We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town!!”

J Timothy's Taverne
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Plainville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Get here early, always busy but for good reason. Great atmosphere an food makes J Timothy's a can't miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tropguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    111
    40
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance , service and food not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I recently visited this restaurant with the idea of enjoying a meal by the fireplace. The hostess was pretty opinionated about we're we could sit and made us promise to leave within an hour. The food was confusing. A deep fried burger? I didn't get the point. A regular burger patty would have been better. Good cheddar ale soup, good onion straw and fries, although my fiancé bemoaned the absence of steak fries .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
412 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Uniformly Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Incredible wings. Worth the trip for the wings alone. Fun bar and lounge. Onion soup very good. Unique preparations of comfort foods. Never had a bad meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
378 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We were traveling and spent one night in the area. The Hampton Inn suggested this place. The service was excellent, food was very good and the prices were reasonable. The portions were huge too. The place is busy and has a festive atmosphere. What is not to like??? We would return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Busy Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The place was abuzz. Had lunch here during a busy time of year as it seemed like there were many Holiday celebrations going on but the service was excellent and the food was great. I had the deep fried burger (it only sounds greasy) and it was excellent as were the onion strings. Nice beer selection too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Timothy's Taverne also viewed

 

Been to J Timothy's Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing