We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice restaurant”

Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Lodi, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We ate at this restaurant and we were very happy with the service and food. All the servers seemed to be very polite and happy to help us and the food was very good. We had the New England clam chowder which was one of the better soups I have had while out to eat.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    118
    46
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy and Consistent”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This restaurant is a family favorite. My husband and I choose to go here for an evening out and also the kids beg us to take them for a family dinner out. Downstairs is small and cozy with spacious wooden booths and tables along the windows that seat 2, 4, or 6 people. The lighting is dim with candles on the tables and the bar is on the opposite side of the room, so the atmosphere can be lively on weekends. Drinks are half price on Tuesdays for ladies. There is a more formal, quiet dining room upstairs and a small bar. Our food has always been consistently good. They have the best onion rings ever with a chipolte sauce. We also love the chicken caesar salad and their chili. Their lobster bisque and other special soups has been delish too. The kids meals are not boxed reheated food--real breaded chicken and a nice size portion. Menu ranges from specialty sandwiches to full meals. Our service has been prompt and professional. (On one visit last summer with guests, we were however disappointed with the extremely slow service with an apparently new young server while seated upstairs. we were a party of 9.) I would advise calling ahead for reservations, as the restaurant is small. I have found it to be chilly, so bring a sweater.Overall, we have great family memories over the years and have had fun times with great food. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastcoastMom_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place for lunch. Great menu.”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We go to Penny Lane pub all the time for lunch and occasionally for dinner. I've never had a bad meal here. Service is attentive. Atmosphere is great.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We ate upstairs on 2 nights in October and the food and service was great both times. Both nights downstairs was packed so we were sent upstairs, and although on the first night there was a large family gathering uo there, the service was excellent. Between us we had the Fish & Chips (good), Eleanor Rigby Chicken Marsala (excellent), Steak & Guiness Broil (excellent) and it was great to have the entrees served with a house salad, which had a huge choice of dressings. The specials menu also looked good, and the menu had a good mix of items at all prices. The slice of Black Forest cake for desert was enormas. We would certainly recommend the Penny Lane to anyone travelling to Old Saybrook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is great, food and service average!”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great location, great atmosphere for a local pub. When owners are present, the service is above average, but most nights are without the owner on site. The food is ok, but only suggest the bar with some small appetizers. Great spot to sit outside and enjoy the friendly town of Old Saybrook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing