We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$167
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
$739
$690
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohegan Sun(Uncasville)
$1,500
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellissimo Grande Hotel(North Stonington)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
144
39
11
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
39
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadelaide roomother gueststhe main housecream cheesenext morningold housewonderful hostsmystic seaportlots of historyown bathroommohegan sungame room with poolchampagne toastb bsfirst floorbreakfast was deliciousfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 207 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We always consult Tripadvisor before making travel plans, and chose Captain Grant's based on previous reviews.

Carole and Ted are wonderful hosts; friendly and willing to suggest things to do and places to see. Clearly, they both enjoy what they do. Carole is an excellent cook, and breakfast time is an experience. The food is varied and plentiful, and guests have the opportunity to chat with each other, which is fun.

We stayed in the Adelaide room since my other half fancied the idea of ghostly visitations. We experienced nothing, (which came as a relief to me), but it was interesting listening to Carole's stories of other peoples' encounters. The room is small, with very limited hanging space for clothes, but we managed O.K. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

We do have a one minor criticism. We were unfortunate enough to have particularly noisy fellow house guests staying in the room below ours, who had the television blaring all night. With nothing but floorboards separating the rooms, we barely slept. This was in no way the hosts' fault, but it might be worth taking earplugs as insurance against anti-social guests.

We would definitely recommend staying here, and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EnglandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

The weekends are usually booked up here, but we were the only guests in the hotel on a midweek night and stayed in the supposedly haunted Adelaide room. Apparently the ghosts had the night off. As the lone guests, we had the entire wraparound balcony to ourselves -- nice, for a pipesmoker, in an otherwise tobacco-free establishment. Everything was clean as a whistle, and a decanter of sherry came with the room (something less than full, unfortunately). Ted the innkeeper recommended an Italian restaurant where we had salmon as good as salmon gets; and the breakfast the next morning prepared by Ted's wife Carol was awesome. Captain Grant's is halfway between Cape Cod and New York, which is why we picked it, and about 10 minutes north of Mystic. A casino is two minutes away for those so inclined. All in all, a very, very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoeUtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

After numerous wonderful visits with Ted and Carol at their Captain Gran'ts 1754 Inn it seemed an appropriate time to share our opinions. From the moment we enter the quaint village of Poquetanuck and head up the driveway and overlook the stonewalls and fields we just start to relax. It feels like coming home.

The warmth of our hosts and the lovely setting aside, the Inn itself is a beautifully cared for historic home. The common rooms (almost the whole first floor!) and bedrooms are all tastefully decorated with antiques and Carol seems to be constantly adding to her collection. It is a great starting point to head out antique shopping in Montville, Old Lyme, Stonington or Mystic and centrally located if you want to head to the impressive flea market in Jewett City.

How pleasant to come in at night after a show at Mohegan Sun and be able to sit in the living room and have a complimentary glass of wine (my husband heads stright for the homemade cake and cookies left for guests on the dining room table) and stroke Molly the cat while we discuss the evenings events and check our emails. In the morning we are treated with outdoor dining if weather permits and some very original and delicious breakfasts prepared by Carol. Fresh herbs right from the garden in the eggs and home made jams and jellies plus rhubarb and strawberry compote on the French toast are just a few of the treats in store for guests. Ted keeps the wonderful coffee coming and is always ready to serve mimosa's if someone is having a celebration!

Having stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts over the years (and several in the area) this is our favorite by a mile! We hope to come back many more times.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bev1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My fiance' and I stayed at Captain Grant's several days on three separate occasions. We adore the decor of the rooms and the beautiful and serene landscape of the property. The innkeepers, Ted and Carol, were gracious and very accommodating to our needs. The breakfasts were outstanding, each morning a different menu, with a variety of foods. This past visit we took in the nice weather by eating breakfast on the deck. The rooms were immaculate and everything we needed was in the room--we never had to ask for anything. Ted and Carol advised us on all the best places to dine and provided us with directions and maps of the area. Captain Grant's is very accessible to mystic seaport and the casinos. We had a very enjoyable stay and are planning to return shortly.
(Melville, NY)

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank AwayWeGoMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

My husband and I recently spent several nights at Capt. Grant's. From the minute we arrived and were greeted by Ted and Carol, until we left, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Our room was spotlessly clean and we were pleasantly surprised to find thick Turkish towels instead of the usual see-through ones you usually are given to use.

We woke each morning to wonderful smells coming from the kitchen. Since the weather was unseasonably warm, we were asked if we'd like to eat outside on the patio, and we jumped at the chance. We were served on lovely white linen tablecloths and flowered china. The food was amazing, and we bought 4 jars of Carol's home made jams to take home.

I could go on and on singing the praises of this beautiful place, and
of its wonderful, friendly owners. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy_Travelers12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews