We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Very nice hotel directly at the harbour. We had the one bedroom suite that was spacious. With two balconys, fridge and supper table.
Nice Indoor and outdoor pool, nice spa with friendly staff.
Breakfast in the Restaurant Terra Mar- very good! Try to get an Bed and Breakfast Special you will enjoy it!
We had a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 764 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at this fine place for 3 nights, four days, September 4 to 7, 2010 in Room 301. The room was absolutely lovely and spacious and well laid-out. Our view from the balcony couldn't have been nicer and the bathrooms are beautiful and roomy. The in and outdoor pools were excellent as well as the Fitness Center. The property is one of the best we have every stayed at in that area. We are always traveling, so we can say that knowingly.

The reservation manager, Karen is so helpful and the front desk staff and valets are very congenial. We would highly recommend this fine hotel especially if it can provide a 4-Star restaurant---which they are lucky they have a 1-Star restaurant presently.

The only thing not to do when you stay here is go to their restaurant the Terra Mar Grill. I have written a separate review which we can checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

BEWARE of the photographs- they bear NO resemblance to reality. I took my fiance there for her birthday mostly because of the location and SPA. The positives were the room (very large nicely appointed) and the food in the lounge/restaurant. The SPA, according to my fiance was good as well. Everything else was disappointing. The building itself looks like a Microtel, while they have a great location the building is not situated in a way that takes any advantage of the view. The indoor and outdoor pools are small, crowded and reek of chlorine. You cant get down to the water via the dock (its all locked for the boat owners or transients). The lobby is crowded and overly ornate-theres no business center to speak of. While the photos might lead you to believe this will be Ritz/Westin type experience believe me it will be far from it. Not cheap either.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank FJBBronxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a great location with clean and nicely-furnished rooms. That said, we were shocked, disappointed and outraged that, after booking a weekend getaway and paying about $400 for our room, we were 1) greeted with extreme rudeness at the front desk at check-in, 2) refused a polite request for extra towels (there weren't enough in our room) and 3) refused seating in the hotel's informal lounge restaurant (even though our children are very well behaved and there were plenty of tables available). We ended up having to drive off-site late in the evening to eat elsewhere! They clearly do not welcome children here. (Our three are ages 5 and under.) A complete and utter disappointment and a waste of money. We vacated the property early the next morning. We couldn't even get the attention of the front desk to describe our experience, and - frankly - we didn't want to waste another minute of our precious family time on this place. If you have children, don't bother. If you don't have children, you may want to think twice about patronizing a boutique hotel that thinks itself above providing basic hospitality to its guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nasdaq6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Everything about this place is lovely. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The baths are large, modern and spotless. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous. The bartender makes excellent drinks. The breakfast is not to be missed. It is hard to find fault with anything at this charming inn. If you are in the area, book it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Sadly, we only stayed here for one night, en-route from JFK to Rhode Island. Having arrived late in the evening, we didn't have time to take advantage of the spa, pool, fitness room, etc.

However, our 2 rooms were absolutely lovely; beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and absolutely huge; definitely the best we experienced on our 2-week trip. The beds were very comfortable, the linens luxurious, and the bathrooms were spacious, bright and beautifully appointed (and with good toiletries and plenty of fluffy towels).

We had a lovely meal in the bar/restaurant when we arrived, and breakfast on the terrace the next morning, followed by a walk around the marina and over the bridge. Had I known it was such a wonderful location I would have booked to stay a few more nights. Although quite pricey, this well-maintained inn provides far better value for money than our next hotel; the Viking in Newport.

Service at check-in and over dinner was efficient and friendly, and thankfully not over-intrusive, however service at breakfast was more than a little brusque.

Our only real criticism would be that breakfast ends at 10.00am. Given that my husband and I were travelling with our 3 teenage children - and that we were all on holiday (not to mention jet-lagged) that was not an attractive proposition. We ended up guessing what our children would have, just so we could have something on order before the deadline, then had to ask to change it when one children appeared and didn't want what we had ordered. This did not go down well with the staff. I suggest that if you are in the business of offering hospitality, you really should offer the hours to suit your guests, not your serving staff or the kitchen, and every other hotel along the way offered breakfast until 11am.

That said, I will definitely return for a longer stay, and to investigate this lovely part of the east coast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My Mom and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Saybrook Point Inn two times in the last two weeks while traveling up the east coast. Scott was wonderful at the front desk when we checked in. He was welcoming and gave us many helpful ideas on what to do in the area. The Saybrook is very lucky to have him! To Chris that helped us up and down with our huge bags, and praised me on my wonderful parking skills. He was an absolute joy to talk to. Our hotel room was absolute spotless and beautiful. We enjoyed walking along the water and watching the fisherman pull up their daily catch, or lack of..and just having a really great time. The hotel was truly a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoSnowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,966 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
756 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: $245 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing