We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice 3 day getaway...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice 3 day getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our trip was Sept 23 to Sept 26th (Monday thru Wednesday).

My husband and I had a great time. The hotel was very clean, as well as the room. The staff was always happy and helpful. We had a beautiful view of the marina. The Spa was also wonderful. I had the deep tissue massage, mini mani, pedi and facial as well as a complimentary make-up. The restaurant in the hotel was delicious! It's called The Salt. We had one dinner and 2 breakfasts there. We also ate out at the Aspen Restaurant (dinner), Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant (lunch), and Dock and Dine (lunch). They were all excellent! We used tripadvisor to help pick places to eat. One of the restaurants was rated 5 stars, a Moroccan place, called Tissa's. We planned to go there.. dressed up nice.. and it wasnt a restaurant at all. It was like a deli with 3 tables. I'm sure the food was great, but we ended up leaving and going to Aspen.

The only issue with the hotel was that our room was located on top of the indoor pool. SO if anyone spoke while in the pool, we'd hear it. It was annoying especially when it woke us up at 7am. Turns out the pool opens up at 5am, so it could have been worse too. We discussed this at the front desk and were were given a discount on our room charge.

We went during the week. If you go on a weekend, you might coincide with a wedding. If you have a view over the patio or ballroom, you may experience a lot of noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing our inn for your getaway! While I'm sorry you were bothered by the noise from the pool, I'm glad you said something to our front desk staff before you left. We're always willing to work with our guests to make sure they're completely satisfied!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    132
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
329
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We expected this inn to be very nice, but it exceeded our expectations. The setting is lovely - right on the water, with a pretty marina, picturesque boats, and a lighthouse. The inn is beautiful and immaculate inside and out. The grounds were attractive, well cared for, and clean, with lots of flowers and a little sitting/garden area. A small historical park was next to the inn. There was easy access to a great on-road bike trail, much of which was ocean side.

Our exceptionally spacious room was quiet, immaculate and gorgeous, with ocean views from 2 sides and a nice balcony overlooking the water. The room had a fireplace, sitting area, and bar. The bed was as pretty as it was comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, beautiful, and well stocked with any amenity you would want. It had both a tub and a separate shower. We were celebrating an anniversary, and were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of champagne and a nice anniversary card in our room when we arrived.

Both the indoor and outdoor pools were good sized and well-maintained, with nice clean warm water.

The reservation staff I spoke with on the phone, the reception staff, and the bellmen were all exceptionally helpful, friendly, efficient, and professional.

We enjoyed the atmosphere and our window table a view of the water at the Fresh Salt Restaurant. For the most part our food was good, but not as good as I would expect at an inn of this caliber. Our waitress, Deanna, was excellent – accommodating, attentive, friendly, efficient, and professional. There was a nice wine selection.

We are hoping to return this lovely inn next year, for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us! I'm delighted to hear your stay at our inn was everything you hoped it'd be and more. We can't wait to have you back next time you're in need of a coastal getaway!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Saybrook Inn as we were invited to a destination wedding. What a lovely surprise as the rooms are so luxurious, beautifully decorated and large. It was a great start to a long romantic getaway weekend. The Inn is right on the water with a beautiful view. Take advantage of the Spa and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a fireplace. Nice in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for recommending us, Patricia! It's wonderful to hear you were so pleasantly surprised by our inn. We hope to have you back for a longer stay next time!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Terrific easy weekend .hotel was very comfortable,not too big, easy to get around . Nice local walks, relaxing pool,great facial..best lobster roll.....ever!
Good local places to eat..
Lulu loved her bed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBG351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Reviews like this just make our day! It's great to hear that you and Lulu had such a relaxing weekend at our place. We love when our guests bring their pets along, so I appreciate you mentioning that in your comments!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I visited here to celebrate our anniversary. Given the cost, I had high expectations and I was not disappointed. We had a beautiful large room with a spacious well appointment bathroom. Our balcony faced the front of the property, at first I was disappointed but as we walked around the property I realized that the street side rooms are probably more quiet and private because most of the water view rooms overlook the bar/restaurant and pool area.

We were able to eat lunch at the restaurant and were very happy with the food and the service. From what I understand, reservations are highly recommended but it wasn't overly crowded and we were seated almost immediately. We were also able to use the bicycles that the hotel loans free of charge to their guests. That was so much fun, Old Saybrook very scenic. We biked into town for a light breakfast.

My big tip is to bring a bottle of wine. After we came back to the hotel from dinner on the Essex Steam Train it was nice to sit out on the farther end of the dock, relax and have a few glasses of wine apart from the hubbub of the bar and weddings that were in progress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shan136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with a stay at our inn! It was a pleasure to have you and your husband here for a visit. Taking our bikes out to explore town was a great idea, as is bringing a bottle of wine (we also have a great selection of wines by the bottle). I'm certain other reviewers will be as grateful for your review as I am!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Old Saybrook and I wanted to say a special thanks to Betty the Spa Director. We were a large group of varying ages and needs and she went out of her way to make all of us feel welcome and comfortable. The food was amazing at the restaurant and was such a great last dinner for our stay. I will definitely be back and make sure that it is a regular vacation spot for both myself and my family. Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TShep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
"I will definitely be back and make sure that it is a regular vacation spot for both myself and my family." That compliment absolutely made my day! Thank you so much for the thoughtful recommendation. I will be sure to share your comments with Betty, she will be very pleased to have been a good resource for your. We look forward to having you and your family back again soon!

Until then,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held here Labor Day weekend. The rooms were well-appointed and the ballroom was great for the wedding. The ceremony and pre-reception bar and hors d'oeuvres were held outdoors on the patio, overlooking the harbor - spectacular spot!

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby and away from the parking areas have best views of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to host your daughter's wedding weekend, Tim! We're honored that she chose to celebrate her marriage at our inn. The fact that you enjoyed your stay so much is just the icing on the cake!

Best wishes,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing