We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saybrook Inn & Spa - who knew?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saybrook Inn & Spa - who knew?”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

On a whim I booked a short trip to Saybrook Inn and we could not be more pleased with our experience there. I actually booked the dates through Groupon, which made it even nicer since we saved money on the deluxe king room. It was a big room with a nice bathroom too. Everything was very clean which is the first thing I inspect every time we travel in a hotel. The staff was so courteous which is something I noticed as soon as we arrived. Everyone said good morning or just said "hello/ hi" to us every time they saw us walking around the hotel or pool area.

I would also like to commend the staff working at their restaurant, Fresh Salt - also an excellent experience along with the delicious dinner and breakfasts we had there.

Overall it was an excellent time for my husband and me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Guest Relations Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Phyllis S,
Thank you so much for you kind words and review of our property; I am delighted to see that everything was to your liking! Both our housekeeping team and our Fresh Salt staff work tirelessly to provide the optimal guest experience and your recognition of this will mean more than you can know. We truly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    145
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
151
354
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Went there for Sunday brunch and it was excellent. The raw bar with clams, oysters and shrimp was worth the price alone. The pasta station was great, had shrimp Fra Diavlo. Prime rib was excellent too. The place is right on the water with awesome views. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John_E_Depth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointMgmt, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I'm thrilled that you had such a nice time with us. Please know that we sincerely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again sometime soon.

All my best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The inn is absolutely beautiful. The view of the water is very calming. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The only drawback was that our room over looked the patio area and there was a wedding so there was no privacy on the balcony. In addition the wedding booked the sitting area on top of the outside bar and as paying guests we could not sit there. I was very disappointed especially when no one from the wedding even went up there. If you choose to go there make sure you specify that you would like privacy.

Room Tip: For privacy ask not to face the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trisha0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We're so happy that we could help you get out of the city and relax, Trisha. Thanks for the support here on Yelp. Next time you need some relaxation, keep us in mind.

Best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

On our way from NYC home to Boston - we really wanted one more night somewhere to relax and boy did we find it! It was the most pleasant surprise and I am sure we will visit again. The staff was amazing from Brandon at the front desk who made us feel incredibly welcome to the wonderful restaurant "Fresh Salt" where we enjoyed a delicious, perfectly cooked dinner... We stayed in the new building (three Stories) and it was beautiful, comfortable and relaxing with lots of different areas to stretch out, relax and watch the boats & the water. The next morning we had massages at the spa - it was wonderful - each of us came away super relaxed - they really have a great setup with every amenity you could ask for. I just wish we had a couple more days to enjoy it. Fantastic, un-pretentious and lovely Inn in a gorgeous setting - would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's so nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of a few of our ammonites, and I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Brandon. Please know that we sincerely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!

All my best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at the Saybrook Point Inn's new property Three Stories for 2 nights. It is beautiful! Special thanks to Donna from Housekeeping who gave us a tour of the inn at which point we switched to Rm. 430 on the third floor. Rooms are small but beautifully decorated and immaculate. We were not familiar with the area so Donna suggested we speak to Mrs. Pratt, "Guest Advocate". She was the difference maker in our trip. She is a charming, wonderful woman who gave us suggestions for restaurants, quaint towns to visit and the perfect spot for a picnic on the harbor. Every recommendation was perfection! I highly recommend if you are going to the Saybrook you take the time to meet Mrs. Pratt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjTurquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I'm thrilled that the staff was helpful and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass your compliments along to Donna and Mrs. Pratt. Your review certainly means a lot to us, and we hope you'll come back and stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at Saybrook Point over July 4th weekend. Initially, the desk was accommodating us by changing our reservation because we were traveling by boat and the weather wasn't good. We arrived at Saturday evening, our room was facing the parking lot. This was a surprise, given we booked a water view originally. However, changing the reservation changed our room. Then we went downstairs for dinner and felt like an invited guest at a wedding. Our seats were outside and the loud wedding music and lingering guests, made us feel like we crashed their party. The next morning we planned on sitting by the pool. Unfortunately, the pool was packed. There weren't any seats. We were told that many of the pool guests belonged to the pool, rather then hotel guests. Screaming splashing kids with no seats... we left and took a bike ride to town. All in all... it was ok.

Room Tip: Request away from dining room with loud music and the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Sons2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Of course, I'm sorry to hear that your visit was just okay. That's certainly not the kind of experience we want our guests to have. We realize that it can get a little loud during wedding receptions, but please know that we appreciate the feedback as we look for ways to improve. Of course, the pool is more crowded in the summer months, but it's nice to know that you were able to enjoy a nice bike ride. I hope you'll come back and give us another chance to impress you.

All the best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

While boating on the Connecticut River, an unexpected storm and very rough waters for our 22ft boat put us in a dangerous situation. After attempting to make it to the mouth of the river, we decided to go back up river and seek shelter. Saybrook Pont Marina was our option. They did accommodate us with a slip. We made arrangements to get back to our home in Old Saybrook. The manager informed us that we would have to pay full marina charge for the overnight. No consideration was given to the fact that we were there out of necessity and would not be using any of their facilities.
Very disappointed in their "customer service" as we're our guests.
The hotel and the restaurant are excellent, our family has had a wedding there, celebrated birthdays, Sunday Brunch all lovely.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bobsmobCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Of course, I'm happy that you enjoy the Inn and have had a nice brunch with us. That said, I apologize for any frustration with the marina. It's policy that regardless of the weather, we still have to charge guests when a boat is in a slip overnight, but we sincerely appreciate you feedback. We hope you'll come back and see us again.

Kind regards,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,089 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
146 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing