We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Nine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Nine Tavern

Back Nine Tavern
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Plantsville
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plantsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back Nine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very good bar & grill. Restaurant on a public golf course so it can be busy on golf days. Excellent pub food. Large portions. Very reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Summer but nice local option all year round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Love coming here with the wife and grabbing beers and pizza on the patio. Awesome sunset views and friendly staff. Haven't had a bad meal but am pushing the owner to expand beer selection. Pizza is terrific get the eggplant (red). We used the new event room for our dress rehearsal dinner. Thought the pricing was very fair. Like the location and fact has attached golf course. Owned by same family that runs Aqua Turf so standards are high. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatCT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbury, ct
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Passive-aggressive Bartender”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Several times I have met groups of friends here. Located on a golf course, it is set in a lovely location. Great sunsets. Sweet patios off of both ends of the bar for enjoyable al fresco dining. I have had the tuna buger( excellent) and salmon burger ( delicious). But I and several other people got an intestinal bug after the Salmon. Did not personally report it . But the real kicker was when I asked a friend of mine to meet me there after work. I asked the bartender for if they served any locally made craft beer. She said she she didn't know what a craft beer was.....REALLY??? So then I asked if she had any locally made beer...she pointed to the taps and said " they are all located right here".... uhm....was this an uneducatesd bartend or was this an act of passive- aggressive behavior. Either was I don't need an attitude ! Too bad, its on my way home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was awful... Food was blah!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went based on reading the reviews and a friends recommendation, we were so disappointed! The service was the worst... She basically threw the food at as and never checked on us or asked if we wanted anything... Food was below average..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bucket list restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I heard so many good things about this restaurant and have wanted to try it. Well, not a disappointment. It was in a beautiful location with fabulous landscaping. The view of the golf course and the distant hills with fall foliage was beautiful. Then there was a very nice menu and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The waitress provided very good and attentive service. It is still on the bucket list because I would like to try the rest if the menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Nine Tavern also viewed

Plantsville, Southington
 
Plantsville, Southington
Plantsville, Southington
 

Been to Back Nine Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing