We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit to Trean House”
Review of Trean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trean House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecemy B&B and Inns
Harrogate
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Return Visit to Trean House”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I first visited Trean House with my son (then 11) and we promised we'd come back with my husband which we did on this visit. We were greeted like old friends, especially by Finn and Spike the beautiful, friendly, well behaved dogs, and straight away offered tea and homemade goodies in the lovely sitting room. Joyce then lit a lovely turf fire for us and I could have settled there for the rest of my stay!
Once again we were blessed with good weather so we saw Trean and the beautiful 'couldn't make it up' area around it in all its beauty.
We had a family room with a view out the back window. Lovely comfy beds again and a nice bathroom.
As this is a second review and our stay was just as good as our first, I feel I don't need to go into great detail but what I really do want to say is what a fabulous, welcoming, cosy place this is to spend a few nights. Children will love it too as both Joyce and Mervyn are very happy to get them involved with the animals. Our son just loved being able to bottle feed the lambs.
As on our last stay, we met some other lovely guests and spent time chatting in the sitting room. This place just brings out the best in people! It's so cosy it makes you feel just like you're at home.
Last word though has to go to our hosts Joyce and Mervyn, such a genuine, warm, engaging, couple who are so willing to share their advice and knowledge of their part of the world.
Once again, so sad to have left Trean House and would loved to have been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iggymarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Trean House in March of 2014. We took advantage of their 3 nights special deal for €60 per night for the on-suite room. What we got was a whole lot more. We arrived very late and Joyce was there and welcomed us to the B&B. We had the lounge to ourselves with a burning log fire and fantastically set up space. In fact, every night we came back to the b&b the fire was on as if waiting for us. The hospitality was also second to none. Joyce was always available, giving advise on local places to visit and if we needed anything at all. The breakfast room, lounge, common spaces, our room and bathroom were also immaculately clean which we really liked. The room itself was a very good size and the bed was very comfortable. It was also heating at night and in the morning. In short, we enjoyed our stay at Trean House tremendously and would recommend anyone to stay there in Inishowen.

Room Tip: choose the special deal they have on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnavdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Trean House and some friends stayed there with us for the first 3 nights. We were originally going to spend only 3 nights there, but it was so wonderful that we decided to stay longer! We arrived in the evening and had a cup of tea in the coziest, quietest living room you could dream of: cushy armchairs, turf fire in the fireplace, lots of books, a piano, etc. Not only is the house very charming, with its orchard and flowers, it is also situated in a gorgeous area, surrounded by green fields, stone walls, a pretty little stream, the ocean close by, etc. You can walk to a beautiful beach within minutes. The room and its bathroom are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable, the breakfast/ coffee very good, and of course, the owners, Joyce and Mervyn were very nice hosts, they took the time to chat with us, and gave us good advice as to what to see in Inishowen, what were the nice routes to take, etc. This is also a working farm, and it was very interesting to learn more about the animals and see all the (very cute) newborn lambs. So, to sum it up, we found it to be a very special place, and we would be delighted to spend some time there again in the future. Don't hesitate to consult their website, it will give you a good idea of the house, the area, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We could only stay three nights and it was not nearly enough time. We were there at the end of September and had the house to ourselves- our room was beautiful, clean and for two
people who get up every day at 5 am in "real life" we found ourselves sleeping until 9 am!
Breakfast was delicious- Mr and Mrs Norris were perfect hosts- the countryside must be
what heaven looks like-the village of Carrowmenagh has a pub which is open on the weekend-you can perfect "the Donegal wave" as you pass someone in the car-please don't miss Kinnego Bay or you will hate yourself. A visit to the Doagh Famine Village is worth the scary
roads to get there. I want to go back right now......

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWINDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the 10th year we have visited Inishowen and for the last 9 we have stayed at Trean house. Mervyn & Joyce are the perfect hosts and have a beautiful and welcoming home with a wonderful garden and surroundings. The tea and scones on our arrival are always the sign that the holiday has begun . Breakfast is a real treat and makes a great start to the day. The location is perfect for either a relaxing break or a lot of sightseeing with some amazing beaches in the area, maybe you too could be as lucky as we were and see Dolphins in the nearby Kinnego bay . I cannot recommend it highly enough and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLUM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights with Joyce and Mervyn starting September 2, 2013. A very close friend recommended Trean House and he did not brag enough about the hospitality offered by Joyce and Mervyn. We had never stayed at a farm bed and breakfast before and were amazed at the sounds of sheep and cattle from the fields near the farm house. They gave us excellent recommendations for dinner and sightseeing in the area. They have a special place right by the ocean and their dogs are very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were only at Trean House for one day- would have loved to stay longer! My kids enjoyed going to the beach with Fin and Spike (their dogs) and they also enjoyed playing in the large yard and on the swing. Comfy beds, very clean, good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lecemy
4.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riversdale Country House B&B
Riversdale Country House B&B
#39 of 268 in County Donegal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Glen House
The Glen House
#1 of 2 in Clonmany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inishowen Lodge
Inishowen Lodge
#1 of 11 in Moville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Strand B&B
White Strand B&B
#1 of 3 in Malin Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trean House

Property: Trean House
Address: Tremone, Lecemy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Lecemy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecemy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trean House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trean House B&B is a charming farmhouse bed and breakfast, situated on the scenic Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal. Relax and enjoy your stay in beautiful countryside surroundings. Experience life on a family run working farm, or unwind with a leisurely stroll to the sandy beach only a 5 minute walk away. After your day exploring the local area, put your feet up in front of a welcoming open fire. Only a short drive from Culdaff and Moville. Recommended in Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Trean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing