We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cobb Salad at the Monkey Farm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkey Farm

Monkey Farm
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service Bar & dining-room , great food, large menu, reasonable prices. Enclosed porch, smoking deck, Pinball, Pool & Darts. Wifi Juke-Box. Bar is open Mon- Thurs 9:00am - 1:00am Friday & Saturday 9:00am-2:00am Sunday 11:00am - 1:00 am
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cobb Salad at the Monkey Farm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The environment at the Monkey Farm is comfortable for lunch. It provides a very resonable luncheon menu, but the best is their Cobb Salad!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank You for the great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    74
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Simple food cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

As we arrived, a man leaving with a to go box told us we were about to have the best food on the shoreline. Walking in, I was a little hesitant when I took a look at the surroundings. I was doubtful about the man's parking lot review. However, once my I took my first bite of the tuna melt I ordered, I knew he was telling the truth. My friend ordered a hot lobster roll and the waitress recommended the special of beef tips, rice and broccoli for the last person. The lobster roll had huge chunks of claw meat and the beef tips were flavorful and savory. Everything was fresh and cooked like a good home cooked meal should be. We will definitely be coming back to the Monkey Farm and telling all our friends that they should be too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank You for the great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
262 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to Monkey Farm on a whim recently as we were passing through Old Saybrook. It is definitely your classic :local bar" scene. The location is somewhat horrendous, both to get to and unfortunately if you sit on the "porch" you are litterally right in the traffic. Inside is much better for that.
Food was surprisingly good. My wife had the pastrami sandwich and I had the fish (cod) sandwich. The batter on the fish was perfect, not to thin or thick and it was season with a combination of blackened and cajun - fabulous. Fries were poor ( seemed to be the frozen out of the bag type). I'm somewhat surprised at that as clearly the kitchen could produce them.
Prices were very reasonable and service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank You for the great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Burger and Beer Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Yup, it's not impressive from the outside or from the inside for that matter, but the food is good and the people are nice. Great burgers, even late in the evening and food is difficult to find after 9 pm in this one horse town. Great lunch crowd, people of all ages. Enjoy. You won't be disappointed if you are looking for a burger and beer joint.

Helpful?
Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank You for the great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Kind of rustic atmosphere - food was really good....I really wasn't expecting it to be that good since we ate in the bar & you know how that can be, but I was pleasantly surprised! I think if you give them a chance you'll be glad you did~

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank You for the great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Farm also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing