We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
48
64
45
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
48
64
45
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outback steakhouse new haven west campus smelled damp business trip starbucks coffee sports channels baseball tournament top floor off the highway convenient location king room place to sleep fitness center stayed here for one night rooms were very clean mini fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 190 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2019

The Hotel Manager informed me that Marriott is now pumping fragrance through the lobby and air vents in the public spaces throughout their hotels. This property had an awful vanilla scent that would stick to your clothing even if you spent a short amount of time in the lobby. In addition, we rented two rooms, one of which had an overpowering strong fragrance that would be best described as mustard. It was gross. I've been a loyal Marriott customer for many years but am now switching brands as my last few stays at various properties have generally sucked. If you are sensitive or have allergies to fragrance avoid this property.

Room tip: Rooms on back side of hotel are quieter
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1234person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

I had been staying in this hotel for work purposes over the course of several months on a weekly basis. I have broken down some pros and cons for ease.

Pros:
Front desk staff is kind and attentive
Manager is attentive and friendly
Rooms are clean
Location is right off a major highway
Food and drink are decent, but not always consistent

Cons:
No room service
Dining menu is small
Gym is very small with just two treadmills
Some newer staff members (as of July or August) don’t seem to be trained well at the dining/ breakfast time. They don’t know how to properly make a Starbucks coffee and the way some items in the breakfast menu are served are different depending on who served you. My advice would be to better train your staff in dining area so everyone is on the same page.
Some staff behind the dining counter don’t seem like they should be working in hospitality, and sometimes make you feel as if you’re in their way or as if they are doing you a big favor just by doing their jobs.

Overall, good and convenient location for business and clean rooms, staff could use better training.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank ManalSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mferg6, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Orange/Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Dear ManalSQ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay at the Courtyard New Haven Orange/Milford.

One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest I apologize that we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay.

Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our focus on loyal customers like yourself.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Orange.

Sincerely,
MIKE FERGUSON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

Stayed here for 3 nights while my daughter had an event at Yale. Good option in terms of price and easy access to New Haven, with lots of food choices a short drive away. Far enough from highway that you won't get much noise, especially if you get an inward, courtyard facing room (even numbered rooms).
Sound insulation between rooms is poor and is more evident when you go from one night with no neighbors to a fuller hotel. Pick top floor to avoid sound from floor above as well.
The bathroom itself is the loudest generator of sound I have ever experienced at a hotel. Flush the toilet and the turbo flush is equivalent to a jet launching. Since the sink is outside the actual toilet room, the light switch is outside the toilet. Turn on the light and the fan wakes up the room and the neighbors! The fan is so strong that it actually pulls up the smell of your business past your nose while you are seated. Bring a small flashlight so you don't have to turn it on for middle of the night visits.

Room tip: Top floor and even numbered room to face courtyard
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beach_Volley_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Orange/Milford, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2019

Dear Beach Volley Dude,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback caught my attention. We’re sorry the various hotel noises kept you awake. Your feedback has been shared with the team to help us improve our service and product.

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard New Haven Orange/Milford and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Orange.

Mike Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

This hotel offers free shuttle to and from West Campus. The room size is more spacious than the Courtyard in New Haven. Free parking on site. There’s an Outback restaurant onsite. The location is very convenient if you are visiting the West Campus.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank PoySak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for Homecoming, and my stay was great! The hotel is very clean, and the rates are excellent. It is very convenient to where I needed to go, the room and fitness center are great.

In addition, the staff at the hotel are very welcoming and helpful. I will definitely stay here again when I visit the area. Top notch for sure!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jaybird2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews