We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pomfret
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Fox Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 5 Pomfret B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Exactly as advertised. We chose this B&B as a quiet place to spend our wedding night and everything was perfect. There was a wonderful view from the porch, and Nick provided us with exactly the breakfast items we requested, as well as a bottle of champagne and flowers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andywedscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

After many nights in hotels and motels, the Inn was a wonderful break from the commercial establishments. We got in late and slept until 10:00 in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (and I normally can't stay asleep after 6:00 in the morning).

The setting is idyllic. Morning coffee on the deck was capped off with a blue heron flying slowly over the pond.

But the best part is Nick and Polly's hospitality. You feel at home.

Room Tip: There is only one room right now, but it's the best. It comes with a sitting room, kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The cottage is absolutely cozy and peaceful! Although we came on a rainy day and our daughter was not feeling well because she caught a cold, Nick made our stay wonderful and unforgetable! You can easily tell how thoughtful the owner is just by looking at the stocking in the fridge. The breakfast was lovely! Considering we were new to the country and far away from our home in China, Nick kindly gave our daughter a thermometer and Tylenol to use as we continued our tour of New England. Nick made every moment of our stay like we were just at home!

If we ever come back to the area, we see ourselves coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For a romantic getaway, you won’t find a better place than the Fox Hill Inn and the scenic countryside of northeastern Connecticut. Fox Hill Inn is located on Route 169 in Promfret, CT on a peaceful hilly corner overlooking a serene lake. It was once a haven for those lucky enough to escape the NYC hustle and bustle. Whether you choose to do nothing but relax at the cottage and cook your own feasts, or wine and dine and explore the countryside and shops, you won’t believe the peacefulness of your visit.

The owners Nick and Polly make you feel like a King and Queen and will do anything to accommodate all of your wishes and needs, including stocking the fridge with tempting goodies and serving you the absolute best breakfast you’ll ever have, customized to your liking.

This piece of Paradise has such wonderful rustic and elegant charm, reminiscent of New England living back in a simpler time. The rat race is history, at least for the moment. Try it once and if you’re like us, you’ll dream of your return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJKBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albie02
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A must do for Fall !!! Wonderfully decorated with antiques. Very serene. Great host.
Amazing views, Great breakfast!!!!
The fridge was stocked with soda, bottled water,
and even some beer!
Wonderful kingsize bed.
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: there's only one cottage and its yours! No one walking over your head or in a room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved this beautiful, private cottage! The location is idyllic, the view serene, the room extremely comfortable and the breakfasts superb. What really makes the cottage special, though are Nick & Polly. They go out of their way to make their B&B feel like home. They are exemplary hosts, who went above and beyond to make our 1st anniversary getaway a memorable one that will always be cherished by us.

From the homemade crumb cake and Anniversary balloon that greeted us, to the fully stocked refrigerator, endless supply of ice, bath salts, facial wipes, and a heavenly king bed - every detail is seen to in such an accommodating manner, you know you arrived in seventh heaven.

The Inn at Fox Hill Farm provides a quintessential, quiet country experience with unequalled views, tasteful decor, breakfasts that are delectable mini-feasts, and warm hospitality that exceeds all. We definitely will return to this peaceful inn exemplifying Connecticut’s “quiet corner”.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAMMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida keys
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Cottage next to a pond! If you like to be nestled in a fully-equipped cottage with a beautiful view.... this is your place! Nick and Polly rent out half of their cottage for guests.... so you will be their only guests! Privacy is utmost. Being a history buff, it was a fascinating place to stay... Polly's family bought the farm from the Indians in 1707 and it has been in the family ever since. In the early 1900's it was a summer retreat for artists, writers and Suffragettes. Nick and Polly are in the process of renovating the main homestead as a B&B - make sure to ask for a tour of the old house from Nick. The location is perfect for touring the "Quiet Corner" of CT, and antiquing is quite nice in the nearby town of Putnam. Also make sure to try the local Pomfret wines and have dinner at The Harvest, then back to the cottage for ice cream by the fireplace!

Room Tip: There is only one cottage, and it is wonderful! Full kitchen, living room and bedroom. GREAT King-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandhopper305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomfret
11.9 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Putnam
14.9 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
15.4 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Fox Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Fox Hill Farm

Property: Inn at Fox Hill Farm
Address: 760 Pomfret St, Pomfret, CT 06258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Pomfret
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pomfret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful view is just the beginning. Once you walk through the door, you will instantly feel at home. A convenient location and peaceful surroundings make Inn at Fox Hill Farm the perfect setting for your weekend retreat in NE Connecticut. Hidden away, off scenic Rt. 169, and sitting on 75 wooded acres and rolling pastures, this charming country cottage includes: private entrance, large living room, kitchen, deck w/lake view, king bed and private bath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing