We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
GUTHRIE
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Trip”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and it was not bad. Nothing fancy, just a clean room. It was The best Inn in the area without paying $500. a night. Saw license plates from everywhere so I guess others had the same idea. Nice little breakfast comes with your stay,

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay. We are in the process of renovating and upgrading our rooms, hallways, pool area and grounds to further impress our guests. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future!

S. Haight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    90
    53
    26
    28
See reviews for
119
73
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I have come back to the Old Saybrook Comfort Inn several times and each time I do it gets better.
The pool area was updated since last I was here,the walls and carpet have been updated.

The change in management of the place has gone in the right direction from previous management.The last guy here Brad was a bizarre individual, glad he was gone.
The people seem happier.
The location is right by the water and the Back Porch Restaurant on the scenic Connecticut River.
There is also a walking/ biking trail over the Baldwin Bridge practically outside the front door.
They have a bar that serves good there too if you don't feel like leaving . I would totally recommend the place

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Knowyourrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I have recently joined the team here as the new General Manager and I am glad that we are providing you with a great experience. I will be doing everything possible to make sure that the level of service continues to impress. Thank you again! Steven H. GM Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Its a place to sleep and take a shower. Its an older hotel / motel thats right off the highway. Great if you are coming from far away with your boat to fish CT river or Long Island Sound. Many characters roaming around, some live there for months. Its typical of a highway motel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLC10756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would agree that we are a great place to stay if you are coming for a fishing trip. We are also a great place to stay if you are coming to visit the Essex steam train, Mystic, casino's, various local museums, or just to see family and friends. We are currently in the process of upgrading our halls, rooms, pool area etc. and I feel we are offering great customer service as well. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a great stay and an experience more than just a place to sleep.

Best Regards,

S. Haight
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife at the end of December 2014. We were going to see Prince at Mohegan Sun Casino. We were driving from NYC and had decided to stay the night, but prices were over $500 for a room at Mohegan Sun, so we decided to look around the vicinity as we would only be in the room for less than 8 hours. We decided to stay here as the price was very affordable, only 30 minutes from Mohegan Sun and right off I-95. Check in was fast and easy. We were given a room on the first floor. The room was pretty spacious. The room had a flat panel TV, a refrigerator and a microwave. The room seemed a little dated, and there was some peeling paint in the bathroom. Breakfast was included, which was a basic breakfast which
wasn't that great. Some of the cooked food items were cold. Decided to just have cereal and english muffin. Overall an OK hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We use this information to make sure that we are providing our guests with the best experience possible. I have recently joined the team here and along with ownership we are making improvements to our product and service every day. The rooms are being renovated and repaired where needed and amenities like our free breakfast are being evaluated to better serve the guest. We hope to see you stay with us again!

Best Regards,

Steven H.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Always stay here for a mini getaway. Customer service is great. Rooms are clean. Its always quiet. Rates are reasonable. They have a indoor pool that is clean. I always request a late check out and they are always very accommodating. They do offer breakfast but I haven't tried it so not sure how good it is. I def will return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arreis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for continuing to chose our hotel. I have recently joined the team here as the new General Manager and I am glad that we are providing you with a great experience. I will be doing everything possible to make sure that the level of service continues to impress.

Thank you again!

Steven H.
GM Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel in Old Saybrook is less than 30 minutes from the casinos and Mystic seaport. It has a wonderful staff and the complimentary breakfast has many chioces from hot oatmeal, eggs and sausage, and waffles to chose from. We stay here several times a year and it is always a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomjoad461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to all of us here at the Comfort Inn. We do in fact have a great location and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years and it has improved markedly since our original stay years ago. The hotel has been ongoing renovation over at least the past three years and now appears to be completed. Rooms are large, bathroom is average size. Room had a refrigerator and LG flat screen TV. Beds are comfortable. Heat is a unit which switches on and off so if you are a light sleeper that may bother you but it didn't bother us. Furniture is new, bathrooms totally re-done, new carpeting and emergency lighting in the hallways along with in general improved lighting in the hallways. Guest laundry looked upgraded. Breakfast is included with the price of the room and has the usual array of cereals, eggs, coffee, tea, juice, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, donuts, Danish etc. Ladies who work the room are friendly and helpful and offer to make waffles if that's your thing. Place was clean throughout and the desk staff was helpful and friendly. Manager was on premises and came into breakfast room to ask guests if all was OK.
This hotel is going to become a Quality Inn in April -- still in the Choice family of hotels so not certain what this means in regard to the future operation. I suspect that age has just caught up with this hotel even though it's been upgraded and is still a very good option when in OS but I suspect that having stayed in new Comfort Inns or Comfort Inns and Suites -- this property no longer reflects what Choice wants their Comfort Inns to project. This was built years ago as a Howard Johnsons -- so it's been around for a number of years -- but I emphasize again -- it's a very affordable, well-run, and updated property and I will stay here again when in Old Saybrook.

Room Tip: This hotel is located in a semi-residential area far enough from any large highways that would creat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veneto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am always glad when I am able to speak directly with our guests. The owners of this property are always looking to make improvements and move forward in providing the best product and service possible. It has been my pleasure to become the new GM here and I feel confident that our property will continue to impress.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
2.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
138 reviews
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
65 reviews
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook

Property: Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Address: 100 Essex Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Old Saybrook (NOW 100% Non Smoking Hotel) is conveniently located off of I-95. The Quality Inn is just minutes from many great attractions including: Essex Steam Train, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods casino, Mystic, Goodspeed Opera house, Hammonasset beach state park, and downtown Essex. Discover spacious and comfortable accomodations at the Quality Inn Old Saybrook. We are proud to offer well-appointed guestrooms that feature a number of great amenities such as, free wireless high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television channels, premium bath amenities, free local calls, and free 24-hour coffee and tea in our lobby. Start off your day with our free hot, fresh and healthy continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, and so much more! Relax, unwind and enjoy in our large indoor heated salt water pool. Business travelers can take care of all their needs with access to copy and fax services, lobby business center and our Fitness room. Great location, affordable rates and superior accommodations make the Quality Inn Old Saybrook your top choice in lodging for Old Saybrook hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Old Saybrook
Comfort Inn Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing