We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Not your typical B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband and I were deeply disappointed in this place. The rooms pictures on the website are not what you get! We booked for our 30th anniversary and when we got there we didn't even stay! We have stayed in plenty of B & B's mostly booked from Select Registry and this was awful! We paid for the 2 nights and walked out the door and found another place to stay. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has stayed at a Select Registry B & B!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SeasonedTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseledgefarm, Owner/Innkeeper at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2007

We understand that that not every B&B guest and B&B are a 100% match, and make every effort to be sure that we meet our guests expectaions. I recall this young couple very well, as we had a nice conversation before they left for Foxwoods casino. In fact I was concerned when I realized they had not returned from the casino and called thier cell phone to be sure they were o.k. She explained they had meet up with some friends whom they had not seen in a long time and were invited to stay with them at the casino as they had a suite there. It was late and so she said she did not want to call and wake us. How nice for them was my reply and said that if they were ever in the area again I would give them two nights free loding during the week. They said they were happy with that and made their good byes. I'm surprised they would post this comment as never was there an indication that they were not happy with our accomadations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2007

Gail and Sandy made us feel like family, but without having to clean up after breakfast! What a pleasure to stay at a B&B who's gardens and food are like our own! Everything was perfect, right down to the champagne for our anniversary. This was a very memorable stay that we plan on repeating.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chimay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

My boyfriend and I just returned from a relaxing weekend from the Roseledge Herb B&B. I was very impressed with the fresh baked goods made daily. However, breakast was the same for the two mornings we were there. The John Meech room was both cozy and romantic with the down-feather bed, fire place and jacuzzi tub. The price was reasonable for the area. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solivotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

My boyfriend & I stayed at Roseledge for two nights, and what a wonderful place to stay it was!! It was our first experience at a B&B and it was just magnificent!! The lovely scenery, great hospitality, and awesome cooking/baking!!! I highly suggest going to Duffy's Tavern in RI (don't worry Gail will give you directions) & Newport, RI - wonderful New England Villages. They even got a birthday cake for my boyfriend's birthday - HOW NICE!! We miss it already!! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondifromhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

What a wonderful treat! I had worked all week in CT and was exhausted by the time I arrived at Roseledge. To say that I was completely rejuvenated by the next morning is an understatement. Gail's hospitality, wonderful home baked treats and comfortable accommodations were just what we needed. My husband said it was the best breakfast he ever had (and that's quite a compliment coming from him!). Thank you to Gail and Sandy for opening your home to us and our well-behaved four-legged "child".

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlerNotATourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hammonton, New Jersey
1
Reviewed June 12, 2006

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights and the Roseledge Herb Farm B and B and had a wonderful relaxing time. Our room was large with a canopy bed and whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The home was approximently 300 years old and was furnished with antiques that complemented the decor. The artistic touches of the owners were present everywhere...in the delicious homemade breakfasts, the fresh flowers from the garden in every room, and beautiful bed and bath linens. What I especially liked was that we were asked what we wanted for breakfast and there were many choices. There was a definite effort made to accomodate our needs and desires. One night my husband and I stayed in to watch a movie on the dvd player and our host Gail brought us a lovely plate of fruit, cheese and crackers. Little gestures like that contributed to a wonderful vacation experience.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

The moment we walked in the door we were welcomed by Gail's graciousness, the house smelled so good, and the music was calming. Gail and Sandy are wonderful and knowledgeable hosts, and the breakfasts are delicious. Our room was so romantic; a bed with a canopy, a fireplace, candles, even chocolates on the bed and in the champagne glasses. Their attention to detail shows everywhere. They also have their own herb farm, roadside stand, and bee hive. My only suggestions to the couple would be to install a ramp or some easily maneuvered steps; the cobblestone is charming but could be difficult for some, and to mail reservation confirmation instead of relying on email. We stayed 2 nights and felt rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvreading63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,803 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,439 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
795 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range: $165 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Country Inn Bed and Breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720, rich in history and filled with gracious touches.Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 23 years of inn keeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods Casino and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The Farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing