We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled cornbread polenta with grilled vegetables-YUM”

Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Grilled cornbread polenta with grilled vegetables-YUM”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Consistently delicious food, clean bathrooms, Tory on the bar is a kind, sweet, fantastic multi-tasker that no matter how busy, takes great care of his customers.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    119
    46
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reliable tasty food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good local pub food with a few upscale items. Salmon is particularly good. Food is very consistent. Not much here for the folks staying away from meats. Wish the wine list was a bit better - would eat here more often. Good selection of beer.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank marles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cozy Pub!”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stopped in for lunch this past Saturday. I checked out the menu prior to going there to make sure they had vegetarian options and I was impressed that they had quite a few non-salad vegetarian entrees. We were seated right away downstairs and promptly greeted and our drink orders taken. They have reasonably priced drinks, a decent wine list and some very unique sounding cocktails. (Chocolate covered pretzel martini sounded pretty amazing). A glass of Matua Savingion blanc was $7.50. It's a cute, cozy atmosphere and was busy the entire time we were there. I ordered the Circus Veggie Wrap and my boyfriend had the BBQ pork sandwich. They were both delicious and the perfect portions. All in all, it was a great experience! I'd like to go back in the summer when they have outdoor seating and the bar in the alley.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KillaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Un Remarkable for $$$$”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Nothing special here. I think it is a bit overpriceds for what you get. Aside from that, the food is ok/good. I almnost fell out of my seat when the "Jumbo" crab cakes for $14.00 came out. They were tiny! A total rip off. The coconut shrimp....four decent sized shrimp for $13.00. I have had far better....and more, for $9 at other restaurants. When the burgers and wraps come out it looks like they are trying to save money by giving very few fries. The quesadilla is average except for teh price ($11.00!) and the ribs ....a whole rack $25.00! $18.95 in most comparable restaurants.

In all, eat here is you don't care about what you get for the money. Money to burn, go to the Peny Lane Pub. Want more bang for your buck, go to Jack Rabbits burgers down the street, or head across the river to NIantic to Main St. Grille or Sophias in Westbrook.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ryandz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere / Average Food”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

A bit cozy at the bar while waiting for a table but the excellent bar tender kept us all happy. By the time we sat down at our table upstairs we were famished. We ordered the large plate of nachos which were done well - lots of salsa on the side and jalapenos on top. One nice thing is that they offer a turkey burger with any of the menu toppings - my Poirve with Gorgonzola was very tasty. Good mixed crowd and good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing