We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of activities, but filthy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strawberry Park Resort
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lot's of activities, but filthy”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Tons of well run activities and lots of staff. Would be giving this a 5 if some of the staff picked up some of the trash on the ground rather than walking by it. The grill was good, and reasonably priced. They should just make it a no dog park as it is ridiculous you can't walk your dog on a leash to the dog park, you actually have to drive them.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    26
    16
    21
See reviews for
101
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My son (age 11) and I have camped at Strawberry Park over 20 times in the past three years, most recently from June 14 to July 8. It is a wonderful campground. There are plenty of organized activities for both children and adults. Dave does an outstanding job. He is involved in bingo, sports, egg toss, and everything in between all the way to the evening activities such as bonfire or dance. It is a relief that an adult is in charge not a teenager. The one thing I like the most about Strawberry Park is that they enforce the rules. In three years, I only had to call the afterhour’s line once for loud music after quite hours. I was very impressed with security. They responded quickly. The music was turned down but the campers turned it up as soon as he was out of sight. However, he looped back around within 5 minutes to make sure everything was in order. Imagine the surprised campers. With a stern voice, he issued them their final warning. The party quickly disbanded. I’m all for having a good time but not at the expense of others. Quiet hours are necessary to protect everyone’s rights. You may not think you are laughing or talking loudly but your voice carries and the person a few sites over doesn’t appreciate not being able to sleep or get their children to go to sleep. This is the only way to keep it fair for everyone. I too was disappointed when I found out that there was no more garbage pickup however it is my understanding that it was a cost saving measure. Gas prices are out of control and having a gas guzzling truck petrol the park all day picking up garbage does seem wasteful. Let’s face it… we can all use a little extra exercise. The only time I have seen the dumpsters get full are Sundays because most campers are weekenders and they are checking out. Otherwise, it hasn’t been a problem. Park management is very concerned for everyone’s safety. There is no bike riding after dark and all children must wear helmets. On more than one occasion, I have seen them enforce this rule. Pool safety is also enforced. Only Coast Guard approved floatation devices are allowed. As far as the condition of the sites, I have never had a filthy site. The first time we camped, it was on site 70 which is right near 66 & 67. These sites are shaded and on a dirt road but close to the office, pool and recreation center. Is there dust? Yes but it is a tradeoff for location, location and location. The sites I like the best are on Kiwi Court and Peach Place. These sites are full hookup and the roads are paved. However, they are the first ones to book so you need to plan ahead. On Fridays, check in time for trailers and tent sites 1pm and check out time on Sunday for these sites 2pm. However, they have a field across from the park entrance you can park in and give you the option to stay all day to enjoy the activities and pools. I have never had this option at any other campground. If you rent a Park Model, check in on Friday 4pm and check out on Sunday 10am. However, they have the same option as above to stay late and enjoy the park. The reason for the earlier check out is housekeeping needs to clean the units for the next guests. I don’t think this is unreasonable. Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day and Halloween weekends are AMAZING!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CT_Camper_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived July 3, 2012. and left July 15,2012. Sites 66 and 67. The two sites were filthy, site 67 had a make shift fire pit along with the permanent one . When the maintenance person came to clean it up he said "these sites are hard to find and that's why it was not cleaned". Mind you we were a few steps away from the Main Office. On Thursday night quiet hours is 11pm at 11:15 we were sitting around the fire and laughing a bit mind you we had no one in the sites next to us (Vacant sites in July wow that's saying something right there) when a security person with a green miners light on his head came over and asked us to keep it down. I understand quiet time but did not know we could not even laugh. The road was dirt and was so dusty we could not open our windows to let fresh air in. The cleaning crew (bathroom attendants mostly) would drive the golf carts as fast as they can go kicking up so much dust. When brought to the attention of management they said it was not their crew, but it was the seasonal owners. As luck would have it a cleaning crew member came flying around in the golf cart, needless to say the management got dirt in his face. At one point the green light security person came speeding around us. My brother went over to him and confronted him about the excessive speed. He said a little boy had fallen off his bike and that he was on his way to get the parent. Yet he managed to bring us a bag of ice and a bundle of wood to make up for it. Kind of weird that he had time to do that when he said he was on his way to get a child's parent!!! After that the management asked us if we had a hose, we said yes. He then says that WE can hose down the road to keep the dust down. Can you believe it we can hose it down. A day later they had a water truck come. We were also told that there was no more garbage pickup, and that we had to bring our own garbage to the dumpster's but were never told where these dumpsters were. Once we found them they were ALWAYS full. The reason we were given as to why they don't pick up the garbage any more way that they did not want any kid to get run over. Now they just insulted my intelligence, really! So they mean to say that sending around two workers to pickup garbage all day is less safe than drunken campers driving around looking for the trash receptacles is safer? Stupid, just stupid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Upon arrival we checked in at the gate. We were then handed a map of the park told our site number and then told " good luck" in finding it. After driving around for about ten minutes ( with a travel trailer ) we finally found it. The site had not been cleaned or raked from the last occupants or they would have seen the many spikes and nails we had to pick up first before pulling in. After setting up camp we found the fire ring completely full and not usable. Went to the office and requested it be cleaned out which they did... three days later. Found the staff to be unhelpful and the seasonal campers unfriendly. In short for the money they charge don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EdR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We camped for the long weekend of Patriot's Day and the kids got the added of bonus of going swimming! We never expected them to have a pool open in April! The water was freezing but the kids didn't seem to care. The pool was nice and clean and they even had some pool chairs out for the adults to sit in the sun. We had a great weekend. Played some bingo with Dave, took some walks, played a little horseshoes and just relaxed by the fire.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_0n_the_g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Many years ago we had a seasonal campsite at Strawberry Park and my kids grew up spending weekends and summer vacations at the park. It was a wonderful way to spend quality family time. Now fast forward more than 20 years and my kids are grown and have kids of their own. We rented 2 rv's next to each other and attended Halloween weekend #3. the park has changed rather dramatically but the core of it with plenty of activities was just as fun as it was many years ago. Everyone had a wonderful time, big kids and little kids- with even a ribbon for 2nd place in the egg toss!! So nice to still see Dave at the helm of activities. He really continues to do a wonderful job. This is the perfect way to have kids safely trick or treating....I think this may be a new tradition for us !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It's a terrific campground and there is always plenty to do. But, if you have a dog - rent a golf cart because the dog walk area is not easy to get to. However, cart rentals are expensive. The store isn't a good backup if you need quick food or supplies. Friendly, great pools and again, plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gherchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,319 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
4.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
4.0 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Park Resort

Property: Strawberry Park Resort
Address: 42 Pierce Rd, Preston, CT 06365-8122
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Preston
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Park is a 160 acre campground nestled in the heart of southeastern Connecticut, in a region of lakes, streams and ocean beaches, conveniently located near all the major points of interest, and only 5 miles off I-395 or 15 miles from I-95. Strawberry Park offers a wide variety of campsites, ranging from open lawns, wooded and shaded sites, some close to the facilities, while others are more secluded. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Park Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing