We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel's rooms were exceptionally clean , large room / bathroom,
and well appointed (we stayed in more than one )
when we decided to extend our visit they found a room - not an easy feat for
a hectic Friday summer night!
The staff was all excellent . The restaurant had surprisingly delicious food- including the
best swordfish that I've ever had anywhere. As people mentioned, the pool areas need updating.
I did not try the spa but spoke to one of their employees who was also friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruoloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you and the swordfish chop is such a hit. It is amazing that you hardly find the item anywhere. There are only two chops per fish which may explain it a little.
At any rate, I digress ... thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    132
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
329
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My daughter and I have been here 4 times in the past year. They have been our mini-vacations. The staff remembered our names. They are the most attentive than any other hotel. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The grounds are clean and nicely decorated with flowers. The restaurant was extremely clean and the food was absolutely delicious. We ate breakfasts there and one dinner. Overall, I would highly recommend you give them a try.

Room Tip: Try the room with the terrace and water view. Some rooms have electric fireplaces, while others hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Highly recommend! Service was exceptional. Great price. Super clean and updated. I went with my mother and sister so we had a lot of interaction with staff and everyone was pleasant, friendly, and attended to us very closely! White robes, spa sandals, lockers, outstanding restrooms with everything you could need for a shower or to freshen up. We did not stay at the inn but bought a package at a unbeatable price which included a phenomenal lunch at the Fresh Salt rest. at the inn right on the water overlooking the docks. We had full use of facilities including sauna, steam room, whirlpool, indoor/outdoor pool. We stayed the whole day. Relaxation rooms were so cozy, I could've just stayed in that room all day. They had wine, tea, and delicious lemon/lime water ready for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Your review is the one we've dreaming about. Thank you and your kind remarks hit the mark more than you know. Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

An adventurous weekend with our 15lb dog led us to the Madison Beach Hotel. With "dog" rooms next to one another,(the dog next door would bark and then ours would answer) and a fairly expensive rate, the room was first floor with communal balconies.Sort of horrifying for a private couple. I suspect some people have pets that misbehave. Ours doesn't (and doesn't shed) and we pay extra generally $50-$100. The room was not carpeted and there was no privacy. They were kind enough to let us out of the next day obligation (staff was really quite nice) and for roughly the same price the Saybrook Point Inn was worth twice the amount. The "dog" room was as nice as the others, which were quite nice and the staff was great. The food was equally so and our dog welcome at the outdoor table. The MBH is a new facility and feels too engineered while the SPI felt much more upscale. We'll happily go back to the Saybrook Point Inn. Pictures not taken for review but show carpet and a front of building view. And the bandana they gave us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went for a weekend getaway. Very nice hotel, great couples massage, and plenty of fine dining in the area. Besides the many small shops and good restaurants, we didn't find much to do. Perhaps another visit will allow us to learn more about the area. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights at the Saybrook Point Hotel on a New England road trip with our dog, and were really delighted and impressed with the hotel -- our room (king waterview) was huge and extremely comfortable and well appointed, the staff were really nice and helpful, and Old Saybrook was a great base to explore the Connecticut River Valley. The hotel was incredibly pet friendly -- all of us felt pampered! -- and we had a great dog walk from the hotel across the Causeway to Katherine Hepburn's former estate in Finch, about 3 miles. Kudos to the owners and management for running such a nice and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our one night stay in late July was very good. The facility is in great condition. Our room was perfectly maintained and spotless. Plenty of towels for bathing and pools.

Best part of the Inn is the service. Of all the places we have been, both my wife and I found EVERY staff member to be exceptional. Perfectly friendly and helpful all the while not being pushy or overbearing. The perfect mixture of pleasent help and letting us relax.

Only downside was the prices for lunch and dinner. Food was good, but not worth the high cost. No other places in immediate area as Dock & Dine was still closed for repairs

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing