We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Grant's, 1754
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manorville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This bed and breakfast is very unique in that it is very old, and has a lot of character. The breakfast was delicious and we felt very welcome. We stayed in the Marie room and it was not as clean as I would have liked. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, a spider hanging in the corner. The water pressure is poor for the shower and the towels had a mildew smell. There was a watermelon seed on the table and on the floor, and we did not eat watermelon. The scatter rugs seemed dusty and could use a good cleaning. The ceiling is not as high as they describe on their website, in fact it is very low, the room is tiny and hard to move around if you are a bigger person. The place is not well secured, they don't lock the entrance doors at night that made me feel a little vulnerable. The Innkeepers are very nice, and very helpful. It is between Foxwoods and Mohigan sun which is convenient. Have heard the place is haunted, never saw any proof of that, but had an uneasy feeling while staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptaiGrants, Owner at Captain Grant's, 1754, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We feel badly that our guests had less-than-excellent experience with us. It may have been possible to alleviate some of their concerns had they chosen to share them while they were still with us. However, we do want to thank you for raising the housekeeping issues. We will redouble our efforts to make sure the rooms are pristine. Regarding the shower water pressure, it is possible the adjustment on the head was not set at maximum flow. Our current water pressure is 24 gallons a minute when a tap is fully opened.

While the Marie room is our smallest room, we recall offering an option that was not exercised by the guest. We offered a larger room for $10. more. He refused. We are truly puzzled by the suggestions that theceilings were described as being high on our web site.

We are blessed to be in a truly safe neighborhood where you can leave everything open at night and not worry about being robbed. The entry doors do remain unlocked and in 16 years of being in business we have never had a problem with unwanted intruders. For security each guest room has a lock on the door for which the guest has an exclusive key. We also have security in place that our guests are not aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    35
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
111
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

First of all, this is a unique property of ancient vintage. Most of the wooden flooring is original. This is a comfortable B&B with no pretensions of grandeur. Our breakfast, prepared by the cook, was scrumptious and served on fine china. The beds were very comfortable, although the upstairs was warm. There doesn't appear to be any air conditioning, but in May this was not a problem. My sister and I loved that the owners, who live on the adjacent property, joined us for breakfast. We talked and relaxed well beyond checkout time, it being Sunday with no incoming guests expected early in the day. There is lots of history in this area and our hosts, Ted and Carol, were very entertaining. The Adelaide room is purported to be haunted, but the guests there reported no ghost sightings. My sister's room was across the hall and she heard footsteps around 5 a.m. above her room, the Elizabeth Room. Traffic noise affected neither of us from the Captain Grant location. The building close to the street, would have been pretty noisy at times because it's on a main street (one lane in each direction, but a main street nonetheless. Other than the Casinos and Mystic Village (don't miss it), there isn't a lot to do in the immediate area. The Surf and Turf has loud music, and the acoustics make all conversation even louder, but the appetizers are so generously sized, I'd recommend against ordering entrees, unless you're really hungry. On rainy days, they offer a 15% discount since the wharf location affords the best dining atmosphere on dry days.

Room Tip: The Adelaide was probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I took this trip as a little escape from Manhattan and it was wonderful. We were greeted by Ted and Carol, the lovely owners and Molly, their sweet cat (outdoor cat). We enjoyed a beer on the deck before spending the day in Mystic, which was great. We stayed in the holly room. The bed was incredibly comfortable and all of the lamps had very dim options for maximum relaxation. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The breakfast was unbelievable. We entered to find a candle lit table set with beautiful china and silver. We enjoyed cream cheese eggs (amazing), sausage, pancakes and whiskey spiced pears. The pears were the best thing ever and went so well with the pancakes. Carol also cans her own jams which we bought. I cant say enough wonderful things about this quaint and cozy b&b.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed for one night and it was wonderful. We did see (or hear) any ghosts, however it was very quiet and relaxing. Only a few minutes from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Carol & Ted are very nice innkeepers. The breakfast is very good. They are adding on to the home to make a larger dining area and TV room

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike33833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I've stayed at lots of B&B's. I do research before I choose, and I chose Cap't Grant's 1754 after researching all the B&Bs in the area.
It's a beautiful setting - lots of nature but on a main road so geting places is easy. Ted and Carol are very gracious, helpful and friendly. Their recommendations on where to eat and what to see are spot on.
The breakfasts are wonderful. We were spoiled! The 2 homes are comfy and beautiful. Staying in a place steeped in so much history was enjoyable.
And regarding wi-fi: a lot of places advertise that they have it, but many have spotty coverage. The wi-fi worked great the entire time I was there.
I totally recommend this B&B and plan on returning someday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan46480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Thank you so much Ted and Carol for making our vacation wonderful! Tyson and I had the best time getting to know both of you and the other guests there. It was so much fun and everyone was always so friendly. I loved sitting out in the big comfy chairs on the porches and reading a book with my husband. Thank you for making our vacation memorable. This was the first time that my husband and I had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast and we were thoroughly pleased. We hope we can get back up to stay with y'all! Hopefully next time we will be flying and not driving - 20 hours on the road was not fun! Thank you for also sharing the history of the property as well. Just walking around on the grounds during the sunset was so peaceful and amazing. This is exactly what we needed! I can't wait to stay with y'all again.

Megan and Tyson (stayed June 2010)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvtholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Great spot between Foxwoods and Mohigan Sun, and about 10 minutes outside of Mystic CT. Spent the night on our 20th anniversary. Cozy (i.e. small) but very clean room for a good price. Good breakfast. Ted and Carol were great hosts. We'll be back, and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestonvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
2.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Property: Captain Grant's, 1754
Address: 109 Route 2a # 111, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365-8539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing