We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Grant's, 1754
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Ted and Carol have made a beautiful place to stay. The old house is gorgeously decorated and is comfortable to the point of homey, with a beautiful billiards room and free wine, beer, sherry, and soda. The rooms are cozy. Breakfast is very, very good and there is always plenty of food. It's an actual homemade breakfast, too. Ted and Carol are incredible hosts. They will answer any question and they're just lovely to be around. We recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Marie, the cheapest room, is quite small, but if you don't mind, it's a lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    36
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
113
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Really perfect, clean, quiet, cozy location literally minutes from Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods. Convenient to two vinyards, and Mystic area. Proprietors Carol and Ted are super friendly and warm. The rooms are very nice, bed was comfortable, you have access to all of the common areas, pool table, back yard, ammenities include softdrinks, sherry in the room, and cookies. Breakfast is family style at 9 which was home cooked of course and delicious. It was really a pleasure to meet people staying at the b &b. Great stay, will return, and recommend.

Room Tip: ask about fireplace and bathroom. the gas fireplace is set by an outside thermometer. the toilet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Carol and Ted were so hospitable and welcoming. At the last minute we discovered that we were going to arrive in the middle of the night and they accommodated us which saved us from having to pay for a motel before arriving. So, we got in at 3am, checked ourselves in, got a few hours of sleep and woke up for a yummy 9am breakfast. It was delicious and the other guests were very interesting to talk to. Carol and Ted were very friendly and informative. After breakfast, we participated in a ghost communication lesson with Carol which was really cool and creepy. Then we took a quick nap, got up and decided to check out the area. We went into nearby Mystic and saw the sites, ate at the highly recommended Capt Daniel Packer Restaurant and Pub and then we checked out the nearby casino, Mohegan Sun. That night, we had fun playing cards in the B&B's great game room. We were sad to leave so quickly the next day, but Ted and Carol made sure we had a scrumptious breakfast before we left. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and wished we could've stayed longer. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writtenbyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I travel every year with 3 other women. We travel all over the country and we rely heavily on TripAdvisor and the reviews other travellers post. That is why I feel it is important to let others know the details of what happened to us when we booked our accommodations at Captain Grant's. Captain Grant's was one stop on our 10 day trip through the New England States. We placed our reservation 8 months in advance to make sure we got the places in the towns we wanted to stay along the way. My friend called to confirm each of our Bed & Breakfast's 3 weeks prior to leaving. On the phone call that she made to Captain Grant's, she was told that we couldn't stay there, that a family needed to book the entire place. Said she had been meaning to call us...not sure how long she was planning to wait. We were in shock. I specifically called them back the next day because I just couldn't believe they would do this to us. I was told by Carol’s husband we could go on the internet and find another place and he did recommend Roseledge Herb Farm. A recommendation is not the same as finding someone other accommodations. We did decide to go to Roseledge who required us to stay 3 nights (Holiday weekend) instead of the 2 nights we were planning to stay, so now we not only lost our original place to stay, but we have more out of pocket expense (close to $500 additional). We specifically asked Carol and her husband if they would cover the extra night we had to stay and we were told no. There was no offering of any free night stay at any time during our conversations. Carol also told us that this type of thing happens all the time in the B&B industry. Why would people ever take the chance then if that's the case? After speaking to several B&B owners, they assured me that is not the case, and they were shocked as well that this happened to us. I guess my message is simply this.... if someone else is coming and they need your room, you will get the boot. And if you stay at the Roseledge, expect the atmosphere to be "chilly" at best. Maybe the place looks awesome on the internet, but I for one will be hesitant to book B&B's from now on. We are now researching and planning our next girls trip (Key West - YAY!). As we sit and read reviews of places, we realize how important it is to let people know about your past experiences, good or bad. Took me 4 months, but now you know.....

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmasGrammy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I don't know how anyone could give this place a bad review... But this is the second time me and my boyfriend have stayed here... We stayed here in February and then April Fool's weekend for our 1 year anniversary. This place is ABSOLUTELY wonderful!!!!!! The rooms are beautiful so is their land. Ted and Carol are so friendly and accomadating. The rooms and everthing is clean. There is a WONDERFUL pool table room which besides the pool table, it has a flat screen tv with a bluray player if you want to bring any movies to watch (I think it also said 3D as well, so just a heads up if you are coming). The pool room also has a popcorn machine which is pretty cool. The breakfasts were fanastic. They have the BEST home-made jelly ever!!! We got some last time and taking more with us this time. When we showed up on Friday, Ted offered to help us with dinner plans/reservations and being our anniversary, he suggested the Bella Fiore which ended up being very nice and romantic for us :) (Also, if you are staying here and bring a card you get a free dessert)... Last time we were here we stayed in the Amy room which was so cozy... and this time (because we didn't know the 'haunting history' of the place the first time around) we chose the Adelaide room. No ghosts this weekend though lol. Thi place i absolutely wonderful, and very VERY good prices especially for being near the casinos. The fireplaces are wonderful to relax by. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE how the rooms have crystal bottles with some honey cognac (i believe) for 'night-caps'. I also love how 'guest books' are in each room, I love reading through past guests' comments, which are usually talking of haunted experiences. It is such a wonderful idea. Ted let us put our wines and champagnes in the fridge for our special weekend. We can not wait to have another excuse to stay here again, which I hope is soon!!!! This is definately the best place to stay in the area and I recommend it to everyone I know!! Ted and Carol sat down at the breakfast table Sunday morning with everyone and everyone shared stories of ghosts and paranormal stuff... was a very interesting conversation. And I love how Ted gets everyone to introduce themselves before breakfast, really breaks the ice and gets the conversations rolling. Hopefully we will come back soon in the next couple of months, because there is alot in the area left for us to explore, and some things which are seasonal and not open/running yet that we would love to do. This wasn't the first time we have been here, and it SURE WILL NOT be the last!!!! THIS IS MY MOST FAVORITE PLACE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Ted and Carol for being wonderful hosts! We will see you again..... Rich K. and Kala N.

Room Tip: The adelaide room is a bigger room than the rest and is suppose to be the most haunted as well.... I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalaANDRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Captain Grant's for 2 nights in mid March. We enjoyed it very much. The inn is beautiful and comfortable with spacious grounds. Our room was the Adelaide Room and it was perfect....very comfortable bed and efficient gas fireplace. Just off of our room was a large and lovely porch, just ready for relaxing!
The inkeepers, Ted and Carol, were extremely nice and we had fun chatting with them over a delicious breakfast. On our last morning we had to leave earlier that the usual breakfast time. Ted and Carol served us a fantastic breakfast anyway, even though it meant they had to do it all again later for other guests. They are sweet and very accommodating.
We recommend this place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Mohegan Sun Casino is a left out of the driveway of Captain Grant's and is 4 miles (8 minutes) down the road. Foxwoods Resort Casino is a right out of the driveway and 4.89 miles (8.5 minutes) away. If you are coming for the casino's on the weekend this is the best bang for your buck. The casino hotels are expensive ($250 and up on the weekends) as well as loud and commercial. For less then 1/2 the price you can stay in a colonial hamlet of New England and enjoy stonewalls, ponds and gardens, gas fireplaces and tales of a sea captain's house in the keeping room of an Inn built from the wood of ships in 1754.
Ted and Carol graciously accommodated our late Friday night check in and we received a free room upgrade. Ted is a story teller and happily answered all of our questions pertaining to the Inn and the area. Carol served a wonderful family style breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage, and homemade potatoes and toast. Freeze dried coffee is not my favorite but the tea and O.J. were nice alternatives. I found the proprietors both pleasant and helpful and not at all intrusive.
If coming with friend's you will surely appreciate the game room with pool table, large flat screen T.V. and popcorn cart. You will also love the three story deck with seating areas, it would be wonderful for hanging out with a group. The interior of the Inn has a large front keeping room separated from the dining area by gorgeous fireplace. A guest fridge is always stocked with beer, wine and soda and the dining table always has a selection of desserts on it. Everyone will love the character of the individual rooms as well as the cleanliness and many amenities. Wi-Fi, Cable T.V., complimentary Sherry in every room, robes, fireplaces and wide-board hardwood floors are just some of the reasons this beats a cookie cutter, chain hotel experience.
The large front yard and six acres of backyard lends to a serene and country living feel. Though you will be in between two bustling casinos you will find yourself surrounded by pure New England countryside. If ghost hunting is a pass time for you and you've had no luck at the house make sure to take a trip over the stone fence in the backyard. There is a small graveyard with stones that date back to the 1700's. Worth it even if you're a none believer.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house. If coming with a large group consider renting one of Ted and Carols two vaca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallenidol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
2.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,603 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,404 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
770 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Property: Captain Grant's, 1754
Address: 109 Route 2a # 111, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365-8539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing