We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
146
39
11
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
39
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadelaide roomother gueststhe main housecream cheesenext morningwonderful hostsmystic seaportlots of historyown bathroommohegan sungame room with poolchampagne toastb bsfirst floorbreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitcarol
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 209 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for the night on Saturday the 28th December. We arrived about 6:30pm and Ted was very friendly at check in and showed us around. Given the historical nature of the inn, I would have imagined we'd get a short write up of the house and the area - but we were only given a couple of maps.

Given that the main home is meant to be solely for the paying residents, the fact that the game room was used by the owners and their guests until at least 11:30pm right ABOVE our bedroom (Adelaide room) made our 'romantic' night less than restful. Also the room next to us clearly has a TV situated on the wall it shares with the Adelaide room so we heard that clearly until it was switched off at midnight. I have stayed in countless B&B's in multiple countries so my expectations of soundproofing are not unrealistic and I was assuming there would be some.

Sadly, for what I paid, I would have chosen somewhere on the coast instead.

I cannot fault them for cleanliness, location, breakfast, service. I just wasn't wowed. :(

Room Tip: Adelaide room is noisy
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalTraveler3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptaiGrants, Owner at Captain Grant's, 1754, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

The guest was correct about not receiving a history of the Inn. We do have albums on the coffee table depicting the renovations and newspaper articles on the table as well. It is a great idea for us to produce these and distribute to those that want them. Thank you.
Our response on the location of the Adelaide room is as follows. The Adelaide room has no common walls with any other room. Two bathrooms separate Adelaide and Collette and a hallway separates Adelaide from Elizabeth. Above their room is an empty attic. We have a 20' x 26' extension on the back of the home. On the first floor is our kitchen. On the second floor is the billiard room that the guests talked about. The wall separating the extension and the main home is over 8" thick.
Captain Grant's was built in 1754 and is on the Nation Register of Historic Places. It is a true early American colonial. The most elegant B&Bs are the Places of Europe and Grand Victorians. With the advent of the computer, matching your expectations to a place to stay is easier than ever. All said. We are an alternative WOW.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If your looking for something different and really cool this is your place. Can't say enough about Carol and Ted. They made us feel at home. Creaky old house with old fashioned beds and completely restored by Ted and Carol. The food was delicious and the ambiance was exceptional. Close to the casinos and Mystic attractios a great location. The whole ghost experience was very interesting. I surprised my wife with 2 nights here and she was delighted.

Room Tip: All he rooms are decorated like a hundred years ago and each has a gas fireplace
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dthomas420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice owners who were hospitable and friendly enough but the house was a bit too "rustic" for me. The linens were not clean and neither were the bathrooms or floors. I stayed here for a bachelorette party so it wasn't much concern to me but had I gone with my significant other, I would have been pretty appalled at the rooms. I also have to be critical of the breakfast. It IS a b&b after all. The breakfast was unremarkable, with the pancakes being some of the blandest I've ever had.

It wasn't all bad though, there's a great room with a pool table and fireplace for relaxing and the kitchen is large and gorgeous. Also, the bedrooms are large and have a lot of character. I would be remiss not to mention that they shoveled off the cars after a pretty healthy snow storm. That was classy. All in all I think a few adjustments would easily make this place worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary Nov, 2013 and stayed in the Elizabeth room at Captain Grants. The owners Carol and Ted were wonderful, the breakfast every morning was delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is in a great location if you are visiting the Casino's. We would definately go back and stay with them again we took home some of Carol's homemade jams and they were delicious. We would recommend Captain Grants if you are planning a trip to that area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acarapezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are visiting this area of CT, casinos, wineries, mystic.....you will be very pleased at this great B&B...rooms are nicely decorated, with complimentary cherry, not to mention the beer and wine in the 1st floor refrigerator. The service ..one word ...fantastic...they could not do enough for us. The breakfast...WOW..eggs, pancakes, hash, etc. we will be back for certain.
Oh yeah...Although it is Haunted, we did not see anything

Room Tip: We will be going back...for sure
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eataroundwoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews