We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun stop”

The Vanilla Bean Cafe
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Pomfret
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
453 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Some nice food choices though the prices are a bit high. That's the way it is when there's no competition anywhere nearby. Still, it's a nice place to sit down, have a sandwich and take a break.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    63
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun little place. Parking was difficult, crowded.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Which is the sign of a good restaurant. I liked the rustic, homestyle atmosphere. I was in CT visiting my son and we went to The Vanilla Bean Cafe at the recommendation of his girl friend. I totally enjoyed this place. I had a black bean burger was pretty tasty and my husband had a spinach and onion quesadilla. We were happy with the portions and the food and if in the area again, I would go back. Yes, a little on the pricey side but that is kinda what I have seen in New England. But some things are worth spending more for than going to a fast food joint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highway Robbery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to the Vanilla Bean yesterday with some friends because on the weekends there is a big crowd of all kinds of Motorcycles and it is a very mellow fun crowd, you can see anything from Harleys to BSA and every other bike imaginable. Well that is where the fun stops, we had lunch here on one occasion and I was not overly impressed with the food so we decided to just stop for a bottle of soda and visit for a bit. We had four 12.0z bottles of local inexpensive soda so I went to pay and had taken out a ten dollar bill well I was quite surprised when the young man looked at me and said " that will be $12.00 please" are you kidding me! This place is just ridiculously priced and this is by no means a posh local, you sit on picnic tables under a couple of pine trees.I guess I just don't get it?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food prices are high; but 'whatever' since you are the only area option !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

So the prices suck for the portions. Let me get that out of the way. Plus, it's not a dinner spot. It's lunchy. And I've had fresh ingredients before and 'No' they don't cost that much. But heck. Anyone in this area of CT doesn't look at food costs. So get beyond the costs of everything and enjoy a really great spot. Uber-friendly, cute staff; table seating with an outdoor area; healthy options galore; and all home made - No doubt about that. Hats off. I mean they charge whatever because they can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodProwler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
223 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The spot has grown over the 24 years it has been on this corner. You order at the counter, get a big playing card and when your food is ready they find your card and serve it. Lots of interesting sandwiches including veggy & gluten free offerings. Cape Cod Kettle Chips are served with the sandwiches, which are a local favorite. We split a rueben and had clam chowder this time. The chowder was piping hot the way I like it and had quite a few clams. We have had salads in the past and always enjoyed coming here. Don't let the bikers scare you off. These are not Hell's Angels. There were over 20 bikes there on this Saturday noon. Quiches are also a specialty and looked good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vanilla Bean Cafe also viewed

Pomfret, Mystic Country
Pomfret, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
Woodstock, Mystic Country
 

Been to The Vanilla Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing