We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great suite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great suite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

One night at this hotel with my family, we had the biggest suite I think and it was fantastic! View of the ocean and terrific quality of the suite with excellent in-room breakfast!

  • Liked — Great location and great suite!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duttzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    132
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
328
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

I have stayed here three times and each time has been a wonderful experience. I am quite surprised by the negative comments as this was not my experience at all. My husband and I had a great romantic weekend getaway in the fall of 2005 so we went back with the kids in the summer of 2006 twice. The staff was very attentive to ensure our stay was pleasant. We enjoyed a couples massage which was great. And the reastaurant was terrific. The food, wine and service was outstanding.

I was not sure how the kids would be greated, but was pleasantly surprised that they received the same warm welcome.

The rooms are spacious and clean. I would highly recommend you visit!

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — It's not on the beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savannah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

I just got back with a friend for a "girl's week-end" one night with massage/breakfast included. When we got there, I had not read the bad reviews and am just reading them (my friend had read them and was concerned). It's a good thing I hadn't read them, probably would not have stayed there. It was fantastic. From the moment we checked in, everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was huge and very nice. The spa (we each had a facial and massage) was great, as were the therapists that we each had.

The food for dinner was outstanding, portions, presentation and taste perfect.

It isn't a brand new hotel so of course it may need some sprucing up but I didn't see any obvious signs of disrepair or neglect.

Would definitely recommend it. I thought our price which included breakfasts, $90 spa credit and room were adequately priced.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MTOESO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

I attended both a wedding reception and a bar mitzvah here in the fall of 2006.

I cannot in good conscience recommend this facility for a celebration of any kind, not a weekend getaway, not wedding, not at all.

While the location is beautiful, the staff is incompetent and rude, particularly the banquet manager.

At both events we were told by the bartenders that they were not permitted by law to give more than one drink per person at a time. Meaning that no one can get a cocktail for themselves and their date at the same time.

At the wedding I was shocked when the banquet manager told the band to stop playing, that the wedding was over and everyone should leave. She apparently had a problem the ethnic meditteraen traditional music...?? FYI, the cake had not even been cut yet and dessert service had not begun. I watched the bride breakdown in tears.

The food is better than most reception food. But the waitstaff is not particularly polished.

I made the mistake of getting a massage here the weekend of the first event ( we had booked a room for the weekend of the first event). The spa is in desparate need of a facelift. The chairs are old, the wallpaper in the lounge looks yellowed. It just appears rundown.

The nicest thing I can say about the rooms is that they are adequate but grossly overpriced.

The front desk staff are fine, unless there is a problem. Then they apply the cold shoulder technique... they simply ignore your complaints.

I also got the distinct vibe both weekends that they do not care
for guests who are not Aryan.

  • Liked — The Connecticut River as scenery.
  • Disliked — The hotel staff was rude ( bigots ), the spa was dirty.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WorldlyNYCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointMgmt, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2007
In no aspect of our business do we treat someone differently based on their origin, race, religion or gender.
We do our utmost to provide a safe and enjoyable environment to our guests. We are successful the vast majority of times.
When a guest is unhappy we try to find a resolution to their problems. Sometimes it is not possible.
We do our best and proud of our results and the services we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Old Saybrook Point inn is a classic example of "No Alternatives". If you look at old saybrooks choice of hotels to stay in only the B & B's have some charm all others are Days Inn, Comfort inn type hotels. The hotel capitalizes on this by advertising itself as a luxury inn. The only problem is they don't have the vision or the required money invested to be a luxury resort. The location is very good and the restaurant is quite good as well...although pricey...would do better to go down the street to Liv's Oyster Bar or Jacks..places have food that is just as good and is a lot more fun than the old traditional stuffy new england expensive dinner. The spa is what you might find at a nice Holiday Inn not a luxury spa. When you think luxury spa you might think , Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Park Hyatts, Topnotch, vt etc...this isn't in the same league...which is okay if you are not paying those prices and it isn't advertised that way...The pools are fine but tiny...outside the pool is always underheated unless it is mid summer, there is a tiny pool deck that is frequently crowded with locals, marina people and hotel guests, the pool deck inside is hazardous (slippery) the sauna and steam are utilitarian....(functional not luxurious) Overall a two and a half star experience....the rooms are nice but weddings can interfere...the staff is fine but again, not trained the way the staffs are trained at the true four and five star resorts...this resort should charge around 89-129 a night and be carefull the way it advertises itself. If it wants to be luxury they need to spend the big money in investment and hire world class people...consumers are getting smarter today and know the difference. Look at any review sites that are talking about this hotel, many many people are citing concerns about this property...not all but many...as a consumer be aware that this place charges too much for what it says it offers....of course there is no alternatives on the shoreline between branford and waterford ct that are any better sooo....perhaps stay at a beautiful inn when visiting or stay at one of the casino's hotels, maybe the mystic marriott...if you must stay here....find a very very competive rate....place has great potential if the owners knew how to run a luxury hotel...

  • Liked — The view and location
  • Disliked — The misleading advertising
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ConnTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

For $350 a night I expected much much more instead we were greeted by not 1 but 2 weddings in the same day . My room was nice we got the one with the view and balcony , only to find some party below us,so the music and 40 drunks below was a nice welcome to the balcony with a view "which was very nice" that was paid extra for . Good thing it went on till 11:30pm and they made noise cleaning till 12:30am. Do not go here if there is a wedding unless you like bass bumping music till 11:30 pm cut off time and want to be flooded by people everywhere you go in hotel. We should have went camping with a tent and had a better time for 30 bucks..

  • Liked — The bathroom was very clean
  • Disliked — what I got for price paid !
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ford50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

I feel bad about the people who had such a terrible experience. I LOVED my stay there last August. It was the perfect "mental health break," and in fact, just finished booking time for this August. The staff is somewhat aloof, but professional and clean. Not too unlike what you would experience in any 5-stars in NYC. I am originally from the area, and since being transferred out of state 3 years ago, it is a nice place to return to, spend time with friends, enjoy nearby beaches, walk through Fenwick. Pool area is nice, clean. Room was lovely, and at night when I got in, it was so calming to sit on the deck with a glass of wine and just take in the sounds of summer and sweet ocean breeze. I am getting anxious about my upcoming trip just writing this! I would highly recommend this facility to anyone visting, as there is plenty of info on hand about the area (for those unfamiliar), not far from highway so one can take a day-trip up to Newport or Mystic. Again, I highly recommend and cannot wait till August! :)

  • Liked — water views, room
  • Disliked — nothing- I loved it all!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing