We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Grant's, 1754
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Honeymoon!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed for two great days at the end of January. It is a beautiful old inn in a great part of the state. The staff was outstanding. Breakfasts were phenomenal! There are many things to do nearby, but we just lounged around the quaint inn. A true hidden gem. The area is ripe with history.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plastiqman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    36
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
113
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This historic Bed and breakfast is absolutely gorgeous. The owners are wonderful, down to earth people. Our room was very pretty and romantic. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nallar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Captain Grant's for Christmas. It was a wonderful experience. We were greeted by Ted, the owner. He helped carry our bags and showed us our room, which is in the smaller of the 2 buildings on the property. In that building are 2 rooms with wood burning fireplaces (which is what we wanted). There was sherry in a crystal decanter waiting when we arrived in our elegantly appointed, antique filled room. And, even though it was filled with period-appropriate items, it is also fully modernized with wifi, sattelite TV and great hot showers. All rooms have private baths.

Breakfast is huge. Christmas morning included a champagne toast. Eggs made with cream cheese, pancakes, homemade compote, sausage - YUM! Cookies available all day long and beer/wine in the fridges for guests.

There is a large family game room as well with pool, board games, cards and a plasma large-screen TV.

The owners also have lots of local recommendations and discount tickets. They also can their own preserves (which are available for sale).

We highly recommend this great, quaint inn!

Room Tip: Specify you want a WOOD burning fireplace, as most rooms have gas burning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a two day stay at Captain Grant's. We had a great time in a very old house that made the stay a unique experience. Seeing the low ceilings and low doorknobs showed us how much people have grown in the 250 years since the house was built. Ted and Carol really made the stay special. They are very nice people anxious to make you feel welcome. The breakfasts were great including Carol's delicious homemade compote and jam. The conversation was great and we soon felt as if we had known Ted and Carol for years. They shared the history of the buildings which was very interesting. We also visited the very old cemetary in back in the dark, under a nearly full moon which will be a long lasting memory :) Thank you to Ted and Carol for the great time we had in your home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjk72753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The house is absolutely gorgeous! We were the only one staying in the house the night we ere there so we poked around in all of the rooms. They were all fabulous! The house has incredible history. You can actually touch the beams that have been part of the house since 1754. Despite its age, the house is beautifully restored and maintained. Everything was clean and the bed was very somfortable.

Ted and Carol are wonderful hosts. Ted made an excellent dinner recommendation and gave us cards that got us a free glass of wine or dessert per person. There was cake, cookies, beer, wine and soda in the common area. There was sherry in the room. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

The location was good. It took is about 20 minutes from Mystic Seaport and the casinos are even closer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmom627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The property, hosts and overall experience did not disappoint at any level. Ted and Carol run a first-class establishment and are to be commended for the level of service provided. It is an ancient structure by U.S. standards and is what it is. If one appreciates the history and character of such, then the visit will be most pleasant. We would recommend this B&B to others wanting to stay in a piece of history and enjoy good food, service and accommodations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Adelaide" room. Very good, a bit small with low ceilings but it is a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here several times, and it's always been fantastic. We always stay in the Elizabeth room. We also go in the offseason to take advantage of the fireplace. As some other reviewers noted, you may find a little dust here and there, but hey, the building is really freakin old! If you want new, modern, and sleek, don't stay here. We love the charm, Ted & Carol are great hosts. Breakfast is always amazing, and the location can't be beat (in between Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun). Last time we stayed, the owners were in the process of adding on, creating a room for guests to use with a pool table. There's also always plenty of free drink (beer, wine, and soda), and food to eat. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
2.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,606 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,404 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
770 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Property: Captain Grant's, 1754
Address: 109 Route 2a # 111, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365-8539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing