We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for our honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Familia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vathy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Familia
Ranked #1 of 7 Vathy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect place for our honeymoon”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent the last 5 nights of our honeymoon on the beautiful island Ithaka at Hotel Familiar.
This stylish small hotel is an old olive press which has been beautifully converted recently.
It is a short walk from the seafront in Vathy which has a number a excellent restaurants serving fresh fish. Vathy makes a good base to explore the rest of this lovely island. The thing that made this hotel for us were the friendly staff and the wonderful breakfasts which we ate in their pretty courtyard. Each morning Christina brought us different home baked treats, all of which were delicious. They have bikes you can borrow as well as sun umbrellas for the beach. I have already mentioned this little gem to a number of friends and family. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annaclaire01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
63
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Spent a night at Hotel Familia as a treat to ourselves whilst touring Ithaka and it proved to be one of the best 'treats' we've ever had! The old olive press building has been converted so sympathetically and the result is beautiful to behold and lovely to stay in. Christina and Makis were both extremely welcoming and their recommendation of a nearby restaurant (Libretto) was excellent for dinner. Will definitely be going back and will recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate187061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Familia for a week in June and had a wonderful time.
The location is very central - just a few minutes walk to the main square with everything you need close to hand, restaurants, bars and shops all within a stones throw.

The hotel itself is lovely, a nice boutique B&B with very comfy beds and a good breakfast spread. The main highlight of the stay however, is definitely the faultless hospitality. The attention to detail made our stay feel very special - from personal touches at breakfast through to helping us host a party for our friends getting married, Christina and Makis could not have made us feel more welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesmithlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

During my 3 week vacation in Greece, I had the occasion to spend a week in Ithaki, the greater part of which saw me accommodated in the Hotel Familia, Vathy’s historic Olive Press, most extraordinarily converted into a boutique hotel. What a beautiful experience! Not only has the conversion of this 19th Century building been done with care and consideration, the design sympathetically incorporates the latest conveniences and modern amenities.
It was the first and only accommodation I encountered in Greece where the TV, its remote control unit, the air conditioner and its remote control unit, and the WI-FI internet were all functional, simultaneously. Furthermore, taking a shower also does not flood the entire bathroom. Besides the great detail attention given to the integration of old and new with regard to the conversion, the interior design and finishing is greatly complemented and enhanced by eco-friendly COCO-MAT linen and bedding, ensuring luxurious towels and bedding providing a really good night’s sleep. This attention to detail and respect for the environment that Hotel Familia’s proprietors have adopted, is further shown in the provision of bicycles for guest’s use at no extra cost.
Our booking included breakfast and once again Hotel Familia proved exceptional. It should be pointed out that co-proprietor and host Mrs. Christine Kostides, provided a unique spread of homemade and baked treats every morning. Just as well there are bicycles to cycle off some of the gorgeous Greek cakes and sweet treats. Mrs. Kostides is very knowledgeable of the island and its history and prepared to help in exceptional ways to make your stay not only comfortable, but also memorable. Thank-you so much!

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarieS443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

A boutique hotel in a beautifully restored building which used to house an olive press. Spacious tasteful rooms with attention to detail. Situated in a perfect quiet spot of VAthy just a minute away from the seafront bars & rests.
Freshly prepared breakfast every day served in a beautiful quiet terrace. A nice touch: the free
bicycles that guests can use to get
around! Staff & owner were very warm and helpful. Would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickygreektraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel is my idea of bliss - boutique, stylish, beautiful...but more than that, the team there are a delight. Christina and Makis makes sure their guests are happy and comfortable. It is incredible value - I would return in a blink. You feel safe yet you are given space to relax and the quiet is fantastic. Perfection.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This small boutique hotel is in an old olive oil press that has been lovingly converted maintaining much of it's original charm but incorporating modern touches that make it a comfortable place to stay. What sets is apart from other local hotels is the attention to detail which can be seen in everything from the room design and the organic bath products to the simple but delicious breakfasts with home made jam and fresh baked bread. The owner and her staff are warm, friendly and kind making this a wonderful place to relax and a great base from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillandNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
0.3 mi away
Perantzada 1811 Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Odyssey Apartments
Odyssey Apartments
#1 of 5 in Vathy
89 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nostos Hotel
Nostos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Frikes
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eumaeus Ithaca Villas
10.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mentor Hotel
Mentor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Vathy
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Familia

Property: Hotel Familia
Address: 60 Odysseus, Vathy 283 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Ithaca > Vathy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Familia is situated in the port of Vathy on the island of Ithaka and is housed in a completely renovated 1890's olive press.All visitors have the opportunity to enjoy an exceptional home-made breakfast in the hotel's small garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing