We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Alternatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Old Saybrook Point inn is a classic example of "No Alternatives". If you look at old saybrooks choice of hotels to stay in only the B & B's have some charm all others are Days Inn, Comfort inn type hotels. The hotel capitalizes on this by advertising itself as a luxury inn. The only problem is they don't have the vision or the required money invested to be a luxury resort. The location is very good and the restaurant is quite good as well...although pricey...would do better to go down the street to Liv's Oyster Bar or Jacks..places have food that is just as good and is a lot more fun than the old traditional stuffy new england expensive dinner. The spa is what you might find at a nice Holiday Inn not a luxury spa. When you think luxury spa you might think , Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Park Hyatts, Topnotch, vt etc...this isn't in the same league...which is okay if you are not paying those prices and it isn't advertised that way...The pools are fine but tiny...outside the pool is always underheated unless it is mid summer, there is a tiny pool deck that is frequently crowded with locals, marina people and hotel guests, the pool deck inside is hazardous (slippery) the sauna and steam are utilitarian....(functional not luxurious) Overall a two and a half star experience....the rooms are nice but weddings can interfere...the staff is fine but again, not trained the way the staffs are trained at the true four and five star resorts...this resort should charge around 89-129 a night and be carefull the way it advertises itself. If it wants to be luxury they need to spend the big money in investment and hire world class people...consumers are getting smarter today and know the difference. Look at any review sites that are talking about this hotel, many many people are citing concerns about this property...not all but many...as a consumer be aware that this place charges too much for what it says it offers....of course there is no alternatives on the shoreline between branford and waterford ct that are any better sooo....perhaps stay at a beautiful inn when visiting or stay at one of the casino's hotels, maybe the mystic marriott...if you must stay here....find a very very competive rate....place has great potential if the owners knew how to run a luxury hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ConnTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 749 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

For $350 a night I expected much much more instead we were greeted by not 1 but 2 weddings in the same day . My room was nice we got the one with the view and balcony , only to find some party below us,so the music and 40 drunks below was a nice welcome to the balcony with a view "which was very nice" that was paid extra for . Good thing it went on till 11:30pm and they made noise cleaning till 12:30am. Do not go here if there is a wedding unless you like bass bumping music till 11:30 pm cut off time and want to be flooded by people everywhere you go in hotel. We should have went camping with a tent and had a better time for 30 bucks..

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ford50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I feel bad about the people who had such a terrible experience. I LOVED my stay there last August. It was the perfect "mental health break," and in fact, just finished booking time for this August. The staff is somewhat aloof, but professional and clean. Not too unlike what you would experience in any 5-stars in NYC. I am originally from the area, and since being transferred out of state 3 years ago, it is a nice place to return to, spend time with friends, enjoy nearby beaches, walk through Fenwick. Pool area is nice, clean. Room was lovely, and at night when I got in, it was so calming to sit on the deck with a glass of wine and just take in the sounds of summer and sweet ocean breeze. I am getting anxious about my upcoming trip just writing this! I would highly recommend this facility to anyone visting, as there is plenty of info on hand about the area (for those unfamiliar), not far from highway so one can take a day-trip up to Newport or Mystic. Again, I highly recommend and cannot wait till August! :)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

My wife and I stayed here overnight for the Spa Package for our wedding anniversary. After reading a few of these reviews, I was getting nervous. I made the reservations over the phone directly and everything was explained in detail in a professional manner and then was transferred to the Spa to make reservations.
When we first arrived, we were greeted by the front desk staff who were very friendly and told us, "Happy Anniversary" and explained everything to us, where to park, eat, etc. When we arrived at our room, it was very nice. A balcony overlooking the marina, a large bathroom, fireplace, separate tub/shower and a small refrigerator. The only thing that was awkward was the bed. For the design of the room, it had to be there but the television and ceiling were a little low. Other than that, the room was fantastic. We made use of time that night by visiting the hot tub and pool. Yes, the steam room had plastic lawn chairs like someone had suggested, but who cares. The area in which the pool and hot tub, etc. were in was very warm, but once I cracked open a door to let fresh air in, it was nice.
Next day we had our free breakfast at the Inn's restaurant. Waitress and Hostess both told us they would get back to us to let us know what we could pick off of the small breakfast menu that's "complimentary" to us. Turned out, we could order anything. Orange juice glasses could be a little bigger so you do not have to get 10 refills and wait. After breakfast, we took a lovely walk around the area. Fantastic. Bring a bike and/or some walking shoes. It is absolutely gorgeous. The Inn also has a map with routes highlighted with area in which you can walk and it tells you how far in miles they are. Fitness room was nice.
Spa package was the best. Nice customer service, nice atmosphere. You get treated very well. Massage was the best part of the package. Treated like a king and a queen. My wife was very satisfied and extremely happy after this nice surprise. Definitely will go again. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Todd0237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

This weekend stay was a welcome retreat.... We had reservations at the Spa for a massage shortly after we arrived. The Inn Is delightful, our room was spacious and well appointed. I really did not know what to expect after reading a few of the reviews and was so pleasantly surprised. We were treated like queens at the Spa, the breakfast (inlcuded) was sumptous.... the Lobster omlete was devine. The view from our room and the resturant was beautiful. We toured the small town and went shopping in the town of Essex, a few miles away. I will return here often...

Stayed: April 2007
5  Thank SoloWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mathias1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
151 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,128 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: $252 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing