We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway and we found it at Roseledge. The grounds are breathtaking. The room was charming, cozy and comfortable. The food was absolutely scrumptiously delicious. Gail and Sandy have a hidden gem on their hands and I can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
There is no greater compliment then when guests send their friends! And we know you have choices for you get aways and we thank you for choosing us!

Have you tried your scones yet? Yummy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    16
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This place is the best you can get for a b&b breakfast. We were offered breakfast in the garden and that was one of the best breakfast experiences we ever had. The garden is well kept and offers a relaxing environment for a weekend getaway.
Highly recommended if you don't mind a 200 yr old house (which is kept in excellent shape by the way).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhenqi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Mornings in our gardens are the "perfect" place to enjoy breakfast! We love sharing our little piece of CT with our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was a very nice bed & breakfast. Gail was very kind during our stay & very welcoming. The food was amazing. One morning we had home fries, these delicious blueberry cinnamon muffins (they melted in your mouth), fresh fruit & eggs. The next day we had these beautiful homeade pastries...one was even shaped like a little basket!! Then there was stuffed french toast-with berries! There was a warm fire in the fireplace & relaxing music playing in the background. This made breakfast so very peaceful. In the afternoons & evenings, she had lots of delicious desserts sitting in the breakfast room. The brownies with fudge icing were my favorite. There was plenty of choices of tea & hot cocoa to go with the sweets. We stayed in the John Meech guestroom. The bed was very soft & the room was beautifully decorated. The bathroom made me feel we were staying in a rustic cabin as some of the original boards of the house are exposed in there. It is a very cozy room & the fireplace was lovely in the evenings. The only small complaint we had about the room is that there seemed to be a problem with flies. We killed several while there. This wasn't a big deal, as we are from the country, but it might would bother city dwellers. You can't expect not to have a few flies when you are raising chickens...I thought it was an ok tradeoff for the delicious eggs we had in the mornings. All in all this was a great value and we would choose this place again for a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Choose the John Meech room & you will not be disappointed-the bath tub had jets and the bed is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseledgefarm, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
I noticed them too and each morning when I did the rooms, and removed what I found. I am convienced they were comeing out from under the bark of the firewood as it warmed up to room temp. In the fall they seek shelter under the bark to escape the cold.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words!

Best regards, the Beechers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I took my husband for his birthday to stay at Roseledge Herb Farm where we felt so warmly welcomed by Gail and Sandy! We enjoyed the coziness of our room and were treated to a delicious breakfast and plenty of hospitality. We will definitely go back to visit in the summer when the gardens will be in bloom and their store will be open! Look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hi folks its summer and we hope you will come back to see our gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

After reading the other reviews on this bnb I feel cheated. Me and 3 friends were on a 9 day roadtrip through New England. We had stayed at all bnb's on this trip and Roseledge was our last stop. We had 2 rooms booked for 3 nights. Our stay was not the experience others had, we felt she was very unfriendly from the time we arrived until we left. She did not spend much time talking to us or making us feel very welcome. We all felt uncomfortable. She talked to us just to tell us about breakfast and a few other things and that was the extent of it. The food was good and the bnb very clean and comfortable. No complaints on that just the hostess attitude towards us for the entire 3 days. This was the mostly costly of all the bnb's and we felt very upset and cheated. A young couple arrived on our last evening there and they did get the treatment that everyone else seemed to get. That was the first time during our stay that she sat and chatted at breakfast and it wasn't with us but with the couple at the table having breakfast with us. We are a very friendly group of girls and all our other stays were great, but this sort of ruined the last few days our vacation. Not sure why we got treated like we did.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseledgefarm, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing Roseledge for your New England tour, we are glad to know our rooms were clean, and the food was good! As for the interaction with us, we go above and beyound 100% to be sure our guests are comfortable, and we are sorry if you did not feel welcome.
Please try us again so we may make it up to you and your friends.
Kindly Gail Beecher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed a fantastic weekend at The Roseledge Herb Farm B&B. Our cozy room made for wonderful naps and had every convenience we needed. However, it was our hostess, Gail, and her incredible breakfasts that were the real standout. There is nothing better than being awakened to the scent of fresh-baked muffins! Highly recommend this Inn and look forward to returning in the Spring!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fossilcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent four days on the farm and it was wonderful. Very good food and service. It was like being home:-).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
789 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,423 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Property: Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Country Inn Bed and Breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720, rich in history and filled with gracious touches.Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 23 years of inn keeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods Casino and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The Farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing