We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An Elegant Getaway”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Saybrook Point Inn from March 9-10, for a quick 'cabin fever' weekend getaway. The Inn is seeped in history, but it is not at all a stuffy place. It is elegant and friendly. Our room 317 was a king fireplace waterview room. The room had a small balcony, overlooking the outdoor pool and ocean. The room was tastefully decorated, spacious, and the bed was comfortable. There is a refrigerator, two upholstered occasional chairs in front of the fireplace, and a small wood table and chairs. Our only minor gripes: the television is oddly mounted so that it is not comfortably viewable from either the bed or the upholstered chairs. We ended up moving the chairs over to in front of the television. The fireplace is not a gas log, nor was a burnable log furnished. Although it would have been cozy, we didn't care enough to ask or complain about it; if it is important to you that the fireplace be functional, be sure to inquire before booking. Perhaps they are only seasonally used up to a certain date. The staff we encountered were polite and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday Brunch. Although it was pricey, the quality and variety of the food justified the splurge. The property is on the water with a marina, but there is no accessible beach. That said, we probably wouldn't pay the summer rate to stay here. It is a wonderful, scenic event venue (weddings, functions) and we would definitely consider it should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neese39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    143
    46
    30
    18
See reviews for
148
351
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here for a romantic weekend getaway and loved it! The inn is decorated in refreshing colors , blues and yellows and it's so clean and everyone is so nice. The restaurant is wonderful...the experience is what I had hoped for....a break from all the city hassle.
Stayed in a junior suite with a fireplace (awesome!!), a jacuzzi and a little balcony. Event though the weather was cloudy, the waterfront was very beautiful.
we also enjoyed a couples massage in the spa which was great....and quite busy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had booked a stay at the Saybrook Point Inn after winning a deluxe room stay at an auction we had went to previously. This also included breakfast at Fresh Salt, the restaurant within the inn.

We stayed during our wedding anniversary weekend and really had such a relaxing time. I will say that what made the stay even better was the brief research I had done previously on TripAdvisor, and advice I had from family members and friends who had stayed allowed us to time everything perfectly. We checked in slightly early which was nice since our room was ready on the snowy day we came on. I promptly went over to the spa (Sanno) as I had booked appointments there. After my appointments, we relaxed in our room and took advantage later of the hotel shuttle (PLEASE take advantage of it- its the best!) to go into town to grab some dinner. The staff member who ran the shuttle was extremely prompt and professional, and when we got back we had them light a duraflame log in our room to enjoy the rest of our night. Please note- that they will not light the logs if you are going to leave your room (duh!) or if it's extremely windy.

The next morning, we had breakfast at Fresh Salt. What a beautiful view the restaurant has! Bring your camera AND your sunglasses! My two gripes about the restaurant- the waiters/waitresses didn't seem excited to be there- I think our waitress said two sentences to us-we received no recommendations on breakfast options, and the bartender was not available, so we were unable to have a breakfast cocktail (did we need it- no, but we were celebrating!). However, the food was delicious and fresh so no complaints there.

The room was very clean and neat- the bathroom as well. The only odd thing I noticed about the bathroom shower we had, was that depending on the setting of the showerhead, the water would spray directly onto the far wall, not allowing you to be anywhere near the water- so you had to find the right setting to get the showerspray actually into the shower.

The room also had a mini fridge and a Keurig machine, which they provided coffee and tea with, which we enjoyed after our breakfast.

Overall- it was a great stay. I would stay here again, and recommend anyone to stay while in the Old Saybrook area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am not sure how anyone can patronize a place where they can care less about customer/client satisfaction!!! This was my second year going with a bunch of school friends - thought maybe last year was a fluke and an off day bc we all have them. This year took the cake - It's nice that the place is on the water but their customer service and the front desk is the worst I have ever seen. I filled out my survey after my most recent stay explaining all the issues we had (most important being it took us over an hour to check out bc they couldn't get our bill correct) and that we missed our ferry bc of the incompetence of not only desk clerk but the spa manager as well. There was no response to my survey that I filled out. I waited about 3 weeks and then emailed the manager of the place - still no response!! I finally tried calling the owner but his phone will not take messages so I emailed him instead. I got a reply that he would look into it and get back to me in a day or 2 - well guess what.... It's been a week and no response and this is the owner!!!! I have spent now hours construing emails (3) each one getting more impatient and appalled by lack of concern for my less then average experience and at this point I will go as far to say this place is the worst I have ever experienced bc they can care less about their clients. I have never known a place that totally disregards their customer. For the price you are paying your massage should be out of this world and my massage was adequate at best. i was just coming off neck fusion surgery and i asked my masseuse to only focus on my back and neck and he just did a regular full body massage. And to boot to charge extra for a deep tissue and its the same as a regular massage is not right. If I were you I would go to the Norwich spa - now that's a classy place and in my opinion worth the little extra money you will have to pay bc they know how to treat their clients and they have people at the front desk that actually know what they are doing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Argos1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a first class Inn with breathtaking views of the water. It is, as the name suggests, at the Saybrook Point which provides for a spectacular wake up as you sit on your little patio sipping coffee as the sun comes up.

It was snowing as we woke up, but that still didn't take away from the view.

The room is finished in all the appropriate New England colours. The bed was luxuriously comfortable. Our mini suite came with a fireplace and jacuzzi. Go during the "off" season for superb rates and less crowds.

If we had one complaint it was the shower. Toss the "rainfall" shower head and replace it with one with multiple settings.

Make sure you have breakfast at the restaurant. A "little" pricey but the food was excellent and the presentation superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed two nights recently for a friends wedding and it was a very pleasant stay indeed. Staff were friendly, the room well appointed, clean and comfortable and the restaurant food was excellent. The spa area may need a little TLC as the steam room was broken and the sauna was quite small and not that hot however the pool was nice and the hot tub was fantastic. Given a reason to be in the area I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdrAdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a very relaxing weekend! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The spa was great. We had amazing facials and good massages. The waiting area in the spa was a little crowded, but I guess that's a given for a Saturday. The restaurant was one of the best meals I've ever had. Service was a little slow, but the meal made up for it. Great seafood salad. The king sized room was large and comfy. There was a fireplace, they sent a gentlemen up to light a just a starter log, which was fine. Room service was prompt and the food was average. Sunday buffet looked very good, but we passed The pool area is decent size, hot tub is too. Steam room fits about 3 people and the sauna about 6, but no one was in either of them. Bunch of kids were in the pool, pretty much all weekend. I would definitely go back. Obviously, when traveling to a resort and spa, it does get expensive, but well worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
138 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing