We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Saybrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2006

We stayed at the Pratt Inn while visiting friends in Old Saybrook. The Inn is wonderful. Beautiful and charming and immaculate. The public rooms are comfortable. Eating a candlelight breakfast in front of a fire with pleasant company was a wonderful way to start our day. Pat the innkeeper is a gracious hostess and very informative. We stayed in the sunrise room on the second floor of the main house. It was lovely and very comfy. My only reservation is that the stairs are steep as is common with a house of this age. There is a room on the first floor which could be a better choice if you have mobility problems. This is definitely a place we will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2006

The Innkeeper, Pat is awesome. She speaks 3 languages and can provide you with directions to anywhere in town. She also offers us a ride in her convertible to find a romantic lunch spot by the water. The beaches are very close and everything is a bike ride away. Ask for Pat when booking your stay. She will advise you on the best rooms and rates.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2005

I stayed for two nights this April - had originally planned for one night, but stayed an extra one (this was midweek, pre-season, but the B&B was still busy).

As mentioned in another room, the B&B staff are friendly and helpful, and Pat the innkeeper helped me a lot (I was travelling alone, from the UK, without a car, so really appreciated it!).

There is plenty to do in easy walking distance - restaurants, shops, etc - and if you don't mind a longer walk (about a mile or so) there is more to see with the coves and beaches. There are also bikes available to borrow if you want that too.

Breakfast is very tasty, and there's plenty of it, and a good chance to get acquainted with your fellow guests. There's also a lovely garden, complete with hammock, and a traditional ice cream parlour/soda fountain next door.

My only downer wasn't to do with the B&B directly, but that when I arrived on the train I couldn't get hold of the taxi firm. Normally someone from the B&B will help out with a ride, but nobody was available for the time I arrived, so I had to walk. It was a good workout, and probably good for my soul, but not much fun in the fog dragging a heavy suitcase plus backpack.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FromLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2005

My husband and I always go away right after Valentine's day for our engagement anniversary-so 2 years ago we decided to try the Timothy Pratt B and B. The house is just beautiful-and the room we had (The Library) was so nice-great 2 person jacuzzi tub, fireplace, canopy bed, etc. The breakfast in the morning was also very good and we got to talk to others around the table. So we are heading back there this Feb. for 2 more nights-am very much looking forward to it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank divadeb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
17
Reviewed November 18, 2004

Had a fantastic time. Monday night in November might not be the ideal time to see Old Saybrook but we had fantastic hospitality...way beyond what was called for. As we had no car we were taken on a drive of the loacal surroundings, had great home made breakfasts and a little tour of the historic building we stayed in.

Check if Pat is around when you're staying she's a real star.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chelmsford, Ma
17
Reviewed September 17, 2004

Never met the owners. The candlelight breakfast was not what we expected. The fireplace did not work. Room was over a ice cream parlour. Not a very good view. The town was nice. Room was okay but nothing spectacular. Overall was not what we expected.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2004

My wife and I were thrilled with The Pratt House. The room was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. The bathroom was great with a whirlpool tub and skylight. The house itself and the grounds are very inviting and its easy place to relax at. We did some kayaking and found the location of the Pratt House to be perfect. Just a half mile from the Old Saybrook boat ramp. Old Saybrook is a terrific spot for kayaking - two lighthouses highlight a very scenic area. We also enjoyed our time spent at the Old Saybrook beach. To top it all off, the breakfast was delicious as well.
Overall it is a perfect spot for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndyfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
1.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
735 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 325 Main Street, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Saybrook
Price Range: $275 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and enjoy the splendor of yesteryear in this magnificent center chimney colonial bed and breakfast inn listed on the National Historic Register, featuring elegant rooms with fireplaces and whirlpools. Located in charming New England village of Old Saybrook, Connecticut (CT). Built in 1746 by Deacon Timothy Pratt, this charming home boasts many fine original details. The guest rooms are romantically furnished in period style. A formal, candlelit breakfast is served in the elegant dining room w/ fireplace on fine china. Relax in our picturesque grounds with pretty gardens, a 3 tier fountain, inviting sitting areas, and 2-person rope hammock. Located in the heart of the historic district, on a pretty gas-lit main street, walk to quaint shops, restaurants, cafe's, art galleries, coffee houses with entertainment, town green activities, spas, and the water. Next door to old-fashioned ice-cream parlor and cafe; across from an old house museum and pillared white church. Beautiful area for walking, bicycling, and scenic drives along the CT River and Long Island Sound. One mile to beaches, lighthouses, sightseeing cruisecruises, waterfront dining, and waterfront golf and mini-golf. Beach passes, maps, and advice provided! On the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound, Old Saybrook embodies the spirit of a charming, small New England town with a rich seafaring tradition. Come enjoy its charm, beaches, pretty coves and beautiful setting at the mouth of the CT River! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deacon Timothy Pratt Hotel Old Saybrook
Deacon Timothy Pratt b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing