We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel new, clean good $99 night hotel, skeleton staff, poor cust service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pawcatuck
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Although the Hotel is New and Clean, I would not stay again due to the shortage of staff along with the lack of customer service. Normally i won't stay in a hotel that has a lot of bad remarks but in this case I said it's new and can't be that bad. We stayed one night and the service from the check in to some requested items was terrible. We payed over $200 for this place. i think it's the LLC Management company that is the problem. Not sure if they know what the hospitality business is like. Maybe they are in another business. anyway, beware. Another problem with the wind blowing the windows made a howling sound during the night. Not good. the fitness center had one each of three different machines which isn't a realy problem for a property this size, but the machines they purchase for there are cheap machines. My treadmill at home is better quality.Good luck

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsully0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

Upon entering lobby we could not see a front desk person--when she got up she was not friendly, nor was she informative regarding any amenities hotel offers, etc. Later that day when asked if she could supply a plastic bag or bucket to carry ice in she replied "its in your room". Although hotel is brand new it will not be around much longer if it continues with the same front desk style that was displayed during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattie329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We arrived Saturday morning to check in and were informed that our reservation had been cancelled. This was untrue--while we did call to cancel our room for Friday night, we confirmed over the phone that we still had a room for Saturday night--clearly this was a mistake made by someone at La Quinta. We are reasonable people and understand that mistakes are made and technology sometimes has glitches. What we couldn't comprehend was the rudeness and lack of apology by the staff that ensued after this..... the woman at the desk did not apologize and seemed to think something was funny when she went on to say that the hotel was booked and there was nothing they could do. When we requested that they find alternative accommodations, as this was their mistake, she smirked and said, "well you shouldn't have canceled your room."
Finally she called her manager (at our request) on her cell phone. my husband spoke with him, explaining the situation, asking that he provide alternative accommodations (including transportation because we had a wedding to get to, for which transportation was being provided from la quinta). he begrudgingly agreed to pay the difference at a nearby motel (the type that has an hourly rate) but refused to provide transport because "he was doing us a favor." my husband tried to explain that he was not doing us a favor, he was simply correcting their mistake for which they had yet to apologize. the manager just kept repeating that we shouldn't have cancelled and refused to take responsibility for the mistake made on their end!
finally we ended up staying in our friend's room who was also staying there for the wedding... because we did not want to stay in some scary houry-rate motel down the road.
the rooms were actually pretty clean and modern... but i would never stay again because of the rude staff. god forbid something goes wrong with your reservation, trust me -- it will be deemed as your fault and nothing will be done on their end to correct the situation unless you beg and plead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed two nights in April 2010.
First the good - rooms spacious and new, breakfast free but seriously flawed, location convenient
Then the bad -
FOOD breakfast items on 2nd day reduced by 50% as some items were just not restocked. No one seemed in charge. We asked front desk if these items were available and were told, it is free, but we dont guarantee it.
Vending machines on all floors had 4 or 5 items with slots for 30 items, most beverage machine selections said 'try another selection' (empty)
ROOMS
Nice room . We checked in late and were greeted by a nice big bed. Halfway through the night I rolled over on something and found a baby pacifier. Our babies are grown; did a housekeeper have his/her baby on the bed while making it, or was it there from previous guests? Were the sheets changed or just straightened out. At breakfast we told the front desk and asked them to be sure sheets were changed. Before going out we went to the room to get our coats. We answered a knock at the door and a man was standing there. He seemed to not speak or understand English very well and kept repeating 'check out time'. We called the front desk and the lady said we were 10 minutes past checkout. We told her that we were staying for anothet night, and she said 'oh yes, ok check out tomorrow' and hung up. Again We told the guy at the door the same thing and he wouldnt leave; we finally said 'front desk' amd he finally walked away. This guy had no badge, no uniform, no ID. We mentioned that to front desk on our way out. Lady said 'he tells people if they have stayed past checkout, and she seemed unconcerned about the intrusion or lack of ID. We just left and returned at 10PM. Guess what? Linens had not been changed, room not cleaned, dirty towels still thete, garbage not emptied. No one available to make up room after 4 PM. We went and got new towels and new sheets and pillowcases (that we had to sign for) threw the sheet on the bed and went to sleep.
Next morning we had the aforementioned discussion about breakfast and returned to the room to collect our things and leave. We had to locate a luggage cart which they had ocked in a store room, and got loaded up and ready to leave. Another knock on the door 5 minutes before check out time. It was the same kind of spooky guy who again said 'check out' and waited outside the door til we left the room.
When leaving, we mentioned this all at the desk, and received the answer 'Is there a problem?'.
Despite how new and in many ways nice the hotel is, we felt that there priorities were way out of order. They had more concern over someone staying a minute past checkout, than they had about being sure that rooms were cleaned, breakfast was stocked, or guests were uncomfortable or insulted. It seems to be a question of a cultural mentality that feels as though everyone is beatng them out of something, and a complete ignorance of our country's courtesies and norms.
Nice newer hotel, but not so nice that we'd put up with the rudeness, lack of hygiene, and adversarial attitude of us 'beating them' out of something. We'll take a pass on a return visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

me and my husband were in the area visiting some friends and we decided to stay at the stonington location. The staff were helpful and very nice with accomidating us with our room and were speedy and accurate at check in. In the morning the free breakfast was pretty great considering it was complimentary. The ftness room is perfect just what we needed and the indoor pools is spectacular. Our room was very clean and spacious and we loved the beds. I would recommend anyone who was thinking of staying to book a reservation. You just cant beat the price for an outstanding stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikirae6188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

me and a couple of my friends stayed a couple of nights during the week to see the mystic area which was only a few minutes away. the hotel was very beautiful when you first walk in. the rooms were gorgeous and very spacious. the beds were so comfy and the the housekeeping was great! Breakfast in the morning was really great considering it was a free and the staff was excilent and very friendly i would reccomend this hotel to everyone back home! reading the reviews on the internet they are very mixed, but coming here it was so great and i would rated it 100%

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamabear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel this past weekend. The hotel is brand new, so new that they were still putting up outdoor lights during our stay. The staff is friendly but is badly in need of training. Housekeeping did not clean our room after our first night. When we called the front desk, we were told "I guess they forgot" and were told there was nothing that they could do since it was 4 PM. This is a completely unacceptable response! We booked through Travelocity and the front desk staff did not know how to deal with this when we tried to check out. After standing there for nearly ten minutes while the two front desk staff whispered to each other about things to try to get the computer to check us out, I asked if we could just leave and they told us they would mail a receipt which has not arrived 4 days later.

The breakfast was included and was pretty good. There is a waffle maker where you can make your own fresh waffles, a selection of breads and bagels and a toaster, bran muffins, hard boiled eggs, a couple kinds of sugared cereal, packs of oatmeal, and orange and cranberry juices. We had to ask at the front desk for them to find cups for coffee and had to ask again for them to get more syrup. There was yogurt the first morning but none the second. It seemed that no one was monitoring the breakfast area even though it is directly off the lobby.

Also, the walls between rooms are very thin. People in the next room came in at 11:30 PM, and they were having a conversation that was on the loud side of normal. It sounded like they were right in our room. You could hear every word!

The hotel is a good value compared to other options in the Mystic area. It's about 10-15 minute ride to Mystic Seaport. The staff needs a lot more training in how things should be run.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuttleyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawcatuck
6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
959 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
222 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
814 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington

Address: 349 Liberty St, Pawcatuck, CT 06379-1334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Pawcatuck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pawcatuck
Price Range: $88 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Stonington
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington Hotel Pawcatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing