We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay at any other hotel in Old Saybrook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nanuet, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay at any other hotel in Old Saybrook”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for our 'girl's weekend' and we were happy we took advantage of the hotel spa package. The resort is perfectly located on the Long Island sound, and in a residential area so it's very private. We stayed for one night, which was just the right amount of time. I arrived early to enjoy the pool-great poolside service with a nice view of the adjacent marina. Main street is a mile or so away and a great place to walk around and shop and dine. We had breakfast at Salt the next morning which was very nice. Make sure you visit the spa while you are here, the staff is friendly and the spa itself is beautiful and cozy. I would definitely come back again and bring my husband!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for spending your girls' weekend at our place! I'll make sure the Fresh Salt and Sanno staffs see your kind words. We'd love to have you and your husband back for a getaway soon!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    143
    46
    30
    18
See reviews for
148
351
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My friend had her wedding at the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa over this past weekend and it was a great time and a fantastic day. We had the option of staying in a hotel down the street; however, my boyfriend & I decided to stay at the Inn instead. We had a lovely room, which was large, clean and elegant. The cocktail hour & reception were both held on the property and thankfully, we had great weather and got to spend time outdoors. Everything was good - the food, the atmosphere and the view.

The location was my favorite. We were right on the water and my friend's family were able to bring their boat right into the dock by the hotel. I would definitely stay there again & next time, for longer than just one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm so glad you decided to stay with us, Christine! The fact that you followed up with such a terrific review afterward is just the icing on the cake. Next time you're planning a getaway, I do hope you'll keep us in mind!

'Til then,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was our first visit to Old Saybrook and the Lighthouse Suite. The service was excellent, the suite absolutely spotless - but the suite itself is in need of an update - the wallpaper is beginning to peel, the wires for the TV are exposed, the light for the bathroom makes the bedroom vibrate with noise, the top-dollar suite bath only has a shower stall - but the inn does not leave shower caps. A few extra steps should have been taken by the Inn - due to the distance of the suite to the inn, ice should have been brought to the room when guests check in, as should complimentary bottled water and fruit or snacks (it would have cost the hotel 1% of the room charge and just been the extra touch that makes a stay first-rate and one to repeat). In all, it was terrific, but for the price and potential, it should have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlythebest10017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
You're right: Yours should've been a five-star experience, and I'm sorry we didn't do more to really knock it out of the park for you. However, I appreciate you pointing to some areas of improvement in our Lighthouse Suite in your review. We'll certainly follow up and make changes/repairs as necessary!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I met friends at this lovely inn and spa Memorial Day weekend. Some of the things we really liked about the inn were: the warm and helpful staff, the beautiful and spacious rooms, the view of the marina and the wonderful Fresh Salt restaurant and bar, The spa staff and services were also very good. There are heated pools, one indoors and one outside. The indoor pool is being renovated. As for the nightlife, the inn could think about adding another indoor bar, possibly with music. On the cool nights, it got a little tedious hanging out at the restaurant bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for spending Memorial Day weekend with us! I'll make sure our hotel, restaurant and spa staffs see your compliments. Hope to have you back next time you're in need of a getaway!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have visited this Inn twice. Both experiences were good but somehow missed the excellent mark. The Spa services were top notch, no problem here. The food is well prepared and served and the staff is very accommodating. Rooms look beautiful and are wonderful if you are a TV addict, but if you like to read, you need to go to a common room or outside - weather permitting.
On both occasions there was no place to sit in the room and have decent light by which to read.
Bathrooms are very large but the toilet paper cannot be reached without getting up unless you have ape like arms.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room with a view of the marina and not near the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123readygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I'm sorry you haven't found the rooms you've stayed in conducive to reading! A lot of our rooms do have seating areas, so just let us know that's something you're interested in next time you call to make a reservation, and we'll see what's available. I'll be sure the folks at the restaurant and the spa see your compliments!

Thank you,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First of all, we appreciated the fact that, unlike so many hotels and inns, the Saybrook Point Inn and Spa allowed us to reserve a room for just one night ...on a holiday weekend no less. The room was beautifully appointed, with a first-class bathroom as well. A fire was lit for us in the room upon request. The small balcony overlooking the patio and marina was a fine spot for catching some rays and reading the newspaper in the morning. Despite the fairly central location of our room, and the fact that there was a wedding going on, we found the room to be very private and quiet. Service in the inn was top-notch. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same for the on-site restaurant, Fresh Salt. While the food was above our expectations, the service at dinner and breakfast time was very inconsistent. All in all, though, definitely recommend the joint!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almigama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Although I'm sorry you didn't receive more consistent service at Fresh Salt, I'm relieved to hear that didn't keep you from enjoying the rest of your stay. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to their management team so they can relay your feedback to their staff. Hope to have you back again soon!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went for a wedding and found the hotel very good. The room was large with the bed in an alcove which gave us a large sitting room with a balcony. The view was very nice.
The "mini bar" items like chocolate bars were quite expensive.
The only problem was the shower; the door was not sealed so that when you took a shower the bathroom floor flooded.
The food and arrangements for the wedding reception were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I'm sorry your shower door wasn't sealed properly, Alex! I can only imagine the problems that caused you during your stay. Did you happen to tell someone at our front desk about it while you were here? If not, please let me know what room you were in. I'd like to make sure all's well in that bathroom as soon as possible!

Best,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
138 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing