We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB - do it!”
Review of Vero Pizza

Vero Pizza
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Plainville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
920 reviews
778 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“BYOB - do it!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are slowly working our way through the specialty pizza section of the menu. This visit we ordered a large (18”) Sophia's pizza which included cheese, pesto chicken and spinach. Pizzas topping are heavy so we limited ourselves to 2 slices each, but not to worry as there won't be any waste for I see pizza for lunch in the immediate future. I should mention the outer crust because it looked and tasted as if it might have been brushed with olive oil before baking - delicious. BTW - the owner continues his no charge BYOB policy so do it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The meaning of the Italian word Vero, which means true and authentic. Came true after having dinner here it as it was a great meal and a wonderful family atmosphere. As a first time having dinner here, I must say it will be now the place to go for delicious food and a "family" style dinner, What an enjoyable dinner, we showed up as a group of ten. The restaurant was busy. Time was around 830pm. It's so great to see a family run business these days do so well, people were in out getting take out and people were still coming in for dinner. The restaurant was very accommodating in having us all sit together. After about a 15-20 minutes wait, we were all seated together. We order garlic parmesan wings for an appetizer, they came quickly, they were full of flavor, juicy and meaty wings . Probably one of the best wings I have ever had. Then we ordered a few pizzas, all unique in there own way all delicious , tasty and very good. The workers were all very good, making sure if we needed anything or can we get you anything. This resurgent is b.y.o.b., package store literally right next to the restaurant. Vero pizza doesn't charge a corking fee. It was really a fun and great dinner. Also a big thank you to the owners , can't wait to visit "family" again for dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food and service were great and dining room very nice.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit. First was "to go" order, but second time chose to dine in. The dining room is very nice, service wonderful as was the food.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We LOVE Vero...”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I kind of hate to share, lest Vero becomes too crowded. But, on the other hand some lights just shouldn't be kept under a bushel.

Pizza used to be just a "what should we make tonight" substitute for us, but Vero has changed all that. Everything we have had over the course of many visits has been truly exceptional...and that means much more than pizza! Along with a bunch of exceptional and inventive (and delicious!) pizzas, there is a varied selection of Italian dinners and sandwiches and specials, all served either "to go," or as we prefer, to be eaten in their comfortable dining area.

The wait staff is ever friendly and accommodating, and, wait for it...Vero is BYO! Perfect!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

While visiting friends, we decided to pick up a couple of pizzas and a salad, so we gave Vero a try. The veggie pizza was covered with fresh zucchini, tomatoes, eggplant, roasted red peppers and more…beautiful & wonderfully tasty. The sausage & mushroom was equally outstanding with the sausage peeled into slices from a link. It worked great on the pizza. The salad was a special with a fine spring mix enhanced with walnuts, blue cheese, mandarin oranges and a delicious dressing. Ours was pickup but the restaurant had a nice feel for eating in also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thorstenveblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vero Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Vero Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing