We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!”
Review of Trean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trean House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecemy B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My mom and I started our Ireland holiday at Trean House. And what a start! The house was beautiful, our room was lovely and comfortable, and our hostess, Joyce, was a real gem! She had a fire going when we arrived, and served up a wonderful tea service with homemade biscuits and jam! What a treat after a 7 hour flight and 6 hour drive. The location was magnificent! The beach was a short stroll away, and we found plenty to do on the Inishowen Peninsula. Our breakfast was yummy and filling! We were sad to leave after our 3 night stay here - we will definitely be back! I highly recommend Trean House! For those that do go - Moville has a wonderful bar and restaurant called Rosato's - we ate there twice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Trean House. The rooms are tidy and very comfortable. It's a charming atmosphere and we felt almost like at home. The family dog brought us to the beach.... ok, could have been that we had lovely sandwiches with us.
Anyway, don't bother and stay there - it's worth its money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tanja31031980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were very glad having arrived on inishowen peninsula's Trean house. A really nice farm situated very close to tremone bay. It was lovely and quiet. A nice border collie, Spike, gave us a warm welcome! The garden looked awesome with all the flowers and we had a nice view from our room to this place. In the evening the lounge room was heated by peat in the fireplace which made our stay absolutely comfortable. We will absolutely come back to this nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChantalB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a really great B and B, at a very reasonable price. The rooms are large and well appointed, and there's also cosy living room for guests where you can sit in front of the fire with a cup of tea. The hosts are extremely accommodating and pleasant. The best bit about Trean House, though, is the location. It's a picturesque farmhouse with a pleasant garden and orchard to the front, and fields tumbling down to the Atlantic at the back. A 10 minute walk takes to you to a sandy beach, which, when we stayed, we had all to ourselves - bar Spike, the B and B's dog, who'd led the way. The only downside, potentially, is the remoteness. We had to drive 30 minutes to get to a restaurant. If that isn't an issue - and you probably shouldn't be on Inishowen if it is - recommended unreservedly.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank toms96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Trean House is an incredible hidden gem. We were so happy to have found this farmhouse as it really was one of the highlights of our trip. Joyce, Mervyn and Spike were all excellent hosts. The place is a bit off the beaten path, but that's what makes it so special...it is a true getaway! Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable and clean; breakfast was delicious, and the setting was beautiful. It was perfect....we just could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We spent a very memorable few days in this wonderful farm house in beautiful surroundings. The house, accomodation, gardens and food were all very authentic and we had a really great time. I would recommend Trean House to people looking for the real Irish farm house experience in Donegal. It is a great place to use as a base to travel around the beautiful Inishowen penisula. We will be back. Justin & Catherine.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Joyce, Mervyn & Spike were outstanding hosts. Joyce's breakfast spoiled us on b&b's the rest of the trip... the other 3 we stayed at were compared to Trean House. Joyce & Mervyn were so nice and interesting to talk to. The room was beautiful, shower had great pressure (some we stayed at we were lucky to have lukewarm water) and breakfast was delicious. Spike was a fun guide to the beach. Their recommendation for dinner at a pub in Culdaff was tasty. I wish we could have spent more time relaxing here. It's worth the drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silsbee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trean House

Address: Tremone, Lecemy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Lecemy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecemy
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trean House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trean House B&B is a charming farmhouse bed and breakfast, situated on the scenic Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal. Relax and enjoy your stay in beautiful countryside surroundings. Experience life on a family run working farm, or unwind with a leisurely stroll to the sandy beach only a 5 minute walk away. After your day exploring the local area, put your feet up in front of a welcoming open fire. Only a short drive from Culdaff and Moville. Recommended in Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Trean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing