We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very special place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Very special place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This B&B is very special, for various reasons. First of all, Gail is the absolute best in making you feel at home and taking care of you. Great personality and she does great breakfasts with home made pastry, in the garden when weather permits.The house is full of history and character. The room we stayed in (Weaving room) was small but comfortable. Wonderful garden, with various seating areas, but you do hear cars sometimes.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Quaint historic inn, beautiful walking gardens, comfortable rooms, fabulous home cooked breakfast and a warm welcoming innkeeper......a perfect escape for a relaxing weekend get away. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfordville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay at Roseledge Country Inn and can't seem to stop talking about what a wonderful time we had. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and the house charming. We stayed in the John Meech room which was nicely decorated and the bed was VERY comfortable. There were views of the gardens from 4 windows. We slept peacefully and woke up each morning to a delicious breakfast. The first morning we had organic eggs with basil, green peppers and zucchini, sage potatoes, fresh baked blueberry crumb muffins, orange juice, coffee, and lemon water. Our second morning we had cream and fruit stuffed French toast with freshly picked blackberries and blueberries, lemon scones with sassafras jelly, and minted watermelon, orange juice, coffee, and lemon water. The food was divine!!!!! There was an assortment of coffee and tea available all day and evening, along with lemonade and sweet treats (chocolate squares, lemon cookies, chocolate chip cookie bars). There was also red wine available in the evenings. The gardens were great to lounge around in and plenty of places to get comfortable with a book. Gail, the owner, was welcoming and more than accommodating, She was wonderful to get to know and she has created a relaxing laid back environment to recharge and enjoy nature. There are tons of attractions very close by (we went to a local agricultural fair, walked around downtown mystic, went to Foxwoods), but honestly we were just as happy enjoying the serenity that Roseledge offers. We will definitely be back! -Lacie and Justin

Room Tip: We enjoyed the John Meech room. It has great garden views and a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Much of the food was harvested on the day it was prepared.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LacieAndJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The house itself has a lot of history. You feel like you are in another time, like in a museum but real. Very nice caretaker, great breakfast, especially the raspberry soup and the rhubarb muffins were delicious. Beautiful garden for relaxing and discovering. Highly recommended if you are looking for something else than a standard hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have nothing be praise for Gail and her beautiful inn. From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. The gardens are absolutely spectacular. So much so that we actually spent our first night in the garden, relaxing. There are numerous places to sit and relax, including a very roomy hammock. As the air became chillier, we spent time in the little living room area, which was also quite comfortable.

Our room, the John Meech room, was much more spacious than we anticipated. My fiance and I both agree that the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! The bathroom is completely up-to-date with a jetted tub.

Breakfasts were superb -- rhubarb muffins, blueberry French toast, farm fresh eggs and sage home fries, cinnamon apple pancakes on Sunday. There was no better way to start off a day of sightseeing than a hearty breakfast in the beautiful garden.

The inn itself is spotless. We truly felt like we were home away from home. Gail made sure that every detail was perfect, and we were always asked if there was anything else that we would need or want. Upon arriving back at the inn after spending our days in Mystic (only about 20 minutes away) and Stonington (about 30 minutes), we could grab a glass of fresh lemonade and cookies/cupcakes. There was also a Keurig at our disposal for coffee, tea and hot cocoa throughout the day, as well as ice water.

I have stayed in a B&B before, and I was underwhelmed with the experience. Gail has completely changed my opinion of a B&B experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Roseledge again and again!

Room Tip: We loved the John Meech room. It was sunny in the morning, but there are very good black out curtai...
See more room tips
Green Features: You could tell that Gail is a very green innkeeper! The flowers were from her garden, as well as herbs and eggs.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieBear013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house (circa 1720) and gardens. The smell of the flowers and the overall setting is wonderful. Lovely spot to sit outside and have breakfast. Sunday morning pancakes!! Enjoying our time here at Roseledge. We would definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Gail greeted us the moment we drove up. She then provided us with a brief history of this charming 300 year-old property. Our room contained furniture just as charming as the house itself. Our bed was very comfortable and somehow it was equipped with pillows which matched the ones at our own home. We therefore slept as sound as we would at home. The home cooked breakfasts were excellent, but we failed to learn the secret recipe of the very tasty apple cinnamon pancakes we had on our second morning there. Gail quipped that it needs to remain a secret so as to encourage us to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Property: Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. The country Inn bed and breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720 is rich in charter and filled with gracious touches. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 20 years of innkeeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing