We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best Chef's on the Shoreline”

Liv's Oyster Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Liv's is the brainchild of John Brescio. He is a French Culinary Institute-trained chef who worked at Tavern on the Green and Judson Grill in New York as well as Aux Delices in Greenwich. Liv's is names for the Brescio's young daughter Olivia, a photogenic tyke whose black and white blowups grace the walls. 'The combination of easy comfort and really good food makes Liv's Oyster Bar in Old Saybrook such a find' - The NY Times.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Chef's on the Shoreline”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

There are lots of restaurants on the shoreline from New Haven to the Connecticut River, but none seem to have as consistently good food at Liv's. While the restaurant has a limited menu, I've found the selections both interesting and sufficiently varied.

He has what restaurant fans describe as "tastebuds" and he understand ingredients, how they merge, and preparation. The decor is good, service very good, wine list is small but very good and the overall experience excellent.

Dave R

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Each time I travel to Hartford, Ct., my only request is that we take the drive to Old Saybrook to dine at Liv's Oyster Bar. It is one of my favorite places to enjoy seafood and a cocktail. Casual with an understated sophistication. We arrive around 4 or 5 to take advantage of the unadvertised happy hour. Oysters are a dollar, tuna tacos are delicious, fried jumbo shrimp are the best and mussels are so wonderful. Really anything you decide to try will be quite enjoyable. They have never missed a beat yet in the 3 years since I discovered this gem. I have not made it to the main menu yet which looks good and interesting, except to have a salad which did not disappoint. This place is a winner!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susant771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband ordered the raw clams and we shared the lobster mac n cheese! Both were fantastic. I ordered mussels for an entree and my husband ordered a pasta. My mussels were excellent, but my husbands pasta dish was drowning in the sauce. Overall, the food was great, along with a great atmosphere and great service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A LOCAL GEM”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, upscale but casual atmosphere. Start with not bread but crispy toasts and olive oil. Spring Pea Soup quite large portion and very delicious, would appreciate offer of fresh cracked pepper although grinder is at table. Oysters the best of course. Burger perfect with large portion of good fries. Crabcake is indeed crabcake, no filler and just plain good. Our servers were attentive on this early and busy Wednesday evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LIDDAROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot for oysters and dinner at the bar...”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We love to sit at a nice restaurant bar and eat. This one offers lots of great atmosphere and a friendly staff. The bartender Kristen pours a perfect drink every time, and if the conversation gets boring they have a few flat screens to keep your attention. A view to the oyster shucking area is fun and a partial view to the kitchen allows you to keep an eye on things. I suggest the BLT salad with grilled of buffalo shrimp and any of the fish dishes. Watch out for the fish tacos, as they come deep fried not grilled as I was hoping. Great atmosphere keeps us coming back on a regular basis, along with staff, menu options and a fantastic drink menu. Bring your checkbook...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lhvcowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liv's Oyster Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Liv's Oyster Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing