We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful place, friendly and helpful hosts and great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Grant's, 1754

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Grant's, 1754
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, friendly and helpful hosts and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My girlfriend and i wanted to stay in New England B&B so we found this plac and found it really nicely decorated with all amenities you need for your stay, we played pool, sat down in the common areas eating home-made cookies, have some beers (all included) and had a really relaxing time. We didn't know that this B&B was popular for ghost communications and paranormal activity fans. I didn't see anything actually but it was interesting to see though!

The best part was the breakfast, you sit down with the rest of the guests at 9 am sharp, like a family and enjoy a very vast and delicious breakfast!

The hosts are very knowledable of the area and have preferential tickets or discounts for nearby restaurants and places such as the Mystic aquarium among other. Don't hesitate and ask them for recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
101
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I found a great deal on Groupon for a one night stay Sun - Thurs with a free ghost communications lesson and decided to use it for my birthday on Dec 27th. We drove in from Queens NY and the  place was easy to find. As soon as we arrived Ted greeted us with a big smile and showed us to our room, we stayed in the Collette room. The room was well equipped with warm bedding, lots of pillows (which I love) fresh towels, soap, shampoo, tv with cable, and a lovely crystal container with some sort of sweet liquor and two shot glasses which was really delicious and helped me fall fast asleep that night. My husband and I were a bit restless and hungry so we decided to go downstairs to have some of the most delicious complimentary lemon cake, coffee, and cookies in the dining room. We then made our way to the upstairs game room and played a round of pool. I loved that we had access to the entire house during our stay and the place really did feel like a home away from home. I can't emphasize enough how warm, and cozy the house felt and how comfortable we felt here. The next morning we shared the table with our neighbors and a few other guests for a large family style breakfast. Since we were the last to join the group, Ted was a magnificant host and reintroduced everyone to break the ice for good conversation at breakfast. The food was absolutely scruptious, waffles, new york style scrammbled eggs, ham, raspberry jam, coffee, freshly squeezed O.J., and apple cider. After breakfast Carol joined us and shared some very intersting history and a few stories about the Inn from inception to date, followed by the ghost communications lesson which was amazing and totally out of this world. Ted and Carol are two of the sweetest  most generous and phenomenal human beings we've met. They deserve the sky, the stars, and a mountain of blessings. We were so happy with everything we made sure to let them know with a lovely thank you card and left our numbers in case they ever need our services or help maintaining the place. We loved the stay and would recommend Captain Grants in a heart  beat to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, warm, homely place to get away. Needless to stay we will be back VERY SOON!!! -! Jess and Dio

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jvas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for the night on Saturday the 28th December. We arrived about 6:30pm and Ted was very friendly at check in and showed us around. Given the historical nature of the inn, I would have imagined we'd get a short write up of the house and the area - but we were only given a couple of maps.

Given that the main home is meant to be solely for the paying residents, the fact that the game room was used by the owners and their guests until at least 11:30pm right ABOVE our bedroom (Adelaide room) made our 'romantic' night less than restful. Also the room next to us clearly has a TV situated on the wall it shares with the Adelaide room so we heard that clearly until it was switched off at midnight. I have stayed in countless B&B's in multiple countries so my expectations of soundproofing are not unrealistic and I was assuming there would be some.

Sadly, for what I paid, I would have chosen somewhere on the coast instead.

I cannot fault them for cleanliness, location, breakfast, service. I just wasn't wowed. :(

Room Tip: Adelaide room is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTraveler3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptaiGrants, Owner at Captain Grant's, 1754, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
The guest was correct about not receiving a history of the Inn. We do have albums on the coffee table depicting the renovations and newspaper articles on the table as well. It is a great idea for us to produce these and distribute to those that want them. Thank you.
Our response on the location of the Adelaide room is as follows. The Adelaide room has no common walls with any other room. Two bathrooms separate Adelaide and Collette and a hallway separates Adelaide from Elizabeth. Above their room is an empty attic. We have a 20' x 26' extension on the back of the home. On the first floor is our kitchen. On the second floor is the billiard room that the guests talked about. The wall separating the extension and the main home is over 8" thick.
Captain Grant's was built in 1754 and is on the Nation Register of Historic Places. It is a true early American colonial. The most elegant B&Bs are the Places of Europe and Grand Victorians. With the advent of the computer, matching your expectations to a place to stay is easier than ever. All said. We are an alternative WOW.
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If your looking for something different and really cool this is your place. Can't say enough about Carol and Ted. They made us feel at home. Creaky old house with old fashioned beds and completely restored by Ted and Carol. The food was delicious and the ambiance was exceptional. Close to the casinos and Mystic attractios a great location. The whole ghost experience was very interesting. I surprised my wife with 2 nights here and she was delighted.

Room Tip: All he rooms are decorated like a hundred years ago and each has a gas fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dthomas420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice owners who were hospitable and friendly enough but the house was a bit too "rustic" for me. The linens were not clean and neither were the bathrooms or floors. I stayed here for a bachelorette party so it wasn't much concern to me but had I gone with my significant other, I would have been pretty appalled at the rooms. I also have to be critical of the breakfast. It IS a b&b after all. The breakfast was unremarkable, with the pancakes being some of the blandest I've ever had.

It wasn't all bad though, there's a great room with a pool table and fireplace for relaxing and the kitchen is large and gorgeous. Also, the bedrooms are large and have a lot of character. I would be remiss not to mention that they shoveled off the cars after a pretty healthy snow storm. That was classy. All in all I think a few adjustments would easily make this place worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary Nov, 2013 and stayed in the Elizabeth room at Captain Grants. The owners Carol and Ted were wonderful, the breakfast every morning was delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is in a great location if you are visiting the Casino's. We would definately go back and stay with them again we took home some of Carol's homemade jams and they were delicious. We would recommend Captain Grants if you are planning a trip to that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acarapezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are visiting this area of CT, casinos, wineries, mystic.....you will be very pleased at this great B&B...rooms are nicely decorated, with complimentary cherry, not to mention the beer and wine in the 1st floor refrigerator. The service ..one word ...fantastic...they could not do enough for us. The breakfast...WOW..eggs, pancakes, hash, etc. we will be back for certain.
Oh yeah...Although it is Haunted, we did not see anything

Room Tip: We will be going back...for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eataroundwoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.0 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cristata Inn
Cristata Inn
#4 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Property: Captain Grant's, 1754
Address: 109 Route 2a # 111, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365-8539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing