We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolo Bakery

Bolo Bakery
Ranked #1 of 7 Bakeries in Plainville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very good breakfast choice if you are in Bristol, Farmington or Plainville. Location is in the center of town. Food is served quickly, it's tasty and unique. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tommybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
368 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An extraordinary breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

In a way I hesitate to write this review since this is such a small place with limited seating. The more people find out about this breakfast place the longer may be the line to get a table. We frequent this bakery at least one Sunday each month. I do not eat eggs so I always order a single pancake, a side of bacon, a fruit cup and decaf coffee. To be honest I haven't yet found a place that makes pancakes to my liking but since I bring my own real maple syrup, I find it tolerable. I wish we had a Pancake House like they have in San Diego. I would go there every Sunday. The bacon was thin but made to my perfection, well done and crunchy and the fruit cup was great. I stoled homfries from my wife's plate which were wonderful. The price of this breakfast was reasonable. We will return again next month.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
368 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Much deserved #1 rating on TA!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We try to come here for breakfast at least once a month. The food, service and prices can't be beat. What I can't understand is why this place is not SRO on a Sunday morning. Not that I mind that we didn't have to wait for a table. I usually like my bacon burnt and that is what I got without having to send it back. My blueberry pancake was just OK but I have yet to find a local restaurant that can equal my own homemade pancakes. If anybody knows of a place for great pancakes let me know. My wife's omelette was full of cheese and her home fries were spectacular. Lucky she shared them with me. We will be coming back for a repeat in a few weeks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot on a Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My son and I ate breakfast there and we both really enjoyed it. Great prices for the super great food you get here! My son had a breakfast sandwich and he loved it, great taste, large size and came out quick. He really loved the Boston Creme doughnut! He wanted more ! I had the blueberry pancakes and they were huge and tasted great too! We did but some goodies to take home with us and they look fantastic! The place is small so I could see it getting crowded at times. We were able to park easily on the street no problems there. Service was good, food came out quick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliefriesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable pastry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Another great addition to Plainville! We have now ordered 3 cakes for special occasions and have not been disappointed. Their red velvet cake is heavenly!

Helpful?
Thank qpcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolo Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bolo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing