We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cleaning Needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Blue Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    27
    11
    22
See reviews for
39
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked this hotel before I read the reviews. Only hotel I could find that was pet friendly. Read the reviews and was worried. Got there and I was shocked to find that the reviews had me worried for no reason. The room was very big and clean. The beds were very comfy and brand new. The owner and staff was also great, very helpful.The cleaning lady was great. She was always on top of thing's. Always fresh towels and anything else I needed. The breakfast they served was just perfect. Not sure what all the complaints were about that I read. I did not find a thing wrong with this hotel. I will be coming back and staying at this hotel again in the future. If you are looking for a 6 star, good luck on finding a Hyatt in Old Saybrook CT, but if you want a family and pet friendly place, this is a great choice.. I would rate it a 4 star.. Great Work Days Inn Old Saybrook CT !!! Thanks for a great week !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBB3635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed here when we attended a wedding down the road. On the trip down I was warned by other couples that they were either checking out or moving into a new room due to uncleanliness, odor, and filth that perpetrated this place. None of the women would shower in the bathrooms due to the filth. This place is shameful. I wouldn't normally fill a review out, but don't want others to make the same mistake! $183 for that! Disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim4673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is by far the most disgusting place we have ever stayed. Stained Sheets, Needles, Hair all over Bathroom Floor, A very fowl oder when we entered the room. Way overcharged us too. Will never stay at a Days Inn again. Staved there on 8/18/2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were in town for a family reunion and booked last minute by another family member. We started out in a smoking room, again; booked by family member, and were disgusted. The room smelled which can only be expected. The tv didnt work and the bath tub drain was clogged. The mattresses were not covered and were filthy. Blankets were stained and full of cigarette burns. The actual sheets on the bed seemed clean but VERY thin- I could see through them to the stained pillows and mattress underneath. 4 out of 5 of our towels were stained and we had to go exchange them for new ones. Carpet appeared dirty as well, bathroom was dingy and dirty; shower curtain was dirty. Ugh, I'm not high maintenance but this was the worst room I've ever slept in. I literally slept on a clean beach towel I had brought with me. Everything else nearby under $300 was booked so we were stuck here. The next day thankfully we were able to change rooms and get one of the 3 bed non-smoking rooms a few doors down, night and day difference! Still not anything to rave about but at least it was cleaner and more updated. There appeared to be mildew on the bathroom ceiling but didnt even care at that point because I was just so happy to have a clean bed! The staff were all a little strange but perfectly helpful and friendly. They cant help that the place is a dump. Breakfast was very limited but not a big deal. We ate out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasDFWfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.9 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Blue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Blue Guesthouse

Property: Pier Blue Guesthouse
Address: 1430 Boston Post Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1709 (Formerly Days Inn Old Saybrook)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier Blue Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guesthouse with 50 non smoking rooms, free wi-fi, private parking for our guests, hot & continental breakfast, picnic & barbecue facilities and free beach passes. Within walking distance to restaurants. Centrally located near Premium Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Katherine Hepburn Theater, local beaches, antique stores, and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Pier Blue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing