, the great meals, the lore, the tradition and the story telling that has made for such camaraderie and resulted in so many special times. You'll probably even pick up a few of our favorite phrases and gestures along the way. We invite you to stroll the gardens, play a game of bocce or horseshoes, or lend a hand in the kitchen preparing for the evening's feast!
Jewett City, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Too much fun!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a great time at last night's cooking class! Everything from the salad to dessert was delicious! The wine is always amazing, but the highlight is the camaraderie between the customers and staff! So much fun to be there! Love you guys!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    13
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pam was the highlight!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a groupon to use at Dalice Elizabeth Winery which gave us a tasting of 6 wines (normally its 5 for $10). While the ambiance was definitely not as high on the list as some of the other wineries I have been to, the staff more than made up for it. Pam was awesome! She was really helpful and very personable. I recommend the Riesling and the Merlot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissym616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A festival not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently we attended the Fall event "La Fiesta della Porchettiamo" at Dalice Elizabeth Vineyard in Preston.. What a wonderful afternoon and evening. I love their sangiovese...mmmm. We dined under a large tent, drank wine, listened to our friend Mark...who sings Frank Sinatra like nobody's business! There was cheese, pasta, proscuitto, vegetables roasted garlic, all the necessities...to prepare for the beautifully smoked pork and vegetable platter late in in the evening. And hen some yummy Italian desserts...and cookies to finish the night! We heard one of the staff sing opera...amazing talent...and then a live band later on ...did we dance and have fun? Oh yea! The staff were wonderful, and like family by the end of the evening. I can't wait til' nextyer or to see what inspires them for another gathering, we'll be there! Thank you everyone!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank toodles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Winery in CT”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This summer my wife and I visited every CT winery (all 32). Delice Elizabeth was at the top of our list of favorites, if not the best. We liked it so much we never left that first day (even though we had planned another close by visit). We stayed for hours on a gorgeous day listening to live music, enjoying the pond view, sipping wine and chatting with the staff. Speaking of staff ... I can honestly say this was the freindliest staff of all 32 places, every single person. They greet you like old friends. Huge smiles and a no rush attitude. We liked it so much we went back again last week, and had the same experience. Going again this weekend for their pig roast. Oh yeah, the wine is excellent also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best portapotty I have ever seen; great wine”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The wine and the port-a-potty are worth the trip. Staff is very friendly. The grounds are very pretty. Tastings are slightly high (but normal for this area). You have to see the port-a-potty--it's tiled with running water and flowers. Just go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalice Elizabeth Winery also viewed

 
North Stonington, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 

Been to Dalice Elizabeth Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing