We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Service, Fun Atmosphere, OK Food”
Review of Puerto Vallarta

Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 82 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GREAT Service, Fun Atmosphere, OK Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stopped in recently for fajitas. The service was WONDERFUL - really excellent. Great setting as well. The food was not so good. Ordered the fajita quesadilla; beef wasn't tender and half of the quesadilla didn't even have meat in it (lots of cheese). I've definitely had better Mexican. Still, I'd give them another try - just get a different dish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNCGeechieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second time and out!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went for lunch on fathers day. We were seated immediately and there wasn't a huge crowd when we first arrived however it took a long time to finally have a waitress stop by the table. She did not introduce herself and seemed to be a bit unprofessional not used to that, in most places the server introduces them self etc.. So we are there for the food right? Well the service got worse. It was forever before she came back to take our order which would have been alright if the place was jammed. Little things like not refilling the water glasses and then asking if we wanted more chips and salsa and never bringing them. Mainly it was the time she took as we watched her doing next to nothing. We commented on the poor service to each other as we waited and when the food finally arrived the pork in my husbands burrito was terrible. He swore it was from a can what little there was of it. Kind of like chicken in a can. In fact he ate only about a quarter of it and for the first time in his life he didn't take it home. The other dinners were chicken fajitas, very bland no seasoning at all. Will not be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank machr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here. Lively atmosphere and colourful decor. Staff pleasant and attentive.
Good variety on the menu and all very tasty and reasonably prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went to Puerto Vallarta with my wife. We had been there before and had a bad experience, but thought maybe they had a bad night, so we tried it again. Wish we hadn't and we'll never go again. Terrible margaritas, sub-par food. Nothing authentic here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Being from California it's hard to find locations that are like real Mexican Food in the West Haven area. Puerto Vallarta hits the spot when we are visiting the area. Came on a Saturday night so our wait time was about 45 minutes but it was worth the wait. Portions are good size. Had the carne asada which was cooked perfect & mouth watering. A suggestion I offer to those who want hotter sauce with a "kick", you need to ask for it. Also to the management, please add Hortchata to the menu...kids like it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1travelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Vallarta also viewed

 

Been to Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing