We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pawcatuck
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, amazing stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I'm not sure why this hotel isn't getting amazing reviews from everyone! I booked La Quinta for a 2 night stay with my boyfriend. We were going to Misquamicut Beach and the casinos, so this hotel was perfect since it was close to everything we wanted to do. As soon as we pulled up I knew I picked a great place. It's gorgeous! The staff were friendly and gave us our room very quickly. The room was spectacular - very clean, and everything was brand new! It was also decorated very nicely, with matching carpeting/sheets/linens. The bathroom was a great size and I loved the shower. The La Quinta also has a nice indoor pool, an exercise room, a washer/dryer unit, and a beautiful contintental breakfast room. The entire hotel is decorated very beautifully, and it's an amazing place to stay. I never get good sleep in hotel beds, but I woke up feeling refreshed and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody who was thinking about going there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bb1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    97
    41
    22
    11
See reviews for
159
99
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the La Quinta. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was worthless. No phone books in the rooms, no guest book of what to do in the room. Ask the staff, they are clueless. No shuttle to the casino 7 miles away. Only one Taxi service services the La Quinta. Waited 40 minutes for yellow cab to bring us and 40 minutes back to the hotel for a whopping $60.00.
Had continental breakfast. The pancake batter was spoiled. When I told a staff member she said it is fresh this morning and walked away. Yes, my dear but the ingredients you used were bad... We took a vote in the dining room and everyone agreed it was spoiled. The staff lady was irritated because we interupted her while she was reading the newspaper which was the only one available.
No "Do Not Disturb" signs. They were limited and had to find one in a different room.
Plan on driving 10 to 15 minutes for anything except Dunkin Donuts. It is in the middle of no where.
I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkskyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Although the Hotel is New and Clean, I would not stay again due to the shortage of staff along with the lack of customer service. Normally i won't stay in a hotel that has a lot of bad remarks but in this case I said it's new and can't be that bad. We stayed one night and the service from the check in to some requested items was terrible. We payed over $200 for this place. i think it's the LLC Management company that is the problem. Not sure if they know what the hospitality business is like. Maybe they are in another business. anyway, beware. Another problem with the wind blowing the windows made a howling sound during the night. Not good. the fitness center had one each of three different machines which isn't a realy problem for a property this size, but the machines they purchase for there are cheap machines. My treadmill at home is better quality.Good luck

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsully0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Upon entering lobby we could not see a front desk person--when she got up she was not friendly, nor was she informative regarding any amenities hotel offers, etc. Later that day when asked if she could supply a plastic bag or bucket to carry ice in she replied "its in your room". Although hotel is brand new it will not be around much longer if it continues with the same front desk style that was displayed during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattie329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We arrived Saturday morning to check in and were informed that our reservation had been cancelled. This was untrue--while we did call to cancel our room for Friday night, we confirmed over the phone that we still had a room for Saturday night--clearly this was a mistake made by someone at La Quinta. We are reasonable people and understand that mistakes are made and technology sometimes has glitches. What we couldn't comprehend was the rudeness and lack of apology by the staff that ensued after this..... the woman at the desk did not apologize and seemed to think something was funny when she went on to say that the hotel was booked and there was nothing they could do. When we requested that they find alternative accommodations, as this was their mistake, she smirked and said, "well you shouldn't have canceled your room."
Finally she called her manager (at our request) on her cell phone. my husband spoke with him, explaining the situation, asking that he provide alternative accommodations (including transportation because we had a wedding to get to, for which transportation was being provided from la quinta). he begrudgingly agreed to pay the difference at a nearby motel (the type that has an hourly rate) but refused to provide transport because "he was doing us a favor." my husband tried to explain that he was not doing us a favor, he was simply correcting their mistake for which they had yet to apologize. the manager just kept repeating that we shouldn't have cancelled and refused to take responsibility for the mistake made on their end!
finally we ended up staying in our friend's room who was also staying there for the wedding... because we did not want to stay in some scary houry-rate motel down the road.
the rooms were actually pretty clean and modern... but i would never stay again because of the rude staff. god forbid something goes wrong with your reservation, trust me -- it will be deemed as your fault and nothing will be done on their end to correct the situation unless you beg and plead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed two nights in April 2010.
First the good - rooms spacious and new, breakfast free but seriously flawed, location convenient
Then the bad -
FOOD breakfast items on 2nd day reduced by 50% as some items were just not restocked. No one seemed in charge. We asked front desk if these items were available and were told, it is free, but we dont guarantee it.
Vending machines on all floors had 4 or 5 items with slots for 30 items, most beverage machine selections said 'try another selection' (empty)
ROOMS
Nice room . We checked in late and were greeted by a nice big bed. Halfway through the night I rolled over on something and found a baby pacifier. Our babies are grown; did a housekeeper have his/her baby on the bed while making it, or was it there from previous guests? Were the sheets changed or just straightened out. At breakfast we told the front desk and asked them to be sure sheets were changed. Before going out we went to the room to get our coats. We answered a knock at the door and a man was standing there. He seemed to not speak or understand English very well and kept repeating 'check out time'. We called the front desk and the lady said we were 10 minutes past checkout. We told her that we were staying for anothet night, and she said 'oh yes, ok check out tomorrow' and hung up. Again We told the guy at the door the same thing and he wouldnt leave; we finally said 'front desk' amd he finally walked away. This guy had no badge, no uniform, no ID. We mentioned that to front desk on our way out. Lady said 'he tells people if they have stayed past checkout, and she seemed unconcerned about the intrusion or lack of ID. We just left and returned at 10PM. Guess what? Linens had not been changed, room not cleaned, dirty towels still thete, garbage not emptied. No one available to make up room after 4 PM. We went and got new towels and new sheets and pillowcases (that we had to sign for) threw the sheet on the bed and went to sleep.
Next morning we had the aforementioned discussion about breakfast and returned to the room to collect our things and leave. We had to locate a luggage cart which they had ocked in a store room, and got loaded up and ready to leave. Another knock on the door 5 minutes before check out time. It was the same kind of spooky guy who again said 'check out' and waited outside the door til we left the room.
When leaving, we mentioned this all at the desk, and received the answer 'Is there a problem?'.
Despite how new and in many ways nice the hotel is, we felt that there priorities were way out of order. They had more concern over someone staying a minute past checkout, than they had about being sure that rooms were cleaned, breakfast was stocked, or guests were uncomfortable or insulted. It seems to be a question of a cultural mentality that feels as though everyone is beatng them out of something, and a complete ignorance of our country's courtesies and norms.
Nice newer hotel, but not so nice that we'd put up with the rudeness, lack of hygiene, and adversarial attitude of us 'beating them' out of something. We'll take a pass on a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

me and my husband were in the area visiting some friends and we decided to stay at the stonington location. The staff were helpful and very nice with accomidating us with our room and were speedy and accurate at check in. In the morning the free breakfast was pretty great considering it was complimentary. The ftness room is perfect just what we needed and the indoor pools is spectacular. Our room was very clean and spacious and we loved the beds. I would recommend anyone who was thinking of staying to book a reservation. You just cant beat the price for an outstanding stay!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikirae6188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawcatuck
5.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
306 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
770 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
816 reviews
6.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
5.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#9 of 17 in Westerly
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Address: 349 Liberty St, Pawcatuck, CT 06379-1334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Pawcatuck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pawcatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington Hotel Pawcatuck
La Quinta Inn And Suites Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing