We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathrooms”

Parthenon Diner-Old Saybrook
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bathrooms”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

3 different owners over the last 25 years and I must wonder if they have ever cleaned the bathrooms.
Entering the mens room is like stepping into a huge urinal. It just gives me major creeps knowing how gross the bathrooms are. My wife says women's room is equally scary. Stand on the seat and I think I will leave a spray bottle of scrubbing bubbles and instructions on how / where to use it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLC10756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good solid diner”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Went 3 times with family over the last year 1 time for lunch and twice for dinner - solid each time. Panini are good, the couple of Greek dishes were competent. Breakfast meals (served all day/night) were good as well. Service was friendly so good place to go for a nice casual meal or snack.

Helpful?
Thank AlexFunTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful roadside diner”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're visiting Old Saybrook, or just passing by on Route 95, stop in for a wonderful meal. Old fashioned diner food, enhanced by Greek specialties. Huge portions, everything was top quality, and the servers coulnd't have been nicer. I had the Greek Sampler plate, loved every bit, but could only eat half. We were so full we couldn't have dessert but it ;looked so good, we asked for one piece of baklava to go, and a slice of cheescake.. They gave us two pieces of baklava..it took days to eat it all! BEST baklava I've ever had, and that includes in Greece & Turkey! I would make a special trip from RI just to eat there..hmm, maybe this weekend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I got hit with diarrhea right after eating an omelet for v.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Parthenon Diner is a nice place to stop & get a fairly good meal, not exceptional but acceptable. It is a little pricey for what is given you for the meal & sometimes you see waiters or waitress sitting down even though they have seen you sat down. They sill take their time to come over.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is okay - nothing very bad, but nothing very good either. Something breakfast related is probably your best bet. Prices are a bit high for a diner, but prices go up in the summer in a resort town. If you visit Old Saybrook and don't dine here, you haven't missed much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon Diner-Old Saybrook also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon Diner-Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing