We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting more and more expensive”
Review of Bali T House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lodtunduh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali T House
Ranked #3 of 5 Lodtunduh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2011

There are two sites of T House (klod and kaja) and they are different. T house klod is in my opinion better than kaja. In Thouse Kaja there is a lot of water that attracts mosquitos and other nasty insects. T Houses are quite basic, but they very much OK if you don't need any frills. However pricing was very reasonable but now is fast getting more and more unreasonable. It seems that T House suffers from it's success. And yes, they have Wifi as well, but prepare for a surcharge. Overall I would rate this place average: main reason it's (getting) overpriced. Prices have more than doubled in the past 4 years.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenriHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed in two properties at the T House complex for a week in all. The first was Jasmine at Kaja. On first impressions it was quaint and charming. Upon closer inspection it became clear that this property has obviously been neglected for quite some time. It really does need some TLC spent on it by the owner. The layout of the house is good and it is serviceable, however, the indoor living area is poorly lit, the cushions old, dirty and inadequate so it was certainly not an option to sit in at night. The bathroom was also quite dirty and needed some work on it. We spent most of our time whilst there sitting in the outside living area but unfortunately there were some fairly selfish neighbours who spent most of their time there speaking at the tops of their voices and 'skyping' their family very loudly. They could also see straight down into our sitting area so privacy was an issue.
There was also a building site next door and the sound of building was prevalent all day, even on Sunday!
Having said all this, we did enjoy our time once we settled into the feel of the place. The staff were lovely, always helpful and polite. The grounds were kept neatly and the swimming pool was a great asset to the property.
We moved mid-way through our stay down to Lemongrass at Klod. Again, the property was a little 'off the boil' in terms of upkeep, but we really enjoyed this property as it was situated on the edge of the rice paddy and had much better living areas to relax in. The beds in this house were very hard, however. We enjoyed the 'in-house' breakfast service and appreciated the daily house keeping.
We were very happy to be out of Ubud, away from the congested roads and retail mania that has become Ubud. What a shame, as we have stayed there on two occasions before (albeit 10 years ago) and loved the feel of the town. Unfortunately busloads of Chinese and Japanese tourists arrive daily and the infrastructure just doesn't cope. We managed to have a relaxing stay and only went into Ubud for meals and galleries etc. It was a cheap taxi ride each time (30,000 rp) and so was not an issue.
We loved the situation of the T houses - being in the village - and so we were immersed in watching the day-to-day activities of the locals. Whether it was the children flying kites, little girls doing the family washing outside their compounds, the men sitting preening their roosters in the evening, the local stall holders selling their wares, the dogs and chooks and activities in the rice paddies, it was all so lovely.
It was a pity that the only time that we met Wayan, the Manager, was when we had to pay our bill at the end of our stay. It would have been fitting for him to welcome us to the houses and to offer help and advice. We were left in the dark a lot and had to find our own way. There was no information in Jasmine house but we did find a sheet that was quite helpful in Lemongrass.
Over all, our stay was very relaxing in a culturally interesting and charming setting. We certainly weren't looking for slick, western style resort accommodation and so the T houses met our needs well.

Room Tip: choose a house fronting the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nino30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My experience at Bali Thouse was far from expectable. The service was terrible and substandard compared to other similar places I stayed in Ubud. The furnishings were old and worn and beds quite hard with musty smelling linen. The villa was not cleaned very well with cobwebs in bathroom and lounge room. It is a long way out of town and hard to get taxi from. The villas are not secure and I had dogs and villages wondering through our entrance at all hours. Would not recommend for females travelling solo as it is also poorly lit. the day I were leaving staff cleaned room and put other people's luggage in bed room before I had even showed and packed my bags this was 1hr before advised Check out time. When complained staff were rude and just told me to harry up. I had payed a deposit direct to owner on paypal lucky I brought our print out with us as on leaving they tried to tell me I had paid less. To top it off 4 days after I left I got a very rude email from owner acusing me of damaging the back door and not telling anyone, which was just simply not true. The way I was treated by owner and staff was not exceptable. Do not stay at these villas lot better similar priced villas around Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Indygo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in Kamanta T House with four adults and two small children. The location is charming, close to the ricefields with an infinity swimming pool. But we have been quiet disappointed by the house. It has not been maintained well and was also dirty. We did not really feel to prepare our own meals there. Our impression was, that is used to be better and starts to be quiet run down. What is important to know when you book a place at the T Houses is, that you need a car or motorbike as it is too far from the center. Also, if you book, ask to the owner for a precise description of how to get there, as it is not so easy to find.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiaengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were a little shocked when we arrived as this guest house/accommodation was not what we had pictured from the internet. It is very basic with open air living room/kitchen. The bedrooms had mosquito nets and lockable doors, outside shower/toilet with cold water only. I thought this was pricey for what we got. We went into Ubud and came back late in the evening. It was so dark getting to the area and I would not recommend this place for women travelling alone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

T House is an awesome place to stay... I've stayed at 3 of the T Houses. Hibiscus House is my all time favorite because it is right on the rice paddies with an amazing view, it's private, absolutely peaceful, and really well set up. The owners have thought of everything to make it really comfortable, but it still has that great Bali feeling. The 2 complete bathrooms with outside showers are magic, there are beautiful Bali stone carvings and statues, and the upstairs loft is perfect for a private getaway to do some work, take a nap, or just read.
I also love their fish pond and you just can't beat being right on the rice paddies. I couldn't tear my self away from watching the village life pass by... kids flying kites, workers in the paddies, villagers carrying their day's work balanced on their heads. The sound of the water trickling past the balcony is really soothing and relaxing.
The staff at T House are super nice and helpful and love the morning breakfast & the daily offerings. It's located near enough to Ubud but also right in the middle of a village which is the real Bali, so you get a taste of real Bali lifestyle.
I'd recommend T House to anyone, and especially love Hibiscus House for the view, comfort, and really good vibe.

Room Tip: Hibiscus has a great view and is more private than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaracasChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I took my good friends to T House, which I have stayed at before, and chose Hojoki as it had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. I took the bedroom with the outdoor shower, while my friend with the kids took the other room in case creepy crawlies freaked them out as the second room had an indoor bathroom. The rooms are small but adequate, and it was useful to have 2 bathrooms. The ducks came right up to the living room, as did a friendly dog and cat, so it was great for the kids to commune with rural life so accessibly. The only thing that bothered the kids, as the toddler was crawling, was that you can't help prevent ants coming in from the rice fields. A small thing. Not an issue for adults. The living area was large and comfortable.

Breakfast is cooked in your villa, with choice of eggs, toast or banana pancakes, with a plate of fruit. Service was discreet. Wifi is strong at Hojoki. Transport to Ubud center was by car for 50,000 Rp each way. Komang who leads the household staff also does a good in-room massage for a reasonable price (I forget now but about 100,000 Rp). Laundry was very cheap, less than US$2 for a handful. We enjoyed coming home to the peaceful little place, and the kids enjoyed the pool while the adults enjoyed the ricefield walks.

Minuses - did not like the cobbled stone pathways to the villa for both kids and adults. But could live with them. Staff could have left some lights on when we returned at night and had to fumble for keys in the dark and fumble for light switches. However, that said, T House staff are superb, friendly and helpful. Once we told them, the lights came on. Marita, the owner of Hojoki, also left a very useful information sheet for us to direct us to good places to eat, get a massage, find transport etc. We also went to Yoga Barn for yoga classes in the morning. Fab.

Pluses - lovely way to have a holiday and enjoy living along the locals and see their real way of life. Even the kids settled after a day to the insects and animal sounds. We all slept really well, and my friends said it was the best sleep they ever had. Hojoki is also on the ricefields with a lovely breeze -- the villa comes with only fans and they were sufficient. We also didn't have the smell of manure as some said they had, seeing as the project is set amidst ricefields and farming activities. At $70 a night for 2 rooms, Hojoki and the T-House setting is a steal. I keep going back....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaritaBebeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lodtunduh hotels
0.4 mi away
De Ubud Villas & Spa
De Ubud Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lodtunduh
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodtunduh Sari
Lodtunduh Sari
#1 of 5 in Lodtunduh
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Harmony Villas
Bali Harmony Villas
#2 of 5 in Lodtunduh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fullmoon Villa Ubud
Fullmoon Villa Ubud
#3 of 5 in Lodtunduh
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Beji Mawang
Villa Beji Mawang
#2 of 5 in Lodtunduh
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Ubud Villas
Avalon Ubud Villas
#5 of 5 in Lodtunduh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali T House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali T House

Address: Lodtunduh, Lodtunduh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Lodtunduh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lodtunduh
Price Range: $35 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely stunning 1-3 bedroom private villas in a traditional rice farming and carving village only 5 minutes from central Ubud. Daily maid and breakfast service included. Beautiful shared pool with ricefield views. Unlike many other Balinese complexes, the unique Bali T Houses offers visitors the chance to stay in an environmentally friendly and ecologically sustainable compound, which is also part of Balinese village life and culture. Therefore there is the opportunity for much interaction with the local people and animals, whom you will observe working in rice-fields and gardens, dogs, roosters, cows, chickens, and so on, as well as passing through the houses walkways and working around them during their daily routines. If you're looking for a serene villa miles from village life this is not the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali t House Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing