We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service and waitress no personality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina

On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Orange
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow service and waitress no personality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went early for a drink and a few dishes to share. Our waitress appeared shortly and we ordered from Happy Hour drinks and menu. The drinks were wrong to start. We waited a while for chips and dips. No plates or silverware on the table and when food came we still had to go back and ask for the plates etc. the main courses were incorrect also by which time we gave up. One dish arrived long after the other 3. We had three different servers one being man at door who apologised. I wouldn't hurry back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    20
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow and over priced for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

It's location was convenient to I-95, food was good quality but lunch portions bordered on the very small without being very low cost vs dinner entrees, and service was friendly but slow.

Order off the dinner menu and tell them you are in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank Brwyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad, but atmosphere was boring.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My title sounds weird, but let me explain. The place was nice, but not the atmosphere I wanted. I would have liked some background Spanish music to set the mood better. The salsa was not good. It was just sauce with spice, no veggies, like real salsa. The frozen mango margarita was awesome and our waiter was very nice. I had the fajitas the came with chicken, steak, shrimp and carnitas. U was pleasantly surprised. The flavor was good and the amount was filling. So all in all it was not bad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morena523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vegetarian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The experiment with tortilla with salsa sauce and another cheesy dip was a good starter. Followed by some sort of rolls filled with green avocados and one more dish with corn and mushrooms. On the whole it was pleasant Mexican vegetarian delight. Certainly we enjoyed the wholesome meal for a change.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Satsangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Depends…”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The food is slightly above average, the ambiance / atmosphere is typical corporate, but the staff is solid. Friendly, appreciative, attentive, respectful and dedicated, with an enormous acceptation for their Monday night bartender, Doug. His demeanor, attitude, stature and deliverance is condescending, disrespectful, unknowledgeable, and out right awful. The staff otherwise is excellent, and makes up for the mediocre (at best) food, but never come on a Monday night.

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing