We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return and recommend”
Review of Trean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trean House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecemy B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely location, very friendly welcome with tea and home-made scones and cookies upon arrival. Beautiful garden, elegant but cosy room, delicious breakfast with home-made bread, jam and marmalade (although a better quality sausage would have been more appreciated, if we're being very picky.....).

Lovely dogs who came with us on our walk to the beach, which is a five minute walk down the road and very beautiful and dramatic.

Joyce, the owner, looked after us very well and we would definitely love to come back. A lovely find.

We ate at McGrory's pub in nearby Culdaff and the food was excellent. Live Music on a Friday evening was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were looking for a B&B in the neighbourhood, came upon Trean House by coincidence and could only stay 1 night. We immediately felt at home, took a walk with the lovely dogs, admired the beautiful garden and enjoyed the friendliness of our hosts. A place to stay longer and/or to come back to.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 3511nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in July 2009 and I have been meaning to write a review ever since because we have never been made to feel more welcome, or enjoyed staying in a place as much as we had here. We just stayed the one night on our journeys around Ireland and both felt that we could have stayed a week; the local beach is a perfect spot for families with small children, plenty of sand, just a short walk from the farmhouse and is basically your own private beach. The house was very comfortable and kept to the highest standards, the food divine and we was impressed with what the whole of Inishowen had to offer

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of the best B&Bs I have ever been to - nice and clean rooms, quiet, lovely hosts, superb breakfast! It ist just a short walk to the beach - Spike the dog will bring you there!
The countryside is outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at this truly exceptional bed and breakfast tucked in the north of Inishowen. Attention to detail; Joyce's warm and non-fussing hospitality; spacious, comfortable room and a fresh and filling breakfast every morning really made this the nicest bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed in. As an extra bonus, Mervyn gave 2 townies a very informative, interesting walk around the farm one rainy morning. Trean House is an ideal location for touring this part of Donegal. We particularly fell in love with Culdaff beach and found the "Famine Village" at Doagh very interesting. The ferry from Greencastle to Magilligan opens up the Giant's Causeway and North Antrim Coast.
Thank you Joyce and Mervyn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When my son and I arrived at Trean House, we were greeted by Joyce's mother who had taken over hostess duties for the day while Joyce was away. She made us tea and gave us the most marvelous scones. My son made himself at home playing the vintage piano in the parlour. Our room was perfect, overlooking lush and beautiful gardens. We tucked our things away and made our way to the beach, just a few minutes away, where we found limpet shells and sheep's wool left along the upper path. The views of the bay were stunning. We had dinner at McGrory's, just a few minutes away and came back to an utterly quiet and peaceful room. The next day we ventured out to Fort Dunree and Grianan of Aileach which were monumental in both history and breathtaking views. Breakfast was fresh and filling. My son said goodbye to Joyce and Mervyn's lovely dogs. Of all the places we stayed in Ireland, this was my favourite.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at Trean House! All are lovely. Our room had a private bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

this is the second time we've been to Trean House and it is a really gorgeous place, a great location and the hosting is second to none. made extra-special by regular appearances by spike and finn! we would recommend it to anyone for service, comfort, cleanliness and its proximity to some of the most beautiful beaches ever!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annanewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trean House

Address: Tremone, Lecemy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Lecemy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecemy
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trean House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trean House B&B is a charming farmhouse bed and breakfast, situated on the scenic Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal. Relax and enjoy your stay in beautiful countryside surroundings. Experience life on a family run working farm, or unwind with a leisurely stroll to the sandy beach only a 5 minute walk away. After your day exploring the local area, put your feet up in front of a welcoming open fire. Only a short drive from Culdaff and Moville. Recommended in Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Trean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing