We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent part of our New England tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Grant's, 1754
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hosts, convivial atmosphere, wonderful breakfast, full of character. My only criticism of the Inn would be slightly musty smelling towels. However this is a very old property and its character, wonderful social breakfasts and location massively outweigh the criticism.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hello this is Cheryl Andros, I wanted to thank Ted and Carol for a trip I'll never forget. Ted and Carol are two of the nicest people I've ever met! To me they became like Family and we are going back . By no means is the Inn dirty and I am a clean fanatic! It's beautiful inside and out.

I can't wait to go back. God Bless you both Carol and Ted! and see you soon.Cheryl and Dave Andros. I know David wrote another review just as good but, I wanted to write one of my own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank androscheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent the weekend at Captains Grants and can’t wait to go back. The innkeepers, Ted and Carol made us feel right at home. Ted greeted us at our car when we arrived and got us settled. We met Carol a bit later and she was incredibly gracious. They recommended a wonderful place for us to have dinner and arranged for us to get a free dessert.

For the next three days we had fantastic breakfasts. Carol and Bob are intelligent people who kept interesting conversation going and made sure no one was left out. We ended up sitting around for several hours just talking every morning. Our room had a guide they made up with a wealth of information: places of interest, recommend restaurants, even the cheapest places to get gas. I grew up in Connecticut and had no idea there was so much to see in the area.

The 1700’s era B&B is beautifully restored. It was very clean and the rooms are lovely. Carol and Ted bent over backwards to make sure everyone was taken care of and happy. They made us feel like family, only better.

I cannot recommend Captain Grants enough. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: check out their website and the 360 tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we stayed at this B&B for 14 days as we were there for family affairs. We were very comfortable staying there, oh my gosh the bed was so comfortable. The Inn is very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic. Felt like we were visiting family. The Inn Keepers, Ted and Carol, were very nice and we had many good conversations with them. Looking forward to our return visit in December.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia LB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and did not want to leave. Carol and Tad are such beautiful and trusting people. The first night we had the entire Inn to ourselves as the owners do not stay in the Inn themselves. So we did a little Ghost Hunting and snapped a mess of pictures in the Inn and out back in the lost hidden cemetery and got tons of photos loaded with Orbs and Mists.

The breakfast's where AWESOME and the interesting thing is that Carol and Tad actually sit down to breakfast with the guests.

We highly recommend this B&B and are planning on returning. Close to the Casino's and Mystic.

Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm very sorry to say this because the inn keepers are very nice, but the fact that reviewers have told you about that the inn needs a GOOD THOROUGH cleaning and this hasn't been done upsets me. It's very dissoppointing since I'd like to return but need to know the issue is remedied. (E.G. Carpets shampooed, tubs bleached and mildew removed, and furniture moved/through washing with oil soap.) We also saw old (not new) cobwebs hanging from the ceilings as well. It makes you question if detailed cleaning as been overlooked for awhile. Maybe hiring out to a service vs doing themselves may resolve this?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturemama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptaiGrants, Owner at Captain Grant's, 1754, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I am sorry that this couple had a negative experience. After breakfast the guest told us of the mildew and the cobwebs. My husband does not like to hear about dirt problems and as soon as possible took the staff to the bedroom to check it out. He got into the tub, examined the jets, got out, turned on the jets and there was no problem. He checked for webs and found one. Nevertheless he told the staff to wash down the entire room. This was done. It took an hour and a half.to clean the room. The guest still saw dirt everywhere. At 9:15 we got a call that our staff had taken their charger and that they didn't have enough towels. They had received 6 new towels that morning. Our staff has been with us for over 12 years and we knew they didn't take the charger. I told the guest that he could get towels out of the storage cabinet just outside their room. I knew we would get this bad review. There was something wrong here and it wasn't us.They didn't come for breakfast the next day but left a tip?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Captain Grant's based on the reviews we read here. And we can't wait to go back!!! Can't say enough about how beautiful the house was. Our room was perfect, the bed so-o-o-o comfortable. Ted and Carol...so nice, so friendly...and a delicious breakfast. You can't beat the location for the casinos, Mystic, and other points of interest. Ted and Carol know how to make you feel like family...the perfect B&B. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Marie'...on the small side, but we were still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeandricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
2.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,966 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
808 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Address: 109 Route 2a # 111, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365-8539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range: $125 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing