We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming B&B and a wonderful experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming B&B and a wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This B&B is a lovely and charming house and being a 300 year old structure, it was immaculately kept and was full of character. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were very nice and friendly and really made us feel welcome. They gave us great recommendations on where to go nearby and provided us with a scrumptious breakfast that would have been fit for a King! We were so well looked after that we were even given cookies to take on the road with us - their kind hospitality really made this stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My best friend and I spent a few truly wonderful days at Roseledge Herb Farm this July. It was one of the best places we have ever stayed! First of all the location and setting were fantastic. There were 5 acres of beautiful flowers and herb gardens to roam around. The B&B itself, although dating back to the 1700's, had been lovingly restored by the innkeepers to its original charm. The feather beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms had been updated with modern showers, sinks etc. The innkeepers Gail and Sandy were very hospitable! They made us feel welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left. The breakfasts that Gail served each morning were absolutely delicious! Also she had set out fresh baked goods to enjoy in the evenings when we returned from our days adventures. The B&B is only about a 20 minute drive to Mystics Seaport and many other lovely sites (beaches, restaurants, wineries, etc.) All in all I would recommend Roseledge wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a real New England experience in a very comfortable and beautiful setting! I am including some of the many pictures I took while we were there. Thanks again Gail and Sandy for a delightful experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We loved the charm and hospitality of Roseledge and its owners.At night it was so enchanting to see all the lanterns and tea lights glowing all through the garden.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My wife and I spent Valentine's weekend at this wonderful bed and breakfast. We were expecting a full house when we arrived, but the owners, Gail and Sandy, had only recently reopened after a period spent in renovation (their house pre-dates the American Revolution and has been restored to showcase condition), so it understandably takes a while to get momentum going again.

We walked through the front door and into another world. Surrounded by antique furnishings and ornaments, each with a personal history and carefully arranged, we immediately got the sense of owners who are meticulous and passionate about their business - even better, who treat their business as an art form.

So the first pleasant surprise. We had reserved the smallest available room, but because no one else was scheduled to show up that weekend, Gail offered us their largest room (the John Meech Room)... for the price of the smallest one. Very cool. As cool as getting up to our attractive room and finding a complimentary bottle of champagne and a chocolate rose waiting to greet us. Also in the room, a working fireplace with firewood that Sandy had placed with kindling ready for simply a match.

It suddenly occurs to me that there may be readers who aren't so interested in combing through my prose for the bottom-line details, so let me try to cut to the chase. Roseledge Herb Farm Bed and Breakfast is an excellent choice for your getaway. Here's the breakdown:

Positives:

- Friendliness - Gail and Sandy treated us as welcome guests into their lives rather than counterparts in a business transaction. You just can't fake that sort of thing. It was our privilege to get to know them over our short time there. That being said, they also were quite religious about providing us with a zone of privacy. A better balancing act couldn't be easily found.

- Value - You get more than your money's worth. Regarding rates, we found Roseledge to be priced competitively, and that's based on a comparison with other B&Bs at which we've stayed or which we researched. For us, the value went through the roof when taking into account the complimentary service. I'm not sure how these folks make money - they give you so much of themselves and what they have.

- Efficiency - Absolutely no hiccups in the quality and timeliness of the service which Gail and Sandy provided us (booking our room, parking, meals, bed/bathroom amenities, information/directions to nearby attractions).

- Aesthetics and Function - You'll be staying in a 300 year old house that looks like one more than acts like one. The restoration work is absolutely beautiful, preserving the quaintness of old architecture. At the same time, we found the house to be perfectly climate-controlled and well-sealed from the elements (if you use the fireplace, expect a bit of a draft afterward, which is normal, but they'll brief you even on that). Additionally, you get a completely modernized bathroom, one area where I think most people wouldn't care to have an 18th-Century experience.

- Bonuses - The extras often make the difference. For us, it was a free room upgrade, complimentary champagne, chocolate, homemade cookies, candy - on the second night, a bottle of wine and more chocolates, cookies, candy; our meals were made with fresh ingredients (ex. the hens who live there lay the eggs served for breakfast) and presented with artistic flare; and getting to have conversation with these two wonderful people is something we would definitely count as a bonus.

Negatives

I had to struggle to come up with one, but I did, and although this one negative has to do with something completely out of the hands of Gail and Sandy, objectivity demands that I list it. There are some signs of real estate development going on in the area. It's sad to step out of a farmhouse so beautifully frozen in time and almost immediately see a couple of McMansions dotting the landscape. And with McMansions comes traffic, something that's not overbearing but is noticeable and could possibly be distracting to some (we found it tolerable). I do have to say, though, that my wife and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs around the country and have not yet found one that doesn't have this issue to deal with.

Conclusion

Stay here. It's worth it. Our time at Roseledge was a wonderful getaway, and so much of our enjoyment must be credited to the personalities and professionalism of Gail and Sandy.

P.S. - I took a few photos while we were there (I'm a photography buff - I'm on flickr as IntergalacticHobo) - sent the photos to Gail and Sandy as a thank-you, and they were kind enough to post them on their website. The pictures are not exactly a documentation of the space but more an effort to capture the flavor of Gail's artistry.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntergalacticHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseledgefarm, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Each and every time I look at the photo of the Big Brown bear I smile...your talent is amazing and we can't wait to have you back in the spring when the gardens come to life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We felt so at home at this B & B. Gail, the Inn Keeper and Owner was so warm and welcoming to us. You can see that she loves what she does, allot of work for sure. This B & B is totally organic which makes allot more work for the owners. A Beautiful fall day. Thank You.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Roseledge is a hidden treasure.My boyfriend and I were attending a concert at Foxwoods but weren't looking forward to the atmosphere of a casino. We were so fortunate to find Roseledge herb farm on line. They are an easy drive and minutes from Foxwoods. We were greeted immediately by Gail who was working in one of their many gardens and given a tour of the grounds and their beautiful home. Being the home owners of a circa 1763 home in Connecticut with acres of gardens and our own koi pond, it was going to take a lot to impress us and were we ever! The rooms were beautifully decorated and so cozy. The gardens were so beautiful we spent the whole afternoon lounging under a huge tree on their very comfortable wicker furniture drinking wine and eating sushi. We hardly wanted to leave to see the concert. Coming and going was even a treat, Gail had lit the pathways with candles and pumpkins. Just as we had read about, Gail made the most delicious breakfast with their fresh eggs and herbs right out of the garden. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We could not ask for a more welcoming or pleasant place to stay. This was the most enjoyable and relaxing B&B we have ever visited. The accommodations, service and amenties are outstanding; the hosts, the most pleasant and informative we have encountered anywhere. And the breakfasts are simply the greatest! A more homelike atmosphere you'll not find anywhere. The history of the place is an added bonus. We truly enjoyed our visit. L&MS

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alosa1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
8.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Property: Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Country Inn Bed and Breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720, rich in history and filled with gracious touches.Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 23 years of inn keeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods Casino and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The Farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing